Eye exercises ...

My eyesight is getting weaker by the year, I swear I’ll be hitting -10 if I don’t so something about it soon.

I wear my glasses and contacts all the time, cuz I’m virtually blind without them, and I think that might be part of the problem. My eyes have become so dependant on my glasses/contacts that they’ve just given up with functioning without them.

As a kid, I hated wearing glasses and my eyesight remained pretty contstant. Then, when I hit my teens I bought these groovy red glasses and started wearing them all the time - that year my eyesight went from -1.25 to -3.25! I think our eyes become lazy when we wear glasses/contacts.

Anyway, I’ve decided to be more proactive about the whole thing and figure out what can be done to improve my eyesight. Came across this
website. Has anyone tried these exercises? Do they work?

I think our eyes become lazy when we wear glasses/contacts.

My cousin says that, he sez it weakens the eye muscles, he's stopped wearing them now and seems to be getting on fine.

Alhamdullilah my eyesight is still like it used to be ten years ago. No glasses, contacts, etc.

I've been advised by seniors at college to take a minute off every hour or half to excercise my ocular muscles when reading text books because most of them have a very tiny text size and the spacing between words is quite small.

Just moving the eyeballs in a circular motion in a clockwise direction followed by the anti clockwise pattern and then moving each of them inwards/outwards in opposite directions. Also take em to their extreme lefts/rights and ups/downs. This helps increase the blood flow to the area giving you a relief from the constant fatigue.

I've personally tried this and it helps relieve tension on the muscles created by continous reading.

Mine is -0.75 and I wear my glasses only when I´m sitting on the computer. I hope it will not worsen.

There are books available about the Bates method of eye exercises, see if you can find one.

Yeh, I've seen them advertised on the net but I wanna know if they actually work ... and does your eyesight weaken if you stop doing them?

hmmm

i dono abt exercise sadi sobi

but my khala jaan recites durood shareef on tasbeeh a couple hundred times everyday and then blows on her hands and touches them on her eyes

and mashallah she is in old age but has perfect eyesight :) and she says this is the reason

Sobz, tum meri nazroN say zamanay ko daikh liya karna.

(meiN kia karooN, meiN reh nahi sakta :bummer: )

I am also pretty much blind without my glasses/contacts. I was fine before I started wearing my glasses when I was 15. Glasses do make your eyes worse. I actually have an appointment with the optician tomorrow. Let’s see how much worse my eyes have gotten over the past year. :bummer:

sobi apni yeh ankhain mujay day do.

Waisay, I am not really sure. But, I too believe that constantly wearing glasses affects your vision. Usually I only wear my glasses while reading, and take them off as soon as my work is finished. I had never thought about it, but now that I come to think of it, if I keep wearing my glasses for hours on stretch, things really seemed blurred without them.

Khair...mera masalla tou bilkul hi muhktalif hai, cannot see much with my left eye, I am almost blind in my left eye, so poor right one has to do double task! My number has hardly changed over the years though, could it be because of the minimum use of glasses? On the other hand, I have a cousin who wears her specs constantly and her eyesight keeps getting worse. However, it is quite possible that both of us may have completely different problems.

*Originally posted by Sadi Sobi: *
Yeh, I've seen them advertised on the net but I wanna know if they actually work ... and does your eyesight weaken if you stop doing them?

I know people who have had good results though I have never personally tried them. I may start soon - if I get my life a bit better organized! Anyway the others say that the results stay but one has told me she has to give it a few weeks every year.