Why is it that in our (specifically, Urdu and Punjabi, since I’m not much familiar with other literature) humor writings and poetry, wives are almost always depicted as evil creatures who have rendered lives of their husbands miserable?
A ‘mazahiya’ mushaira revolves around the ‘evil wife’ theme 80% of the time it runs!
But I do agree that it should not be done as repetitively as being done. This shows lack of topics and creativity of the writers.
Apart from that humor is not a vast field in our part of world. At least, I don't remember that there is a novel (based on humor) which got recognition equal to serious novels.
^ Most of Mushtaq Ahmed Yousufi's work (although not 100% pure humor) is amazing and did get recognition.
But the question is that why does 'evil wife' based poetry get so much popular? Is it only that people find it entertaining (like obscene Punjabi stage drama) or does it reflect some of the 'realities' of our life as well?
Yusufi Saheb's work is not in novel form and his work got variety of topics under discussion.
There are sentiments against evil wives in the societies, but as you mentioned that almost majority of mazahiya musha'ira mostly revolve around this is out of proportion. Probably, there are some reasons behind it. Pakistani society has been under severe restrictions in various periods, where you couldn't express your feelings on various matters. This lead to abstract writings (including poetry and short stories, etc). When there is lack of topics, poets opt for topics which they can easily convey to the audience. If not about current affairs, their poetry then started revolving around home affairs.
Another reason might be a reaction against feminist writers who always portrayed men as some cruel creature. I would say Fehmida Riza and Kishwar Naheed provoked these poets to write these poems :D
Why is it that in our (specifically, Urdu and Punjabi, since I'm not much familiar with other literature) humor writings and poetry, wives are almost always depicted as evil creatures who have rendered lives of their husbands miserable?
A 'mazahiya' mushaira revolves around the 'evil wife' theme 80% of the time it runs!
Okay here's a question that's been on my mind for quite some time.
Why do some parents name their daughter "Zulaikha"..the name of the married woman who seduced Hazrat Yusuf (AS) and falsely accused him? I understand naming daughters Aisha, Fatima, Maryam and other names of positive female historical figures. It's a common belief amongst Desis that Hazrat Yusuf (AS) later forgave and married Zulaikha, but I have not come upon any authentic verification of this when I searched online.
Okay here's a question that's been on my mind for quite some time.
Why do some parents name their daughter "Zulaikha"..the name of the married woman who seduced Hazrat Yusuf (AS) and falsely accused him? I understand naming daughters Aisha, Fatima, Maryam and other names of positive female historical figures. It's a common belief amongst Desis that Hazrat Yusuf (AS) later forgave and married Zulaikha, but I have not come upon any authentic verification of this when I searched online.
The story of Yusuf Zulekha as depicted by Miyan Muhammad Bux and other poets in sub-continent is different or you can say extended version of story as per the Quran. Quran doesn't tell us about what happened to Zulekha when she accepted that her allegation against Yousuf (AS) were wrong, but local versions do extend it and tell us that she was forgiven. Quran even doesn't mention name of Zulekha. Zulekha might be Arabic version of her name.
Kya yeh ghalat nahi hai?
I asked my cousin about this. She grew up in Pakistan and she treated the story of Zulaikha as "fact." There are many things about religion that my cousin has treated as fact and it bothers me that she does not question their validity....whereas to me...I immediately doubt them because they sound "off." I feel like there are kitabain on namaz and various religious topics jo bazaaron main bikti hain and people readily believe their contents....or worse...readily believe what mom and grandma told them without question.
This one time she told me that Hazrat Adam (AS) was not forgiven until he implored AllAh with Rasool SAWS's name. I had heard this from her a few times and it sounded off to me. The evidence is in the Quran that Allah provided Hazrat Adam specific words/dua to use when asking forgiveness. Then one day I watched a video where the speaker said that this notion of Hazrat Adam (AS) imploring Allah with the Prophet SAWS's name is a Shia fabrication. Don't know how true this is, but the readiness with which things are believed without verifying through Quran and hadith is disturbing.
There are many things which became part of our faith and this is a topic on which separate books have been written. There are Israeliyaat which formed part of many tafaseer and probably Zulekha's incident as covered by Miyan Muhammad Bux (Sufi Poet of Punjab who wrote Saif ul Malook and Yusuf Zulekha) are based on such tafaseer.
Not everyone is as privileged and got sources / resources to reach the original incidents. People were just made to emphasise on sawaab part and that is why many people just recite Quran in Arabic all their lives and believe in whatever they are being told by some molvi whose knowledge is limited.
I was instantly reminded of this quote from Jane Austen's Persuasion. Apparently this scenario is universal.
“I do not think I ever opened a book in my life which had not something to say upon woman's inconstancy. Songs and proverbs, all talk of woman's fickleness. But perhaps you will say, these were all written by men."
"Perhaps I shall. Yes, yes, if you please, no reference to examples in books. Men have had every advantage of us in telling their own story. Education has been theirs in so much higher a degree; the pen has been in their hands. I will not allow books to prove anything.”
― Jane Austen, Persuasion
Mohammed Khalid Akhtar's "Chakiwara main Visaal" is a novelette, and a very humorous one
I heard of this novel, but you see its not as popular as 'Aag ka Darya' or 'Udaas Naslen'. Even Manto's 'Thanda Gosht', Ismat Chugtai's 'Lihaaf' got more viewership and recognition. I think sex and tragedy sell more than anything else.