Ever been to a Jaloos?

Hi guys, just curious, how many of you have ever been to a Political party rally in Pakistan? If you have which party and what did you think of it?

One fine day I was part of a jaloos gathered to greet Mian Nawaz Sharif who was coming to our area in Lahore where PML-N had Mian Abdul Wahid contesting against PPP's Salman Taseer. What an awesome gathering it was. I still remember the ocean of people where everyone was mesmerized by that great leader of ours who later left his beloved poeple and country just because he was unable to withstand 'hardships' of an A-Class jail.

I have been to all the NA-38 Jaloos in Rawalpindi, this is the constituency where Shiekh Rashid has won all the times... I must admit it is fun...

Zakk bhai, shouldnt it be called Jalsa instead of jaloos?

I went to the Mutahhada Qaumi Movement Jalsa earlier this week. I was eagerly waiting for Dr. Farooq Sattar to show up and show off with his fab. urdu speaking skills - unfortunetly - he didn't show up and I had to listen to the endless rantings of the local candidates. The most irritating part was:

Ham na hon, hamaray baad
Altaf! Altaf!

Finally, the awaited telefonic 'guftoogoo' started and the connection was sooo bad that most people started to leave. I think Hussain has a speaking problem because he repeats himself many times and he extends some of his words for more than 15-20 seconds. The locals called it his 'style'. Yea oki, whatever.

I enjoyed the flag ceremony in which the shah faisal sector brought in the longest flag with a loud drum beat.

Overall, for a mere time pass of half an hour, one can stand such jalsas, otherwise, rent a movie.

I've been to the Referendum Rally when Musharraf came to Jinnah Ground in Karachi :D

My parents have been to the Jaloos of Bhuttos[Father and Daughter]

Spock salam! ..isn't a jaloos a procession and a jalsa a rally?

I've never been to a proper one, I did accidently visit a National Awami Party of Pakistan meeting in Peshawar once. Had several hundred people there, felt weird being there! Still I'd love to see every possible partys rally. Would be an experience!

*Originally posted by Zakk: *
Spock salam! ..isn't a jaloos a procession and a jalsa a rally?

Your right there, Zakk :D

Yes, it is fun :hehe:

I have been to one .....U can guess the party leader if i tell u 90 % turned out to see her boobs......yes ....Benazir bhutto.......

Yes and Me too ...../

:smokin: me..I have been to a rally…in the time when zia vamoozed and beny was comin..loads of hopes and dreams took us all to the rally…sigh :smokin:

aries, I was a small child at that time, I remember all the youngsters at that time went to lahore to greet benazir when she returned... It was a huge crowd I heard!!! Everyone was tun over benazir at that time ;)

Zakk, do you know about this place in Peshawar, yadgaar chowk or something, its a historic place for jalsaas/jaloos... Its near Shoba I think...

PT, have you ever seen Bhutto jalsas/jalos on tapes? What an orrator he was. He punched the lights out of the poor microphones infront of him, and once got so emotional and heated up that he used the word 'bhanc***' but later apologized... The man was excellent at this stuff....

*Originally posted by Poodenay_Ki_Chutney: *
I have been to one .....U can guess the party leader if i tell u 90 % turned out to see her boobs......yes ....Benazir bhutto.......

Yes and Me too ...../

What's so special about em?

*Originally posted by Poodenay_Ki_Chutney: *

Yes and Me too ...../

Kya us ne baghair kaproon ke jaloos kiya tha?

Yup Spock I have been to Chowk Yadgar, very polluted now!
Btw I heard Sheikh Rashid tends to use quite vulgar comments in his rallies?;)

And who the hell would go to a PPP rally just to oogle BB!!! Talk about bad taste:P

*Originally posted by Spock: *
aries, I was a small child at that time, I remember all the youngsters at that time went to lahore to greet benazir when she returned... It was a huge crowd I heard!!! Everyone was tun over benazir at that time ;)

Zakk, do you know about this place in Peshawar, yadgaar chowk or something, its a historic place for jalsaas/jaloos... Its near Shoba I think...

PT, have you ever seen Bhutto jalsas/jalos on tapes? What an orrator he was. He punched the lights out of the poor microphones infront of him, and once got so emotional and heated up that he used the word 'bhanc***' but later apologized... The man was excellent at this stuff....

Yes..everyone thought this was the big dream that we had awaited....
I wasnt really old too, you know..;)

I went to Altaaf Hussain Jalsaas in Karachi when I was pretty young.
In dustageer and block 14. Those were the fun days.

Yup Spock I have been to Chowk Yadgar, very polluted now!

And who the hell would go to a PPP rally just to oogle BB!!! Talk about bad taste:P

Zakk, it may be polluted by I went there two months back, and even though I had only heard of it till that time, the place has something majestic doesnt it? I mean you can always tell by looking at it that its an important piece of land, thats associated with political history... I would love to read more about what went on at that place, do u have any links or articles?

As for BB, Zakk we were referring to the old times, 1986, when BB was at her prime ;)

Yes he does... He tends to make cheap jokes of BB... I would quote them here, but they are too vulgar, and the mods dont like me already ;)

Spock heres a good link to the Chowk yadgar information you wanted.
http://www.peshawar1.com/htmls/history.html

Most processions go through that side, and end up in Jinnah Park.

Anybody been to a JI, JUI, or JUP rally?..