EU Snub 'Sandwich Sami'.

A good thing too!! Thank god for sensible people in EU.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/south_asia/4466019.stm

EU snub for hardline Pakistan MP

The European Parliament has refused to meet a delegation of Pakistani MPs that included an Islamic scholar it said had close links to the Taleban.

It said it could not meet an individual who did not meet its “ideals of democracy, equality and human rights”.

Senator Maulana Sami ul-Haq also heads a seminary in Pakistan that has been called the “University of Jihad”.

Pakistan’s ambassador in Brussels said the parliament’s move was “unfortunate” and an “opportunity missed”.

The Pakistani delegation of eight senators - four from the government and four from the opposition, including Mr ul-Haq, are heading home.

Alliance British Labour MEP, Neena Gill, leader of the EU parliament’s South Asia inter-parliamentary committee, said: "The European Parliament espouses the ideals of democracy, equality and human rights.

"While we have members who represent all shades of the political spectrum, we are all working within the framework of a fully functioning democracy.

“We cannot condone therefore individuals who place themselves outside these parameters, for they represent everything we stand against.”

Ms Gill said she would recommend improving the vetting system so that the parliament was more aware of the composition of delegation members.

The Pakistani delegation was due to meet the parliament’s South Asia committee, the chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee and a range of other MEPs.

Pakistan’s ambassador in Brussels, Saeed Khalid, expressed disappointment at the cancellation.

“Even if you grant that you have a big difference of opinion you should talk about it. And this was an opportunity missed,” he told BBC News.

Mr ul-Haq is part of the hardline Islamist alliance that forms a strong bloc in Pakistan’s lower house.

‘Watchmen’ The BBC’s Haroon Rashid visited his seminary in Pakistan’s North-West Frontier Province in 2003.

Our correspondent witnessed the graduation of 600 students pledged to fighting a jihad, or holy war, against enemies of their religion.

The convocation was full of slogans in support of Afghanistan’s ousted Taleban regime, al-Qaeda’s leader Osama Bin Laden and jihad, he reported.

Mr ul-Haq’s advice for the Pakistani and Afghan students was to wage holy war until the “evil force” is defeated.

“Being watchmen of your religion, you are naturally the first target of your enemies,” he said. He had previously sent a batch of 2,000 Afghan students back to their homeland to aid the then ruling Taleban in its fight against the warlords of the Northern Alliance.

Re: EU Snub ‘Sandwich Sami’.

Three cheers for the EU, Hip Hip Hurray…:slight_smile:

Re: EU Snub 'Sandwich Sami'.

good serve them right, they deserve it, they will think again when in Pak making so flamy slogans abaout west without a reason. but being a Pakistani MP they have brought shame to Pakistan as well.

The EU representative/official instigating this whole fiasco is a certain Ms. Gill, born in Ludhiana....Typcial bhindian pak-centric narrow mentality.....to avenge the treatment of that Hindu Nazi Modi....

I'm sure Sandwish Sami didn't mind. He probably bought a bunch of whores like all Pakistani MPs do when they go out of the country.

Pakistan Protests EU Treatment of Pro-Taleban Legislator

Pakistan has lodged a formal diplomatic protest after members of the European Parliament canceled talks in Brussels with an official Pakistani delegation because it included a pro-Taleban cleric.

The European legislators’ decision not to meet with the Pakistani delegation in Brussels provoked an outraged response in Islamabad. Pakistan’s Foreign Ministry summoned the EU, Dutch, and Belgian ambassadors to lodge an official protest.

The National Assembly also passed a strongly worded resolution condemning the delegation’s treatment.

Foreign Ministry spokesman Jalil Jilani said the European Parliament’s behavior was discriminatory and insulting.

The government of Pakistan has taken a very strong note of this incident, which was contrary to the rules of law, human rights and accepted norms of diplomatic practice,” he said.

The eight-member Pakistan senate delegation was scheduled to meet Wednesday with the European Parliament’s foreign affairs committee. But European officials called off the meeting when they discovered that one of the delegation’s members, Senator Sami ul-Haq, is a strong supporter of Afghanistan’s ousted Taleban regime.

When the delegation arrived in Brussels, Mr. Haq was reportedly detained for three hours at the airport, before he was allowed to enter the country. The rest of the group passed through without problem.

European officials say they offered to meet the group without Mr. Haq, but the other senators refused.

Neena Gill, who heads the European Parliament’s South Asia committee, said Mr. Haq represents everything the body rejects.

Mr. Haq is a member of the hard-line Muslim opposition in Pakistan. He also runs the country’s largest religious seminary, which helped educate many of the Taleban’s leaders and supporters.

Mr. Jilani says the European ambassadors in Islamabad appeared committed to easing tensions following Mr. Haq’s detention in Brussels.

“The ambassador of Netherlands agreed the incident was regrettable and he assured us that the European Union would take serious note of the demarche of the government of Pakistan,” he said.

The senate delegation left Brussels without meeting the Parliament and is now in Germany.
VOA *

you see alasi there's a difference here because india didn't back the terrorist hindu that got denied.. while Pakistan complained about the treatment of it's mp by idiotic europeans

khatmal, india did lodge a strong protest with the US for the butcher.

If Sami sahib came to meet me, I would never meet him. If he personally comes to meet my senator, my sanator will get a nasty email from me.

But when he is visiting with an “official” delegation of Pakistan, he has every right to meet people he is scheduled to meet. You can protest to Pakistan for sending such a delegation but you can’t single him out at the port of entry. Well, I guess you can but in my judgment it is not appropriate. :k: Pakistan for protesting.

you sure queer? never heard about that... still there's a difference between terrorist and mp and that can be seen here

exactly …

what the heck? your Genral Mushy was quite a terrorist himself...remember isi, kargil etc? guess retired terorists are ok if they become dictators but MPs are non grata. These Euros are crazy.

