Facing a problem :(

There is a friend of my hubby who is almost in his early 40s. My hubby takes him not only as a friend but as an elder brother. (They have been friends for almost 7,8 years).

I feel the same and respect him as a brother and I must say, he is really REALLY a nice man. Clear and pure heart.

The only problem I have is, he has this habit of touching one’s shoulder when speaking to someone. Although its really minor to be noticed sometimes but I don’t like it.

We share a very respectful relationship and I know he thinks about me as a younger sister.. I am really younger than him and I am sure, he has no and he can NEVER have any bed intentions but its just its his habit. He touched my shoulder several times while speaking to me and does it with everyone too around, but still, I feel uncomfortable.

Haven’t discussed yet with my hubby, what if he would say, tum pagal ho gayee ho…?? also, asking him don’t do that, directly, will make him feel bad too..

How should I stop this happening??

Re: Facing a problem :(

Excuse me, don't touch me. or make a face -_-. tell your husband. how long has it been?

Stand at least 4 feet away, seriously, no rocket science..................................now...................But to serve the life1 minimum requirement, first answer a few questions.........Is he married? Does he have kids?What kind of discussions do you have with him when he touches your shoulder? Does he grab it or touches it? Where is his wife when he is doing all this? Is he a Paki/Fob? Where is your husband when that happens...why doesn't he notice this?.......how are things between you and your husband......

keep a reasonable distance from him, if he tries to get closer, move back.

Im having meal. Let me get back to your qiestions. Give me 10 minutes.

Re: Facing a problem :frowning:

ab jab Raakhii kaa tevhaar aaye to unkii kalaaii pe Raakhii baandh dijiyegaa aur yeh gaanaa gaaiyegaa:

bahnaa ne bhaaii kii kalaa se pyaar baandhaa hai
pyaar ke do taar se sansaar baandhaa hai
:slight_smile:

Simply... if you are in doubt then you should not hurt him if he is doing it unwillingly.... but next time when he do it make a weird/grumpy face and pause your discussion and see your shoulder... He himself will observe it and get embarrassed...

if not then next time ask him to remove his hand that your shoulder is paining... with some act...

or try to stay at a distance...

talking to husband should be a last option...

agar phir bhi baaz naa aaye to Laa Lena Juti :D

btw some people are habitual...so you might only have to make him realize :)

Next time touches you, look at his hand first (so he knows the cause) and THEN move back. You may have to do this more than once. Unless he's really obtuse, he will get the message.

this is good advice....but try just stepping back without looking at his hand first.....the step back might be all that he needs.

if that doesn't work then look at his hand and then step back to make it very obvious that you are avoiding the touch.

I can't say him directly as he seems to me my elder bro. We have been together for a long time but I have noticed it for last few months. Telling hubby, I thought to share but.......... I don't know, maybe it will be my last step eventually!!

I have always distant myself from my hubby's friends, in fact, any man I am talking to. He would do it, for example, when we are in the Car, hubby and me on the front seat and he's at back... so you know when one's talking from the back seat, they usually bend themselves to the front so that the people on front can hear them. That's when he does! and other examples like that!

Yes he is married. He has kids. The elder should be around 12. His wife is in Pak with kids. He is a Paki. Its all simple discussion as I already mentioned that I don't have a single doubt on the niyat of this man. He is really a brother to me.

My husband is around when he is doing that but as I said, he doesn't touch the shoulder too hard, its just that he slightly touches it. You know people who would touch you to address you or who would touch you to have attention... He does it that way.

Alhamdulillah, things between two of us are really great without a single doubt.

Read above paragraph.

HM, your idea sounds good, only that I will have to have a lot of courage to do that. I would not want to make him feel what I feel about him as it would hurt him and hurt his purity. I, with all my heart, know it, he has no evil intentions behind that. Its just his habit.

He doesn't keep his hand on my shoulder. Its just a seconds act. You know when one touches you to have your attention.

Yes, he is habitual. I just need a way out.

STEP ONE.

STEP TWO.

Thanks girls :chai:

hmmmm, it's not a big issue as you are represent him a nice person.. so just a click of ur face expressions will effect him well...

may ALLAH get you out of it.... (Amen) :)

Sorry but..touching someones wife or girlfriend on the shoulder is complete chichora pun. Heck..i dont go touch around my female friends..and this guy had huge guts. Anyway talk to ur husband...not sure yo. If a friend or someone did that to my wife...i will murder him.

paanii meN aag lagaanaa koii u se seekhe! :D

Just tell him that you're not comfortable, and to stop. Why can't people just be direct?

because there is the potential that the guy will be offended since everyone understands that he is considered as an elder brother.

she just doesn't want to offend him or cause any ripples in a relationship that obviously means a lot to her husband.

it's good to be direct but a little bit of diplomacy and consideration never hurt anyone either.

:frowning: :naak: bol doon phir apnay miyan ko??

Thanks Muzna, Seems my actual thoughts are delivered by your mouth :hug:

and she replied to all those questions :/