Fahrenheit 9/11

*Originally posted by World Citizen: *
The best prayer is for good in this life as well as the hereafter, whether you're Wahabi or Evangelical.

The Native Americans believed that everything comes and returns to the ground – take what you need but don’t be greedy.

How is this relevant to the topic??

I watched it Yesterday… Its gr8

Especialy.. the start.. and.. the Letter from the US Soldier to his Mother..

GOOD WORK MOORE :k:

2H2S: The Terminal sounds good. Let me know how it is if you see it.

http://www.sundayherald.com/43167

Michael Moore approves downloading of movie…

both kazaa and overnet are dead when it comes to this movie. I don't knwo whats wrong.

Any idea which file_name is geniune ? and which P2P network is best ?

*Originally posted by smooth_guy: *
both kazaa and overnet are dead when it comes to this movie. I don't knwo whats wrong.

Any idea which file_name is geniune ? and which P2P network is best ?
I got it fromfilelist.org.Speed was good to. Took 2.5 hours to download alosmit 1 GB

fair and balance.. the website is not working. Suprnova is just agony sometimes.. check the url.

*Originally posted by teKno: *
fair and balance.. the website is not working. Suprnova is just agony sometimes.. check the url.

sorry, it is filelist.org

pretty cool movie.

Ok all of the liberals who are going goo goo over this crap of a movie which is filled with distortion of the truth, here is somthing for you to chew on. Definition of Documentary "a film or TV program presenting the facts about a person or event". Michael Moore has and continues to lie and distort the truth. His disdain for Bush and his administration is quite evident in his quotes and remarks. He is a first class punk who needs to be spanked. Let me ask you, what exactly has he done to portray the actual image of the war? Anything... anyone?

Kaleem bhai, it ghusa na karaiN. There are at least 2 documentaries out to prove that Moore is unpatriotic. Being a republican, you should know you can't go wrong with proving someone unpatriotic.

I went to watch Spidey 2 yesterday, and passing through the F-911 theater, I could still hear the applause during the end!

^^ And that proves what? that people are easily conned into believeing lies and foolishly believe what is show on the big screen as the truth?

Dheko, I am/was against the war, however, it does not mean that I should start believing in lies and personal agenda put forth by fat people.

*Originally posted by Kaleem: *
^^ And that proves what? that people are easily conned into believeing lies and foolishly believe what is show on the big screen as the truth?

Dheko, I am/was against the war, however, it does not mean that I should start believing in lies and personal agenda put forth by fat people.

Kaleem, firstly, that post wasnt directed towards you. I dont find your arguments convincing as all you've done is called him a 'punk',' fat loser', commented on his 'arse', 'round face' etc... Ab me aur kya kahoon. Its no different from the people on WA calling bush a 'monkey' etc.

One thing is certain though, people loved F-9/11... Moore has already said that this is his version of the story, and he may very well be wrong, but that does not stop him from putting forth his point of view.

This was so far the best review I’ve read, ChicagoTribune… It did pretty good with most of the critics, yahoo critics B+ overall, IMDB 7.8 (overall user ratings) etc The part in bold was funny.

4 stars (out of 4)

Among the movies everyone should see this year–whatever your film taste or your political bent–Michael Moore’s incendiary documentary “Fahrenheit 9/11” heads the list.

“Fahrenheit” may provoke, delight or divide its audience. But no one will react indifferently to this shocking, sad and funny look at the Bush administration’s handling of terrorism and the Iraqi war.

It’s another howitzer blast of heartland humor and journalistic chutzpah from director-writer Moore–his cheekiest, gutsiest, most hilarious assault yet on the halls of the rich and mighty.

“Fahrenheit” is, of course, not the last word on President George W. Bush or Iraq. It’s Moore’s word. This movie, the subject of controversy, is a defiantly personal statement on what the war really is–laced with that now-familiar “Roger and Me” mix of homespun wit, pop culture playfulness, populist heart twisting and “gotcha” guerilla film-making tactics.

