Ever noticed how there are more Pakistani undergrads in the US as compared to Indian?

That’ something I have noticed. At most universities, compare the number of Pakistani foreign students who are doing their undergraduate degree, to the Indian foreign students doing their undergrad. There will be a whole lot more Pakistanis, than Indians.

Graduate studies are another thing all togather. I don’t think even Chinese foreign students can beat Indians in numbers.

It’s just an observation, not trying to start a Pakistan vs. Indian debate. My observation might be wrong and biaed.

Re: Ever noticed how there are more Pakistani undergrads in the US as compared to Indian?

*Originally posted by TeenDabbyWala: *
That' something I have noticed. At most universities, compare the number of Pakistani foreign students who are doing their undergraduate degree, to the Indian foreign students doing their undergrad. There will be a whole lot more Pakistanis, than Indians.

Graduate studies are another thing all togather. I don't think even Chinese foreign students can beat Indians in numbers.

It's just an observation, not trying to start a Pakistan vs. Indian debate. My observation might be wrong and biaed.

Nice try my Indian friend. Just by the fact that
india is 10x the population of Pakistan it is vitually assured that there will be more Indian students. This is a shameless attempt to politicize the issue.

It does raise concerns over the fact that a biased Indian view will be propogated in academia. I mean Pakistanis in the US, much like the UK are falling behind in the race. Although Pakistani-Americans are generally better of than their UK counterparts, the gap is closing.

If you look at the best universities of the US, you will find the Pakistani to be greatly missing. This is unfortunate, as not only are my compatriots losing out on great educational opporunities but also allowing for an Indian domination of the campus (relatively speaking).

TDW the university that you went to may have these numbers, but over all as Rajputfury mentioned, there are fewer Pakistani undergrads than Indians, whether foreign or non foreign.

Re: Re: Ever noticed how there are more Pakistani undergrads in the US as compared to

*Originally posted by RajputFury: *

Nice try my Indian friend. Just by the fact that
india is 10x the population of Pakistan it is vitually assured that there will be more Indian students. This is a shameless attempt to politicize the issue.

It does raise concerns over the fact that a biased Indian view will be propogated in academia. I mean Pakistanis in the US, much like the UK are falling behind in the race. Although Pakistani-Americans are generally better of than their UK counterparts, the gap is closing.

If you look at the best universities of the US, you will find the Pakistani to be greatly missing. This is unfortunate, as not only are my compatriots losing out on great educational opporunities but also allowing for an Indian domination of the campus (relatively speaking).

Actually I was thinking that perhaps there are lots of good universities in India, and students prefer to study in India for their undergraduate degrees.

Re: Re: Re: Ever noticed how there are more Pakistani undergrads in the US as compared to

Actually I was thinking that perhaps there are lots of good universities in India, and students prefer to study in India for their undergraduate degrees.

And i thought that for the first time something positive(even though wrong) for pakistan was written by you.

Right.....more pakistanis vs indian?/>..

Then why are hospitals, business and stores filled to the brim with indian workres????

Re: Ever noticed how there are more Pakistani undergrads in the US as compared to Indian?

That' something I have noticed. At most universities, compare the number of Pakistani foreign students who are doing their undergraduate degree, to the Indian foreign students doing their undergrad. There will be a whole lot more Pakistanis, than Indians.

Graduate studies are another thing all togather. I don't think even Chinese foreign students can beat Indians in numbers.

It's just an observation, not trying to start a Pakistan vs. Indian debate. My observation might be wrong and biaed.

I have also noticed this. There are more hindu Indians working towards
there Masters degree.
And I read a US govt report(name bhool giyaa) that there are more
Chinese Phd and Masters students compared to other countries.
And India is second on the list.

take care

The observation is correct. One reason could be the availability of good undergrad educational institutions in India. Though, I don’t think that is the only reason.

Money matters!!! Undergrads foreign students do not get any Fin. Aid, the degree is 4 years long and the prospects of getting a job in the US are not that high if you do not belong to the Tech industry. Compare that to all the TA/RA positions available for Grad studies along with the fact that at most any graduate degree is 18-24 months long, it is financially sound to come to the states for Graduate degree. Also, as a graduate student the full time student requirement is generally two courses, which might be as difficult as taking 4-5 undergrad courses, it not even close to being as time consuming or restricting. I know Indians who would work 40 hours in motels & restaurants and still manage to pass their graduate courses on average.

This is not to say that Pakistanis have more money and so they enroll in greater number in undergraduate studies, I believe Indians are wiser about it the whole issue along with the fact that Pakistan has far less good universities compared to the population demand. Most undergrad Indians that came to our university were either from very rich families in India or had spent all their life in the Gulf with a few exceptions.

lets keep things in perspective please…? :rolleyes:

did someone forget that the INDIAN POPULATION is like errr TEN TIMES larger than the pakistani poulation :rolleyes:

despite that, there are many pakis in the top schools in the us, both in undergrad and grad. and they r there on scholarships and self finance both.

