Etiquette Etiquette Etiquette of receiving a gift

Mum bought this really nice crystal bowl to gift someone. I was at her place when she bought, she showed and I said to her dont open the backaging to see, I own similar bowl and its beautiful. she asked Brother to put on top shelf of pantry. No one opened to see. Yesterday she went to visit that family and gave them that bowl.

This morning dad received call from that uncle and he told that the bowl is broken. Dad asked uncle to return that we will replace that gift.

Mum called me and told me. She is feeling really bad as we didn’t give them broken bowl and they might be thinking that we did. Ofcourse it can break anytime from store to that family opening it. Now that the uncle called dad, wouldnt it be better if aunty called mum.

Mum saying she is very ‘shermanda’ about it.

If I was at their place I would just be quiet it. No onr knows anyone s intention? .

Re: Etiquette

Etiquette

Etiquette of receiving a gift

You’re thinking too much. If even the aunti called, it can come across as them “rubbing” it in your family’s face. Maybe the aunti thinks that if she were to also discuss the issue after her husband already did so, then your family might think, “Aik baat k peechay hi par gaye hain. We already know it’s broken, dobara batanay ki kya zaroorat hai?” Maybe with this thought in mind, Aunti did not call your mom. Don’t make this an issue.

They could have kept it to themselves, but wouldn’t it be a waste of your parents’ money that they cannot even use the gift that your mom bought? You paid for it, so either you deserve a refund of your money or a replacement of the product. Also, the store managers need to know about this so that they’re more careful in the future.

It’s really not a big masla, it’s easily fixable. Let it go and don’t beat yourselves about it as it wasn’t your fault and don’t entertain ill thoughts about the aunti n uncle.

Etiquette

brokken bowel is bad, i hop it fixed the soonly. but what is problam?

Re: EtiquetteEtiquetteEtiquette of receiving a gift

If I was the person who received the gift… I probably would not have said anything but don’t see it as a big deal that they called

I’m not quite sure why you feel it would have been better if the aunty called instead of the uncle…

Etiquette

One time my husband and I were invited to my cousin’s place for a dawat, where we got a few gifts from the host as it was right after our wedding. One was a big box of Thorntons chocolates - yum yum. When we got home, I decided to open the chocccies, only to find that more than 3/4 of the box were GONE hahaaa! My cousin has two sons, 11 and 7, and I assume they had eaten them secretly, and thought because their ammi hadn’t checked the contents of the box, they were in the clear!

Hubby and I had a good laugh, but I’d never have the audacity to tell my cousin! It was only a few months down the line that I told her sister in jest how ‘shararti’ her nephews are lol, and that was only to have a laugh. I’d never complain if someone gave me a gift!

Etiquette

I Brought a gift for someone who we were visiting for the first time, to my horror i got home and realised there were cracks in the some of the cups, i didnt have time to swap or replace it, instead i took it and showed them and said i will take it back and get another, however i felt bad coming empty handed, but they seemed fine about it too

( i know my case is a little different, sorry if iv derailed)

Etiquette

We were on the receiving end of a broken gift. The family who gifted it is very close, hence we had no qualms about telling them. It was returned and replaced.

If I was the one who was gifting someone regardless of how close they were, I’d want them to tell me so it can be exchanged. You spend time and effort finding a gift, it should be useful to the recipients.