From beginning to end, “Fahrenheit 9/11” is told in Moore’s unmistakable voice: the deceptively casual tones of a wisecracking gadfly never happier than when he faces down or questions some person of great power or wealth whom he feels, knowingly or not, betrayed the public trust.

Like, in this case, George W. Bush. Using archival footage, cannily edited and narrated, the film shows Bush sometimes as an attractive, determined politician and likable, boyishly charming guy. But it also savages him with wicked satire, depicting Bush as a lightweight opportunist, swayed by privileged upbringing and moneyed pals and, to some extent, trapped in the whirlwind of events.

So strangely attractive is the subject and so amusing the portrait, that Bush quickly becomes the comic star of “Fahrenheit 9/11” with Moore as his straight man. But it’s very dark comedy, soaked in tragedy. At times it wrenches your heart.

That’s the strength of “Fahrenheit 9/11”: the way it attacks emotions and stings us to laughter, anger and sorrow.

In his trademark Andy Rooney-gone-Zap Comix style, Moore comments on the disputed Florida election, the Bush family’s close ties to Saudi Arabian oil interests, the President’s frequent pre-9/11 vacation-time romps and his pained bewilderment on 9/11. Then Moore relentlessly presents his own take on Iraq, a conflict that in his eyes is born of fear, deception and confusion and realized in blood, death and tears, diminishing the American dream it purported to defend. Moore pointedly questions the premises, goals and “selling” of the war, its relevance to 9/11 and, most of all, its fearsome costs both in national resources and human lives. The film isn’t objective, nor does it ever pretend to be. Moore keeps mockingly overstepping the boundaries while imagining what Bush is thinking, playing up the president’s humor (both conscious and unconscious) and, at one point, superimposing Bush into the “Bonanza” TV title scene, along with fellow “Cartwrights” Dick Cheney, Donald Rumsfeld and Tony Blair.

This is a movie often much closer to David Letterman, “Saturday Night Live” or “Dr. Strangelove”–or a Rush Limbaugh satiric tirade–than to Ken Burns or “60 Minutes.” There’s a human voice behind every scene: joking or occasionally–as in the scenes with bereaved war mother Lila Lipscomb or Moore’s moving paean to America’s preponderantly working-class fighting forces–rising to unexpected heights of grief and eloquence.

“Fahrenheit 9/11” is not unassailable journalism or history, though it’s almost always superb moviemaking. Moore’s thesis that oil money and geo-politics primarily drove the war, rather than nuclear fear or compassion for the Iraqi masses, will be rejected by many.

For some audiences “Fahrenheit 9/11” will seem propaganda and for others a fiery modern “J’Accuse.” But one doesn’t have to share Moore’s views to be entertained by him. Last May, “Fahrenheit 9/11” received both the first prize (Palme d’Or) and the longest continuous standing ovation in the history of the Cannes Film Festival (25 minutes)–and it wasn’t because of some cliched French antipathy to America.

“Fahrenheit 9/11” takes its title from Ray Bradbury’s Orwellian novel about a futuristic book-burning society, “Fahrenheit 451” (the temperature at which book paper burns). And in the end, both liberals and conservatives–and some political extremes–will be amused and edified by the film. Conservatives, in fact, may especially respond to Moore’s evocations of American ideals, national spirit and tradition he sees as being trampled on.

Yet, whatever its ultimate validity as history or its effect on the electorate, this is obviously one of the movies of the year. Moore’s ability to kick off a debate–even a vicious one–remains priceless, as do his gifts for ridicule, for wringing laughs, shock and tears from his subjects and for shedding a spotlight on ordinary Americans.