TDW please swallow this bitter truth: Indians r NOT the only smart race in the world. pakistanis may not appear so nerdy and geeky but we sure r strong at our academics arrite :stuck_out_tongue:

and there R many good unis in pak janab. in every field.

:rolleyes:

have u done any survey or just ?

saree hoiee qoum hai ... kissie kou khush oour bahal nahee daikh saktee ... <_<

Its nice to like our country. Lekn try to look at facts.
Pak ke good unis very few.
And r u familiar with hiring process of faculty in Pak.
App ne Pak ke kis Uni me study kia hee.

Smoke a dooby…
:smokin: sweeeet…

Honestly, I agree with everyone… there is definitely a gap b.w. # of pakis and # of indians on campus… but why are we trying to compete. Next thing you know… someone will say there are a billion indians and only 150 million pakis… so every paki must produce 6.6666 children to match the indians… sheesh… by the time that happens… Oh God…
I simply say this… that everyone should aim at a great education … better to have a small but strong population than to have a large ‘Confederacy of Dunces’… (btw… a good book to read)

what is the number of universities in both countries and then the population of university age people?

I dont think that there are more Pakistani students than Indian students in undergrad, but that the ratio of pakistani-Indians is higher in undergrad than in grad school in both cases there are more indians.

and dont just focus on the top private and public unis, look at hole in the wall places like NJIT (nehru Jimmah institute of technology..AKA New Jersey Inst of Technology), or George Mason University, or heck even Wichita State University andyou can see the numbers right away.

There are lesser Pakistanis in PhD programmes, but a trend that has shown improvement.

Fraudz is right. Although my ideal is to see Pakistanis in Unis like the Jews. Atleast in the US, there is a heavy Jewish representation in academia. I am not mentioning this in the political sense (as in Jews control all) but rather trying to highlight the fact that Jews vis a vis Arabs/Muslims are in parallel situation to Pakistanis to Indians.

Frankly this is the case, where I would rather see more Pakistanis PERIOD. Higher education tends to correlate with stronger earning power, which leads to community empowerment. I would hate to see my Pakistani-American people miss the boat on this matter, and end up like the UK counterparts.

Re: Ever noticed how there are more Pakistani undergrads in the US as compared to Ind

Uk Pakistanis - dont start me. If any of your are students in bradford you will know. Locals have the ambition of becoming a underground pharmacist before being locked up and then replaced with younger brother.

The Pakistani population that settled in the UK was mainly from Mirpur uneducated working as labourers for nothing much. The indians where mainly doctors, trained for free in India during the cold war. Russia was having Indian doctors sent to medical schools in Moscow so the west decided they would setup medical school in India and counter the spread of communist doctors - who better than the UK and it's relationship to India. Once the NHS needed doctors who better than the Indians sit the same exams as English counterparts. They did well for themselved got children into education, knew what study was like. On the otherhand Pakistanis generally wanted their children to work in a factory or family run shop if they where rich enough to have one. Education was not on the list. They found it hard to see the advantage of an education it doesnt bring any money in when you are 16. Some did well for themselves I must say my Uncles decided to disobey their father and not move like everyone else to a shop. Worked hard 2 got 2 degrees each and now have some very good carrears some quite famous in their fields. Their freinds didnt they went into the factories and the ususalt story of a dead end job. A lot of the Pakistani community in uk where born in Pakistan dont speak english so find it hard to communicate with their kids frankly. Dont know the UK culture so cant connect. they end up being a "bad boy" no respect for anyone not even elders. All they want to do is wear gold chanins, rockport shoes, addidas pants with a stripey jumper. Sell drugs, own a BMW, Imprezza, Evo and act like they own the place. With an attitude like that dont expect the rate of UK Pakistani pass rates to get any better - it's the lowest for any group in the UK same as those from a Carabeian background.

to all the frenzied souls here: whats wrong with u guys?? tdw only stated an observation, if u think its wrong say that and apni raah chalo... why do u have to spit so much venom out?? ek to woh rajput fury hai jo bhul gaya hai ke uske purvaj india ke hain (cf. rajput, martial clan from rajasthan) aur upar se apne baap bhaiyon ko gali de raha hai.. aur ek namuna bolta hai kitna ghanda qoum hai.. kya problem hai yaar life mein? biwi se jhagda hua to yahan aake kyun ghussa nikalte ho?? seedhi tarah se baat karni nahin ati to jaao ghass charne

before this thread turns into a pointless Pak/India brawl :closed: