Expensive engagement rings and weddings

Re: Expensive engagement rings and weddings

Oh apologies mademoiselle,

Women deserve all the lavish fairy tail weddings. Now I can’t let my favourite guppan be mad at me, can I? :flowers:

:eek: Mein tu apni bhi favorite nahi :eek: hehehe.

Ok :bummer: Apologies accepted! Thanks :D.

honestly, all the lavish stuff did impress me before but now I just feel a life that brings total happiness and no pain is enough. one where there are no major in law problems, families are together during the holidays, everything goes smoothly, compromise happens, respect and caring is there, flexibility,. all this means more than an expensive lavish wedding and a big rock on the finger.

Imagine having a great wedding with all those expensive gifts but then the marriage is full of abuse, volatility, problems and just seems like torture where there are none of those key things that bring happiness. what's the use of that expensive rock. it's worthless and so is the money that got wasted on the wedding.

My fiance' got me a 1.6 carat princess cut diamond ring (value around 15k-20k) with a band of smaller diamonds totalling .6, it's really gorgeous and I get complimented a lot about the ring but truth is even though in the beginning I couldn't stop admiring it now its just getting annoying on my finger and iv'e sorta stopped wearing it everyday so everyone out there thinking of getting one .... unless you got money to throw around its a bit useless to spend that much money on a ring

Sometimes I don't get the point of having a shaadi and a walima over just one big reception/walima. Seems like a big waste of money.

... save the money to buy a larger diamond ring.

no way , if i had to choose between the two of a expensive ring or nice walima i would most definitely pick a nice walima at least you'll have the memories of the walima with your friends and family for life , what benefit does a single ring give ?

^^ I agree. At least in North America/UK, where it's SOOOOO expensive per head, and insanely expensive to have two large receptions, why not just invite your guests to a single reception and split the costs.

(One reason is because the bride wants to dress up for two days instead of one. I've seen it happen. Not worth the extra money in my opinion.)

Although I don't agree with the ring part. Save for a downpayment or take a nicer honeymoon instead.

Sorry double post

I was joking about saving up for a bigger ring. Simple and elegant rings are the best. Too much bling can come across as showing off.

Screw the ring and all the extravagant nonsense

Give me a 14-day stay in a private honeymoon suite in the Maldives :D

My husband wants a simple wedding. Although, I am not too inclinced for a lavish wedding I get confused on how the setup will be?

• Will we not have our close guests there?
  • If yes, how will they be served & where will they be served?
  • If we dont call quite a big number of people, how do you keep the annoyance at a side?
  • How does all of it work?