Ex-ISI officials could be supporting Taliban

This was a bit shocking, but atleast Gen Mush has been firm in denying the perception that the ISI is an untamed beast under no one’s control and is still actively supporting extremists, he was clear in stating that the ISI is indeed under the govt’s control.
Now however, there is a hint in this direction that maybe some ex-ISI folks are still in touch with their old colleagues from the time of the US-ME-Afghan-Pakistan merger against the then USSR.
This could be true. Only last week Lt Gen retd Javed Nasir ex DG ISI was on Geo in “Jawab Deyh”. He refused to show his face so he was seated in the dark. He made no sense with whatever he said. He could be one of them. at one point the interviewer Iftikhar, quite a hawk, clearly got frustrated and said “gen saab aap ye kia keh rahey hain…!?”

Anyway, here’s the link to the report about Mush hinting against some ex-ISI men. I think it’s good he said this. This will put a leash on certain ex-generals who babble around whatever they want with little care or responsibility.

Ex-ISI officials may be helping Taliban;
http://dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2006\10\02\story_2-10-2006_pg1_2

Re: Ex-ISI officials could be supporting Taliban

HZ,

Situation is far more complex than a simple acknowledgement that ex-officials are involved. You have a web of huge vested interests weaved around this jihadi culture that are supported by ideological propaganda. Arms trafficking, drug trade, extortion, murder, kidnappings these are all convinient sources of ill-gained wealth and perpetuating their power systems. How do you change this un-healthy front? Take away the economic benefits by cracking down on arms and drug dealers ie ex-army generals and their mullah cohorts.

What's shocking for you Haris? That ex-ISI is involved with jihadis or that Mush admitted it? If its the former, then you are very naive. The whole jihadi and madrassah infrastructure is still very much active in Pakistan. Some of you just wouldn't have believed it if it hadn't come from Musharraf's mouth. Even then, I bet a few of you don't believe it.

And why would Javed Nasir hide his face? We know what he looks like. What did he say on geo?

haris yaar post the story with the link, who has time to go and sign up for membership

^ Musharraf is (himself) an ex-ISI official.

ex isi retired from military to be exact.
desis bhi..

^ and how many ex-ISI not-retired officials are there?

It’s all getting absurd now…

Two ex-ISI chiefs refute president’s statement

By Iftikhar A. Khan
ISLAMABAD, Oct 2: Two former chiefs of the Inter-Services Intelligence have rejected as baseless a statement of President Pervez Musharraf about former officials of the agency abetting Taliban.

Former ISI directors-general Asad Durrani and Hameed Gul, talking to Dawn, said there was no need to issue such a speculative statement.

Mr Durrani said he was at a loss to understand as to what was the need for issuing such a statement.

It would not serve any interest of Pakistan, he said.

He said some people in their individual capacity might have associated themselves with the Taliban, but it was improper to make such a statement without any concrete evidence.

He said the statement was highly speculative and it was astonishing to see it coming from the head of the state who was under oath to protect the interests of the country.

Mr Gul said former officers of the ISI were not involved in helping Taliban. He said the Taliban surfaced in 1994, some five years after his tenure as ISI chief was over and about three years after his retirement from the army.

He said Gen Musharraf was a distinct type of team captain who was scoring goals against his own team by accusing his own people. The nation was astonished to see the captain hell-bent to see his own team’s defeat, he said.

Mr Gul claimed that a charge-sheet against him was being prepared.

He said no Afghan leader, including President Hamid Karzai, had levelled such an allegation. “I am sure they do not have such an opinion about me,” he stressed. He said President Karzai had not named any personality but had accused the government of Pakistan.

He said perhaps the situation in Afghanistan had boggled Gen Musharraf as the defeat of United States interests in the country was visible. “We pray for the success of Taliban. If it is tantamount to helping someone, I do it everyday for the Afghan nation as I am a friend of the Afghan nation,” he remarked.

He said it was his desire to see the pullout of US forces from Afghanistan, which would be in the interest of both Afghanistan and Pakistan.

He recalled that Gen Musharraf had also expressed his desire for a limited stay of US forces in Afghanistan.

He said retired officers of the ISI could not help Taliban. He said there was no dearth of weapons with Taliban as they had kalashnikovs, machine guns and rocket launchers in large numbers. They did not need training as they had been in war for 27 years and they were experienced enough now to deal with their enemies.

