expressing emotions

I somehow feel extraordinarily nervous whenever expected to show the slightest of emotions. My parents sometimes get annoyed by it…I want to say it but I can’t and I know for a fact that I won’t be able to do that my whole life. But that’s not the problem here. Next Friday I have to give an ice breaker speech about ‘Myself”. I’m so nervous about what I should say…I mean how much should they know? I feel very uncomfortable while expressing my ideas…I think I have a somewhat controversial personality…this moment I’m here and the other moment I’m there…so I’m just confused about what to say….thought u guys might give some good pieces of advices…

PS: it took a lot of courage for me to open this post alone so avoid silly remarks :o

hmm.... dont stress... theres a lot of people in this world who are not comfortable with expressing themselves... and to do it infrnot of everyone is a very brave step..

firstly.. who are u doing it infront of? ur class? parents? friends? i mean what kind of speach is it?

how about writing it down on a piece of paper.. point by point.. not like the whole speach.. go to some park.. or where ur alone.. and then talk about the various points to urself.. talk out aloud though... :)

pretend ur having a conversation with urself.. or even ur trying to win the gal of ur dreams and u have to tell her all the things about urself for her to accept u... i dunno hehe... my bro is like u... finds it hard to talk about himself.. he needs someone who can get it out..

dont stress..

if i can do it so can YOU.. believe mEEEEE!!!

do u have a friend in the audience.. jus pretend ure talkin to that friend.. and u kno very1 is goin thru the same… everyone is nervous…

i was afraid of public speakin and i was suppose to introduce my self..
an i was soooooooooooo nervous cuz my voice… i sound liek a lil kid..
an i was 20 at that time.. 23 now.. lolll…
sab samjhen ge main bhuddi hoon..

anyways so i was soo nervous.. i had one girl in that class who helped me n I didnt even kno that girl was gonan become my bestfriend… lol.. ALLAH mian works in mysterious ways.. .. an she was liek rabia.. jus keep lookin at me.. so i got up there.. an i was like hi im rabia an i sound liek a lil kid an i any one of u make fun of me.. that skinny girl right there will beat the livin crap out of u.. n everyone kinda laughed cuz i was cute (have to admit that LOL) n i dont kno .. i couldnt shutup after that EVER!!!

jus relaxx… believe meeeeeeeee they R ALL NERVOUS.. an while ure gonna be makin ur speech.. theyre goin to be wondering how their speech is gonna go.. sooo u have absouletly nuthing to worry about..
PROMISE!!!

u can be liek Hi .. im Sharafat ka namouna.. despite my appearances.. blah blah blah…

easy as 123…

let us kno how it goes.. we’ll be cheering here for u…

:dhimpak: :dhimpak: yayeeeeeeeeeeeeee sharafat ka namouna.. :dhimpak:<~~~~~ see im already cheering :dhimpak:

*Originally posted by sadzzz: *

pretend ur having a conversation with urself.. or even ur trying to win the gal of ur dreams and u have to tell her all the things about urself for her to accept u...

dont stress..

yaar... NOW THATSSSSSSSSSS HARD!!!!!! LOL.. duniya ka sab se muskil kaaam.... bechara waise hi dara hua hai.. aur na darayo....

just kiddin...

Re: expressing emotions

aw :flower1: :flower1:

i know the feeling. In your ice-breaker speech, just remember that you have something worthwhile to state. This is your opportunity to show others what your personality is like. And don’t worry if you are confused about who you really are, (you stated “this moment I’m here and the other moment I’m there”) - we are all like that. No personality is free of complexes and contradictions (heh i certainly am not!). Just take your time, practice many many times prior to delivering the speech - most of all, try to have confidence in the worth of what you are going to state. It’s important. It’s valuable. And it deserves to be heard.

All throughout my academic years i have sucked at oral presentations - never been able to do them successfully. Practice is critical, practice infront of your friends, practice infront of a mirror, don’t fidget with your hands (i always tend to do this). Speak slowly and clearly. Believe in the importance of what you have to say. And remember that many individuals do tend to feel nervous about oral presentations, you are not alone, don’t criticize yourself too much for feeling apprehensive. oh yeah and - not everyone feels comfortable about expressing their emotions either to others; i certainly would never have the guts to do what you are going to do :k:

Insha’Allah it will go well :flower1: :flower1:

Man this is like me, I can't even crack a smile in public. I always have a stright face no matter what, at times my mother would slute to me when she passes by, hehe :D

sadzzz and devilicious: SKN is a namooni :hehe:

i’m saying that for the third time today on GS :halo:

^^

:eek: :eek: Are you serious???

hey SKN,

I'm not gonna give you a lecture on it coz I myself suck at speaking in front of group of people, REALY! My voice starts stuttering and shaking while giving speeches..hehe..I'm in my 2nd year of university and haven't gotten rid of this fear(of speaking in front of people) yet....dunno what's wrong with me! :o

yaar i dint kno that...

im sorry miss Namooni

really …

Sadzz, Deviliciousss, Nadia and CurruptAngel thankyou all for your sincere replies. i have done speeches/debates before in my life but i have never talked about myself so openly, that was why i was very nervous. Well, tomorrow is speech…hope everything goes well :D

I have said the most dumbest things at the most emotional times. Once my co-worker came to me, distressed and on the verge of tears as his father had passed away and all I could reply was "will this mean you won't be coming in tomorrow?" ... I cringe my teeth when I think about it.

Anyway, SKN, don't worry .. we all go through this. Just keep trying and you will learn to say the right things at the right time, to the right person with the smoothness you never knew you had. Key is to never give up! :-)

^ thanks! i'll keep that in mind :D