Every Country has Army, Pakistan Army has a country"

Re: Every Country has Army, Pakistan Army has a country"

This is a classic copout, while you may prefer an Army person to run WAPDA, KESC and PIA as they have over the last 10 years. That doesn't mean a good performance, while it does not mean they are incapable of running things well (Nur Khan and Asghar Khans work in PIA are well known), however Pakistans recent sucessful turn arounds of state owned industries in the last 10 years have been almost totally by civilians who were well paid and left alone without interference.

This is a 'them' & 'us' situation.

Obviously the military does not trust civilians. Also it gives the military complete control of all facets of the country's institutions.

My question would be: have the military personnel actually improved these institutions or brought about further alienation between the Military & the civilian employees.

It is no mystery why so many Pakistanis have lost repect for the once professional Army

Yeh Pak Army aaj tak aik jang to jeeti nahi hai...sara zor aur jidaari apnay hi logon aur oonka khoon chosnay mein dikhai dia hai inka...

What many don't see is that these retired army men get to draw double pension and perks from both the military and the cushy civilian post they get appointed to. In the US, UK etc. military men cannot draw double perks. In contrast a CSP person deputed to a place like WAPDA can draw only one salary and pension.

That is where the key difference lies. Musharraf has appointed a lot of Generals to key posts to buy off their loyalty and also to tell up and coming Colonels and Brigadiers that if they stay with the program, they will get to make it rich double quick.

Now, if a private company chooses to hire Generals due to their skills, then we should not have a problem. However, if our own taxpayer money is used to pay many Generals twice, then we have a serious problem of organized loot.

well said.

Lost East Pakistan
Lost Siachin
Lost Kargil
Lost Kashmir - there's no hope of getting any leverage from India.
Now about to lose tribal areas.

Wait you forgot, they have conquered LAL MASJID, and MADRASSAHS.
They have killed 1000+ their civilians. Thats a big accomplisment for a army of 600000.

I haven't seen any, may be pro-Busharraf/pro-"army" people can explain better.

I think still better record than lal masjid which conquered cd shops and aunty shamim.

Try Junaid Jamsheds Boutique .... :)

i am surprised to see so many ambassadors up there in the list - surely Pakistan must be having a equivalent of foreign service/office

Let me give you a hint, Our civilian govts are so useless they can't even collect utility bills... Last time they went to khakis for help the rest you can figure youeself.

Qureshi media adviser to president](http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\07\17\story_17-7-2007_pg1_3)

ISLAMABAD: Former Inter Services Public Relations director general Maj Gen (r) Rashid Qureshi on Monday assumed charge as the spokesman and media adviser to President Gen Pervez Musharraf. According to sources, Qureshi, who previously dealt with the media during the Kargil operation and 9/11 incidents, has been made the president’s adviser to improve his image in the media. :smack: He has been provided an office in Aiwan-e-Sadr. online

Point being?Army is there to serve the people/govt, not the other way around

^ So how did BB and NS serve the people.

didn't do too much, but as is now obvious, the majority of Pakistani's would rather have them than the dictator, except MQM supporters like yourself

Anyways, that is a whole differnt topic....

I thought so.

i note you didn’t ask how your MQM ‘served’ the people…by filling their pockets and filling thousands of body bags.

Your not fooling anyone :cb:

My MQM?

Interesting. Tell me more.

Well stated.......