what is poth?
Just a kind of Jamawar......very much In nowsaday
Re: Fabric Materials and Kaam; Names and pics
what is poth?
i think "poth" is bead work.
we need to ask somebody's grandmother! they always know this stuff haha
hehehe... as gina has already mentioned its a sort kind of a brocade although i have never heard of poth is it a word in a dialect/or slang?
I thought brocade in urdu was benarsi
Thanks Chanel is it the kind of jamawar thats like chiffon/pure georgette kind of jamawar with a sort kind of a see through nowaddays used for like the lehngas skirt or dupatta?
What about kamcob...or 'kamkhwab' ......i think it looks absolutely divine!!
^ chanda_kh i have heard of kamkwab but i dont recall how it looks like from what i have heard real kwamkwb is a luxerious and expensive fabric. I have heard my mother mentioning kemkwab a couple of times and i think her wedding dres was made of that
When i went to Pakistan the fabric that is in is Jamawar and Banarsi. When i asked for chiffon the sellers told me that chiffon ka abb zamana nahi hai...you can still get it though, since its great. raw silk would also be good. combinations of banarsi and raw silk look good. Work well i just went there and got all the works done that i liked :D
i think they prolly told u that about chiffon because they wanted to sell you a banarsi /jamawar suit hehehe i could be wrong though or maybe because its just more used then plain chiffon?
If you dont mind asking , but much did you get your suits along with the kaam made?
I am going to pakistan and the only thing i like about going there is shopping so i am estimating how much money and time i need to get my suits made as i will be staying in karachi for a short time only!
I want to estimate so that i know what price range to expect and avoid to be fooled! I dont look pakistani and how hard i try to sound or look like 1 they always know i am lieing
I have noticed that the kaam made in quetta suneri bazar is double karachi prices or even more expensive.
My sister gets her clothes made by a tailor in islambad , he told her that most of his employees had moved to quetta as they can make a lot more profit there.
I know...my mother still takes her out to make me feel bad...hahaha JK...i have yet to see good material..on my trip to pakistan..all i saw was jamavar jamavar everywhere..and i got tired of looking at it..haha!!
so for my reception i decided to go with something different..it gorgeous...and i am not posting pics until after the event :)
^ awww man thats so cool :) you are lucky that u even saw jamawar all i saw in quetta was chiffon with sitara work very outdated i know. All the aunties and young larkees wore it like everywhere lol.
You are right you shouldnt post your pics yet...hehehe i know i wouldnt want to have it copied before my grand reception!
anyway good luck :)
^ chanda_kh i have heard of kamkwab but i dont recall how it looks like from what i have heard real kwamkwb is a luxerious and expensive fabric. I have heard my mother mentioning kemkwab a couple of times and i think her wedding dres was made of that
** i think they prolly told u that about chiffon because they wanted to sell you a banarsi /jamawar suit hehehe i could be wrong though or maybe because its just more used then plain chiffon? If you dont mind asking , but much did you get your suits along with the kaam made?** I am going to pakistan and the only thing i like about going there is shopping so i am estimating how much money and time i need to get my suits made as i will be staying in karachi for a short time only! I want to estimate so that i know what price range to expect and avoid to be fooled! I dont look pakistani and how hard i try to sound or look like 1 they always know i am lieing
I have noticed that the kaam made in quetta suneri bazar is double karachi prices or even more expensive.
My sister gets her clothes made by a tailor in islambad , he told her that most of his employees had moved to quetta as they can make a lot more profit there.
No no these people actually had chiffon only, he was still like chiffon ka zamana gaya, i did but buy jamawar, raw silks and banarsi but loads of chiffons as well though...
The prices vary actually kapra to kapra, kaam to kaam...i got one kaam which had dimonties in it which cost me about 5000 and the kapra was 2200 plus the stitching was 150.
Another one which had rust gold kaam, cost me 2500, the kapra (raw silk and jamawar) cost me 1100 and the silai.
If you go for kaam which have more dhaga work it would cost you about 2000.
so its like the quality and look..the less its there the less they would charge you. there are also kapra's which are cheaper.
So its like 1000-2800 is what i paid and my aunt was there with us (who lives there) so she helped us and i was satisfied that i didnt pay more.
The time they tell you is like one month maximum, but if you tell them you have to leave they might give you the clothes in 15 days or so (depending on the kaam ka size).
Oh and i got like 10 suits...but i just told you the kam zayada ones.
Plus M_P never get clothes stitched by the guys you get your kaam done from..i made this mistake once and asked him to make me capris you know what that guy did he made it like a pajama with knee length ki chaddi..my male cousins called it hawai chadda :S literally it was like a pajama cut into a chaddi length :( had to get it made again by my own darzi.
^ Thanks for your detailed response theelobhain :)the prices you mentioned sounds reasonable to me, and i am surprised how cheap raw silk actually is compared to holland in euros!