He said the opium trade was at its peak in Afghanistan with the blessings of US generals and businessmen. He said opium cultivation in the country this year was expected to cross 6,000 tons, while it had dropped to 185 tons in the last days of the Taliban rule.

He alleged that the founder of the country’s nuclear programme, Dr Abdul Qadeer Khan, had been put under house arrested on baseless charges.

No he is not, he was in SSG

Sure Pir Ji, here it is;

http://dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2006\10\02\story_2-10-2006_pg1_2

Ex-ISI officials may be helping Taliban

WASHINGTON: Pakistan’s intelligence service has played no role in propping up the renegade Taliban fighters in Afghanistan, President General Pervez Musharraf told US television Sunday, although he is investigating possible support to the rebels from retired Pakistani intelligence officials.

Asked whether Islamabad’s Inter-Services Intelligence has been helping the ousted Taliban, Musharraf, speaking on NBC television’s “Meet the Press” programme, answered with an emphatic “no”. “Nobody in the ISI has,” the president said.

However he added, “I have some reports that some dissidents, some people, retired people who were in the forefront in ISI during the period of ‘1979 to ‘1989, may be assisting with their links somewhere here and there,” he said.

“We are keeping a very tight watch, and we’ll get a hold of them if at all that happens.” He also expressed concern that support for the Taliban may be more widespread than many observers are aware.

“They don’t know the realities on (the) ground. They’re not conscious of the reality I’m seeing — the extreme danger of this becoming a peoplee’s movement,” he said. afp

Khek, the 'shock' was basically about Musharraf saying it wide and clear, and when he points at ex-officials he points directly at a few 3 starrrers and not their staffers. It's as obvious as naming them. And Durrani and Gul both jumped up to clarify today.
Like FG said, it's all too messy...

And i too wonder why Javed Nasir hid his face. He had a long beard and it could be the religous reason, but i wonder...I just dont know what he was on about, one moment he'd talk abt how he knew abt proliferation and wouldnt be afraid to take names, as he's an honest man, the next when asked to, he'd have a 100 reasons not to. About Ojhri camp disaster (to which i am an eye wtiness) he said to a question abt how ppl say the US did it to destroy the stingers, he said i dont know we had no idea where the stingers were...the host asked him how could the army generals not know where the stingers were, and he came up with some strange answer that we knew, but the officers and men on ground didnt know and so on...

Many..

why dont you do this exercise
number of years the ISI has been around
avg number of officers in ISI retiring each year
multiply both and you ahve your answer.

shabaash.

gul…why am I not surprised

What about Mahmood, After 9/11 he has joined the Tablighi Jammat and is never seen in public. I think they are busy working on what they beleive.

Mushie is yet again protecting his thick gainday ki hide by making absurd and unsubstantiated allegation...much like the whole AQKhan debacle and the whole made up story, probably while under the influence of Scotch, of India planning to attack Pak prior to Kargil...

Mushie has completely gone wacko...there is no stopping him...he will wreck this country...

He has been there for some time, if the records are not wiped out like the account number of "Karz utaaro scheme"

shaabash

...there are many, and some of these will be the "black sheeps". A retired official cannot generate the huge investments and (in particular) the arms transactions to support a group like Taliban. They have to arrange roti, kaprra, makan (a Bhutto trademark) plus arms for Taliban. Even if some retired official(s) can provide enough financial resources (which is almost impossible) they cannot provide weapons.

Though I guess it is a political statment by chief executive to divert attention off ISI.

Che, I think, Mushraf has mastered the skill of smoke screen. It is widely used in the western democracies, so there is nothing bad in keeping the people busy. The real test of his theories are the western democracies, as long as they are buying it, its ok..... or lets wait till OBL is found dead and the Pakistani leadership finds it self being used as a used condom, once again.

P.S. ISI ex chiefs seem pretty much consistent.

What difference does it make if Pakistani leadership willingly intends to be used as condoms...the real losers as always would ultimately be jahil paki masses....

This Hamid Gul is amazing. He himself issued anti Pakistan remarks before, and now he's accusing Musharaff of not protecting the interests of the country. To most Musharraf was still protecting the interests of the country by saying this..no ISI is involved. there might be some ex ISI assistance..non governmental. It's better to sound a realist than a blind nationalist.