What’s more, there’s a ferocious candor in his commentary that puts Moore in the classic Mark Twain tradition of American humorous skepticism. And, here, his comic game–playing the common schmo trying to confront the powerful people you can’t reach–hits its highest peak. “Behave yourself, will you?” Bush himself jokes with Moore part way through this movie, adding impishly, “Go find real work!” Indisputably, he has.

http://metromix.chicagotribune.com/movies/mmx-040623-movies-review-mw-fahrenheit911.story

*Originally posted by Spock: *

Kaleem, firstly, that post wasnt directed towards you. So far all you have done is badmouth Moore, called him a 'punk',' fat loser', commented on his 'arse', 'round face' etc... Ab me aur kya kahoon.

One thing is certain though, people loved F-9/11... Moore has already said that this is his version of the story, and he may very well be wrong, but that does not stop him from putting forth his point of view.

I asked all of you guys to tell me what is in the movie that makes you feel that its the truth or makes you stand up like sheeple and clap? No one answered. As far as Moore is concerned, is he not Fat? Is he not humongous fat tub of goo? :)

*Originally posted by Kaleem: *
No one answered.

For that, you need to rephrase your posts bro... And why dont you start by telling us as to how 'everything' in the documentary was a big lie...

Why were the Bin Ladin's flown out of the US immediately, in special planes? All those connections b/w Bush and the bin Ladins, the way they desperately tried to recruit people in the army, the number of congressmen who have their children in the army, the letters coming from the serving personel in Iraq? Blacking out of a name in the papers issued out by the W. house?

I mean you can just cut out Michael Moore's commentary and video but these things can still make you wonder what the truth was.

Saw it on the 4th. Pretty well done. A lot of stuff I had heard before, but nicely put together for public consumption.

It is certainly biased. However, as far as I know, he's taken facts and presented them with his own perspective (as opposed to having fabricated facts). And it's pretty darn funny at times.

Spock bhaijaan, lets look at the points you raised.

Why were the Bin Ladin's flown out of the US immediately, in special planes?

How does he know that? What proof did he provide to support this argument? You know there were many other rumors flying around at that time, like, Jews were seen dancing on the street...etc. Is it also one of those rumors.
All those connections b/w Bush and the bin Ladins

Again, proof bhaijaan. How did he prove it? I know and the whole world knows Bush fmaily's ties with Saud family (see House of Saud House of Bush).
the way they desperately tried to recruit people in the army,

I did not see those desperate measures. Did you see them? Care to explain what those desperate measures were? Did they put a gun on all young gals and guys and said "Uncle Sam Wants you"....

Blacking out of a name in the papers issued out by the W. house?

This could have been done for any number of reasons. It is a standard intelligence practice....nothing new here. Spock bhaijaan, and other people who are going goo goo gaa gaa over the movie, Do you even know how many levels of secrecy are there for documents? Trust me if they never wanted us to see any of the documents we will never see them. We only see what is deemed "responsible" for public viewing, and if they have to take a few names out so be it. No need to make such a big deal out of it.

Now back to fat tub of goo, what do you say about the remarks he made about americans in general in europe? Does it not show you the true character of this person. He bad mouths general american public to get notrioty and sell his film. That is all he is worried about, his film and his profit. oh and his big, humongous, fat arse.

Kaleem bhai, you can cry and curse him all you want but the fact is, he made a kick ass documentary…

I dont need to reply to your other points since you didnt prove jack, for instance can you PROVE the bin ladins didn’t actually leave the US? You wrote everything else, why did you leave out my quote on the number of congressemen children in the army?

As for their desperation to recruit ppl in the army, dont even try to defend 'em, I dont even need Moore to convince me on that…

And why do you keep ignoring the fact that Moore has already said that this his his interpretation of whats going on, maybe hes wrong, but that does not stop him from putting his point across.

Leave everything aside, I take it the general stupidity of Bush was also factually inaccurate? :hehe: ‘Fool me once…’

Check this out :wink:

http://www.toostupidtobepresident.com/shockwave/fool_me.htm

And YES, his film did wonders at the box office!