This whole thing reminds me of an old article, about Sandiwch’s buddy. Qazi Hussian Ahmed. In the internet age, much of what you say publicly will be stored for others to refer to. It is not easy to escape with munafaqat.

**Qazi hoist with his own petard **

Saturday, May 29 2004

Mohammad Shehzad

A foreigner guest put the great Qazi Hussain Ahmad on the spot at a social gathering recently when he tried to give the ‘listeners in the circle’ an impression that India, Israel and the US had coerced the government of the Netherlands to ban him from Europe. [Qazi had been invited by the European Arab League [EAL] to deliver a lecture on ‘Islam’ in Belgium. He was banned from entering Europe when Netherlands refused him permission to land. Belgium asked Netherlands to block him because EAL was a controversial Islamic organization. It is an extremist outfit.]

But using its clout, the Zionists, America and India coerced the Dutch government and had Qazi’s lecture cancelled. They accused Qazi of supporting the Palestine and prevailed upon the Dutch government to have Qazi’s invitation cancelled. Qazi Hussain Ahmad expressed his regrets over Dutch government’s falling victim to the false US, Israel and Indian propaganda. The European Arab League has decided to sue the Dutch government.’

**‘Qazi saheb aap ghalat biyani say kaam lay rahay hain!’ [You are misrepresenting the facts] said the foreigner who spoke fluent Urdu. ‘It was not the Hindu, Zionist or Christian conspiracy that has barred you from entering Europe but your thoughtless statements that you have been making from time to time,’ the foreigner said. ‘What ‘terrifying’ statements you are talking about? I am totally innocuous,’ said Qazi.

‘Again you are misrepresenting the facts Qazi saheb. Your statements are not innocuous. They are not only venomous but also hypocritical. You spew venom against the US. You call its civilization devilish, yet you had to beg the US Ambassador for your son’s [Asif Lucman Qazi] visa. Why did you send your son to study in an evil environment?’ The foreigner took out a diary from his jacket and started reading. ** :smiley:

'In an interview with Ghazwa, May 6 [Lashkar-e-Taiba’s publication] you threatened Prince Karim Aga Khan of dire consequences. You said, “If Aga Khan tried to interfere in our curriculum, I will make his end miserable. In fact, his end would be even worst than that of the Ahmadis.” ‘We will oppose Musharraf’s views on blasphemy law and hudood ordinance tooth and nail. You told Nawai Waqt [May 17],’ the diplomat said. ‘We will put up vigorous opposition to any efforts aimed at amending hudood ordinance or the blasphemy laws. We will not let the US agenda to be imposed on the people. You said it to Jang, May 18.’

**‘For a long time, the US and Europe are trying to pervert the Islamic culture of Pakistan through their agents like Musharraf. We will fight these conspiracies. You said this to Ummat, May 17. How could you make such an outrageous allegation? Your country encourages powerful people to gang rape innocent women. This does not happen in the West.’ ‘The US is the biggest terrorist in the world. The alliance of Israel and India under the US evil leadership is a worrisome matter for the Muslim world. The US is acting like a rogue elephant. In the fit of arrogance, it is running over everyone. When an elephant becomes roguish, it is shot. It is the time to shoot the US! You said this in Gilgit and it was reported by Ummat, May 17. Do you want me to further quote you Qazi Saheb?’ the foreigner asked. ** :slight_smile:

The great Qazi was shocked. ‘I never meant them. These statements were for the public. Don’t take them so seriously,’ :rotfl: Qazi tried to defend himself. ‘Now you are admitting that you are a hypocrite. These are so inflammatory that they could provoke one to kill the Americans and Europeans. The hateful speeches are the ones that have fanned terrorism all over the world. A leader of your stature has to be careful. You have to improve your reputation. Most of your enlightened people recognize you as Bal Thakary of Pakistan. You should be able to see the beam in your eyes before pointing out a straw in the other people’s eyes. Your own tongue has created troubles for you, not the US, Israel and India. Khuda Hafiz Qazi saheb,’ the foreigner said and left the circle.

Qazi had little reason to stay behind. He ensured he leaves the event before he gets the same treatment from one of us in the circle. That was the second time I had seen Qazi so helpless. Earlier, he had been grilled by BBC’s Hard Talk that Lyse Doucet had conducted. **He was telling her that he had nothing to do with Gulbadin Hekmatyar. I had seen Qazi lose face when she started reading out his old statements in which he had praised Hekmatyar to the skies. **

From kashmirimages.info, not archived.

nice of you to pull stuff out of your behind.. but tell me why was a terrorist like vajpaee allowed to travel the world when other hindu terororists can't? hindustan may hindu terroists ke saat zyaati ho rahi hai kya abh?

and the dutch are the biggest bunch of idiots out of all the idiotic europeans

Good.

Yes thank you Atlantis for pointing that out, that should be an eye opener to all the mullah bashing Pakis…that if anybody, Mushy could very well be procsecuted as a war criminal in Belgium and Netherlands under their war crimes laws…Instead of showing unity, and supporting your own countrymen irrespective of whatever political/ideological difference that may exist, these idiotic pakistanis are more then anything are being hypocritical and extremely ignorant of the real-politik…bunch of amateurs…

That was hilarious! Qazi begging for his sons American visa

Lol.. That beautiful. Nothing makes me happeir to see an MMA idiot made to like like and Idiot.
Although its good to know that he “never meant them,” and by them I guess he means all that backwards mumbo jumbo crap he’s always spewing… So there is reason to hope…

interesting but I don’t get it