faakhir's video...tauba hai!

Why do we have to go there, in the first place? Haven’t they got 170 million folks at home who know better than to rave about It’s time to Disco kinda stuff?

Bechara Pakistani singers are hurting for cash

He performed at my brother's university. Got 220,000 for a 2hr concert.

Why do these ppl have to go to India for everything? Strings, Noori, Ali Azmat, and now him. Their pop industry is dead; ours is thriving.

And after seeing the video I can only say one thing: tauba hai.

It's a crap song, so he's tried to make it successful through a video with a lot of skin showing. That's what the Indian pop singers do.

*Originally posted by MundaPakistani: *

He performed at my brother's university. Got 220,000 for a 2hr concert.

Why do these ppl have to go to India for everything? Strings, Noori, Ali Azmat, and now him. Their pop industry is dead; ours is thriving.

yes our pop industry may be popping alright but what we dont have is a proper platform to promote albums or artistes. not that we dont have our own music channels to do that but over there not only do they have more channels but they also have a large audience to broadcast to. whereas the case in apne pak is people still watch ptv to get the latest glimpse of the usual abrar - jawad crap not knowing that we have a better variety than the overdone bhangra ballads.

*Originally posted by [sami rahman]: *

yes our pop industry may be popping alright but what we dont have is a proper platform to promote albums or artistes. not that we dont have our own music channels to do that but over there not only do they have more channels but they also have a large audience to broadcast to. whereas the case in apne pak is people still watch ptv to get the latest glimpse of the usual abrar - jawad crap not knowing that we have a better variety than the overdone bhangra ballads.

dude we couldn't have a larger audience even if we tried. Let's say 300 million indians watch channel V. While about 50 million watch indus music. How are we, a country with 160 million people have the same audience as does channel V who broadcasts to 1 billion people. If not anything, it's mathmatically impossible. I do agree with your viewpoint about PTV. When I moved to america and got prime tv my thought process was "well I know ptv doesn't play anything besides abrar and jawad. But since they are broadcasting in america, they will surely play eP, noori, jal, fuzon etc etc etc atleast some of the time." But year after year I watched in amazement when they played "preeto" for the 1 millionth time while completely ignoring, and I do mean COMPLETELY IGNORING bands like noori, eP, karavan etc etc. But ever since GEO and ARY came to america they've really done a commendable job. For example, in tonights episode of katakat they played an eP song and followed that up with abrar's song. You really get a nice mixture of singers in GEO as opposed to peee tv.

*Originally posted by Atlanta: *

dude we couldn't have a larger audience even if we tried. Let's say 300 million indians watch channel V. While about 50 million watch indus music. How are we, a country with 160 million people have the same audience as does channel V who broadcasts to 1 billion people. If not anything, it's mathmatically impossible. I do agree with your viewpoint about PTV. When I moved to america and got prime tv my thought process was "well I know ptv doesn't play anything besides abrar and jawad. But since they are broadcasting in america, they will surely play eP, noori, jal, fuzon etc etc etc atleast some of the time." But year after year I watched in amazement when they played "preeto" for the 1 millionth time while completely ignoring, and I do mean COMPLETELY IGNORING bands like noori, eP, karavan etc etc. But ever since GEO and ARY came to america they've really done a commendable job. For example, in tonights episode of katakat they played an eP song and followed that up with abrar's song. You really get a nice mixture of singers in GEO as opposed to peee tv.

haan ye baat kafi hadh tak theek hai apki. aray preeto kya in the beginning of the year ptv prime ne channo ki rat lagayi hui thi! as for the emerging bands, i've only got to see aaroh's sawal make it to their crappy countdown shows.

what video did u see of eP on katakat? hamesha? please say hamesha! that video has one great cinematography i've ever got to see to come out from pak.

haan ye baat kafi hadh tak theek hai apki. aray preeto kya in the beginning of the year ptv prime ne channo ki rat lagayi hui thi! as for the emerging bands, i've only got to see aaroh's sawal make it to their crappy countdown shows.

what video did u see of eP on katakat? hamesha? please say hamesha! that video has one great cinematography i've ever got to see to come out from pak.

Talking about "cinematography" go and see the Sohail Javed directed new Rahim Shah club video. That's eons ahead of Hamesha.

beta band ki baat aur hoti hai aur ek pathan solo singer ki koi aur

We're talking about cinematography, and not bands and pathans, beta.

sami, sorry buddy but they were playing kahan hai tu. You know now that you've mentioned it. I've never watched the video of hamesha. Well, gotta go write a letter to kuki monster requesting that song now that you've said the video was good.

all right all right. Calm down you two. And bollybuster, I can't believe you like that video man. that video is so out of the reality of pak society.

sami, sorry buddy but they were playing kahan hai tu. You know now that you've mentioned it. I've never watched the video of hamesha. Well, gotta go write a letter to kuki monster requesting that song now that you've said the video was good.

Even though he would love to play it (since that program is dedicated for eP), you could go right now on their site or forums, its uploaded there I think.

hamesha is up somewhere on bandbaja.org

all right all right. Calm down you two. And bollybuster, I can't believe you like that video man. that video is so out of the reality of pak society.

I really dont want to make judgements about what its got to do with the society. I was just commenting on the cinamatography for that video done by Salman Khan, which as it is, is outstanding. By the way, I also thought the video was a little "off" too.

*Originally posted by Spock: *

Even though he would love to play it (since that program is dedicated for eP), you could go right now on their site or forums, its uploaded there I think.

katakat is dedicated to eP. Wow, I had no idea. I know that the host is the brother of ahmed ali but I fail to see how they can be accused of favoratism.

I know this happens with a lot of shows.....they become dedicated to specific groups. Like it happens a lot on IM as i know. But these are all the initial years, they'll get over it soon.

^ so i guess everyone has a niche of their own now:

ptv - abrar
IM - noori
ARY - hmm
GEO - eP?

Well, I personally enjoy the show, but to be honest, they keep making all these references to eP, like it was the only band out there that needs promotion. In the little titles that they have on the bottom, they keep making some remarks about other bands, ive seen them make fun of ali noor, they even said that ali azmat and salman have decided to split, remarks about mizraab's music being torturous, but never anything like that on eP.

^ so i guess everyone has a niche of their own now:

ptv - abrar
IM - noori
ARY - hmm
GEO - eP?

Prime for sure is obsessed with Abrar! I wont say that about Geo, its just that one program where that might stand true, but they have given decent coverage to other bands, including some underground ones.

*Originally posted by Spock: *

Well, I personally enjoy the show, but to be honest, they keep making all these references to eP, like it was the only band out there that needs promotion. In the little titles that they have on the bottom, they keep making some remarks about other bands, ive seen them make fun of ali noor, they even said that ali azmat and salman have decided to split, remarks about mizraab's music being torturous, but never anything like that on eP.

speaking of the little comments on the bottom. Is it just me or are the writers of that show really dumb. Most of the time it doesn't make any sense. What exactly are they trying to say. This is what they wrote for aaroh one time, "aaroh was one of the band and fortunately one of the band that was in battle of the band." WHAT??????????????

Someone needs to get some serious writing tips for that show. Most of the time it sounds like the babble of a 5 year old.