Did you buy and get them made l from one or different places?
I think i will get them made pay in advance and let my bhabi pick them up :S
You must have attended a lot of parties and weddings that u made so many kaam wala clothes! and luckily you have an aunt :)
I got married 1 and half year ago and i still didnt get to wear half of my wedding clothes yet or just wore them once ....i just cant get to wear them anywhere and i made a stupid mistake that when i got married i wore whatever felt comfortable . Everyone told me to wear and sit like a bride but i didnt listen and was being a bit toooooo modest seedi saadi.
I bought last summer mostly gulahmed/alkaram v9/mohammad farooq lawn and a couple of khaadi suits that are still unstitched :(
I dont like heavy kaam waley kaprey since they cant be worn to work or at a chai party so i am going for formal nice embroidury and colars inshallah!
Plus M_P never get clothes stitched by the guys you get your kaam done from..i made this mistake once and asked him to make me capris you know what that guy did he made it like a pajama with knee length ki chaddi..my male cousins called it hawai chadda :S literally it was like a pajama cut into a chaddi length :( had to get it made again by my own darzi.
Oh god ! I can imagine how bad and irritating that must have felt! Btw what does chaddi/chadda mean lol hehehe i am farsi and gulabi urdu speaking hehehe.
Didnt you get any refund for the fabric they ruined?
What happened to me last time made me furious, going with a chadori was one thing! I went to a darzi who ruined my suit he made the fabric for the shalwar into a kameez , and the kameez into a shalwar total the opposite!
The dress was so small and out of its poportions that i stood there and demanded him to clean his floor with that suit! not only that he made the shalwars without pleat! like literally men wali ka shalwar no pleats at all and he carged me 200 ruppees per suit which was a complete ripp off ! when u can get them for 100 or 150 elsewhere made!
That arshole of a guy thankfully refunded the complete price of 1 of my suits...and also told his neighbours that i was a very moody bahoon of ...............
What else did he expect that i would laugh , chit chat with himand give him my mobile number????! grrrr i so hate quetta wala ppls mentality!
^ Thanks for your detailed response theelobhain :)the prices you mentioned sounds reasonable to me, and i am surprised how cheap raw silk actually is compared to holland in euros!
Yeah, of course they are cheaper then places like here or anywhere abroad. The prices for one suit was nothing its the over all which made me :O. lol..but its all worth is.
Did you buy and get them made l from one or different places?
I think i will get them made pay in advance and let my bhabi pick them up :S
I got clothes made from where ever i liked the ones hung in the shops or the ones who were willing to make my designs.
You must have attended a lot of parties and weddings that u made so many kaam wala clothes! and luckily you have an aunt :) I got married 1 and half year ago and i still didnt get to wear half of my wedding clothes yet or just wore them once ....i just cant get to wear them anywhere and i made a stupid mistake that when i got married i wore whatever felt comfortable . Everyone told me to wear and sit like a bride but i didnt listen and was being a bit toooooo modest seedi saadi.
Yeah we have like 2 formal (desi) events a year and a few more at times. When my bhabi came here she had loads of kaam walay kapray and a few which had little bit of embroidery so she was dressed like a bride and simple at the same time.
I bought last summer mostly gulahmed/alkaram v9/mohammad farooq lawn and a couple of khaadi suits that are still unstitched :(
I dont like heavy kaam waley kaprey since they cant be worn to work or at a chai party so i am going for formal nice embroidury and colars inshallah!
I love heavy kaam walay kapray as long as they dont look cheap. My clothes have kaam all over but it looks good..the color combinations and work is amazing.
^ :)
Oh god ! I can imagine how bad and irritating that must have felt! Btw what does chaddi/chadda mean lol hehehe i am farsi and gulabi urdu speaking hehehe. Didnt you get any refund for the fabric they ruined?
Chaddi is like shorts...The capris are like short pants..while he made a pajama and cut it into shorts and it looked so bad.
Well i couldnt do much..i had no time, i had flight that night.
^ loooool i am sorry but that is just funny i feel for you though! looololololololololololollllllll
chaddis man thats so badddddddddddddd and hilarious
Not only chaddi a loose chaddi (hawai chaddi) AllohA!
^ omg you make me laugh badly i love you for that!! lol
Man i better get off this forum and do something constructive........ take care :)
does anyone have pics of these fabulous sounding materials???:halo:
My engagement outfit is mint and lavender with kundan and semi-precious stones...on jamavar..jamavar drapes well and the "fall" is superb!
gina that sounds really beautiful...i would love to see your dress :)
did you design it by yourself or got it from another pakistani designer?
and those semi precious stones you mean like having real semi precious gem stones or swarovski crystals?
Thanx MP, it was by Rizwan Beyg..Mashallah my MIL to be has great taste..the outfit has uncut semi-precious stones..