Re: Ethnic Nationalism in Pakistan
You know… Your Hindko is very similar to my Punjabi..
What makes you think your not a Punjabi when clearly you are speaking another dialect of Punjabi?!?!
You know… Your Hindko is very similar to my Punjabi..
What makes you think your not a Punjabi when clearly you are speaking another dialect of Punjabi?!?!
I dont get this nationlism coming out of these punjabi dialect speakers who think that they have a sepreate language but its nothing more than a dialect of punjabi. Anyone rememeber the Seraikis? These people say that they are being exploited by punjabees yet these people are clearly pujabies themsleves. Seraiks even went as far as producing maps of Seraikistan which not only included southern half of punjab but also district of dera ismail khan in NWFP.
Seperate small ethnic states are doomed to fail. We as one united nation can actually achieve something. This quarreling, punjabi this pashtun that is just stupid. Instead of making the nation better, we are fighting amongst ourselves. How pathetic is that?
When ever I speak Punjabi on here I try and speak the regular dialect, say something in your dialect so that I can tell if it’s the same as ours or not..
I’ve heard from lots of people that Punjabi spoken in Chakwal is just like our Hindko, my dad knows a few Awan people from Chakwal and he says they speak pure Hindko but call it Punjabi.. Also I use to have a friend walid khan who spoke our language (can’t remember where he were from) and he’d insist that we’re Punjabi but to me that label always felt really weird because I always saw myself as Hindko or Pukhtoon (who can’t speak Pukhtu) even though I have no problem understanding and basic-speaking any Punjabi dialect…
To my relatives anything Desi except us is “Panjabi”, Urdu speaking Mohajirs, Mirpuris, Potowhari’s… Everyone gets labelled Punjabi.. lol.
Well, my local dialect isnt very good, didnt spend much time in my village. Most of what I know is what was passed down from my parents and relative, but for the most part I can speak and understand the basic Chakwali Dialect, although there are some variation even within the Chkawal area. Our Punjabi is similar to Jehlum and Rawalpindi (although not as much as Jhelum) aswell, but even the Punjabi from Pindi can be very very different from our local Chakwali its almost funny when I hear it
Ok I will give it a shot… Thoun ithai baat, meh koi alfaaz GIN on’aan. " “Mai appai aa wasaaan”
There is also this local folk song from that area that I heard, and if its local to my area then this is probably the best example of local dialect I know, “Kaama gujrat daya, kyoon kaan kaan laaiee houn ain, sanu ghum sajaran da, lhoogi murz barain hou aain.”
Also, we dont say “ki” like Thanda KI haal Hai? We use the term Thanda kai haal ai. Nor do we ever use the term “Si” like they do in other parts of Punjab and in India Punjab. I mean like Punjabis from India and Lahore I think use the term SI for everything. Like they will say “Oh onda SI, Oh vaanda SI” or “Os da Ki naan si?” etc…
These seem trivial, but these are the most obvious differences I have heard. If you give me more time I will find some more big differences between Chakwali Punjabi and Punjabi from Southern Punjab region.
But I think this comes down to one thing really, its geographic coinicidence. Punjabis are not an ethncity and Punjabi isnt just a single entity. The punjabi language like those that inhabit the land of the five rivers are fluid, their roots cross the provincial borders. If by some coincidence you had been born in Punjab or your area were in the confine of Punjab you would have considered yourself Punjabi. I mean, its hard to deny that some Kashmiris especially those from Mirpur are really speaking Punjabi. I guess we define ourselves as Punjabi not by our language but by our provincial borders… Im an Awan, anD my village history on my paternal side goes back to Qutab Shah Awan, who I believed came from someplace outside of Punjab. I dont see any reason to doubt the resorc since it tends to be very accurate…
I agree, we should represnt every equally democratically but not go so far as to make geographic divisions to suite the aspiration of some disgruntled individuals.
True democracy is what we need…
And I consider myself Punjabi, although I admit there is a bias towards Lahori Punjabi speakers, I do think they speak the closest thing to original form of Punajbi, and Sikhs even more so then they... I think my brand of Punjabi and Hindko are the original form of Punjabi that has diverged into seperate dialect over the years due to the sheer distance from Lahore and Southern Punjab, and especially due to the terrain of the Chawal region and Salt Range which meant that Punjabis of that region were physically seperated from influences of the Punjabis of the Southern regions. This when transportation was generally on two feet or on four... This makes sense also when you consider that Sikhs who most definently spoke Punjabi from the start, and who are from this area of Chakwal such as PM Manmohan Singh still speak the same dialect.
I mean, my father once recognized an Indian woman in the states just by the dialect of Punjabi she spoke. This woman wasnt even born in Pakistan, never even lived there, but her grandmother was from a village right next to mine!!!
Potahari is also a very intresting dialect of punjabi. It can sometimes be very different from say lahori punjabi. For example the sentence ‘Give it to me’ in lahori punjabi would ‘meno bhi dey so’ but in potahari it would ‘mickey bhi chaso’.
Alot of the people i have talked to who speak punjabi dialects really hate called being punjabis for some reason. ![]()
Yeah, I know for sure that Hindko is very similar to Chakwali Punjabi…
Not overly suprising considering how geographically close the two places are
Ethnic nationalism is a mistake...and it's a sad thing that secular minded suggest that ehtnic identities be given priority over an Islamic one for Pakistan...recipe for disaster!!!
^ Actually alot of the ppl spreading it are using the false pretense of their religion, best example are certain individuals here who think just because they are from the NWFP are better Muslims. Infact, the secular minded people are more for Pakistan than those so called zealots.
Being a better Muslim involves qualities that any person can acquire…that’s the point. One can’t be a better ‘Punjabi’ if they are in fact a Mohajir…
Now, what you state is more of a case of religion being hijacked by ethnic nationalism…in which case, it’s invoking religion for a secular cause.
You are correct, that there are many secular Pakistani nationalists. But the foundations of Pakistan’s statehood are so new and weak that it’s hardly something many people can relate to. Like it or not, Islam is the only option. The question is, why do we abdicate responsibility of faith to the most illiterate among us?
We’re both Hindko then..
Punjabi and Hindko are too different to be classified as dialects of the same language.. Besides Hindko people are more cultured and sophisticated, not to mention so much better looking. ![]()
Punjabis don’t really like us anyway, as soon as I meet a new Punjabi they look at me and “Are you from Peshawar” and then they proceed to talk crap about “Pathans” thinking I’m one, of course I soon put them back in their position, racist people..
So who are you then? and Urdu Khan hell bent on spreading racsim in Pakistan?
Oh wait! worse yet you could be a leftie commie Kabuli who loved to destroy their own city, and now they are ready to spread the death and desctruction to Peshawar, Malakan, Bannu, and Kohat. Watch out! Afridis are really after you o Kabuli Khan.
That being the case, wouldn’t it be simple to throw Punjab out of the country instead of breaking up all others?
We can even do a trade - we’ll take your part of Punjab and give you timeshare in select Kashmir resorts
Pak Punjabi is a Shuddar Nation and that's all. Pakpatriot, dont try to change the history now. Your prejudice attitude speaks volume of your ethnicity. You remain in perpetual state of inferiority. I will suggest to all Punjabis in this forum to link yourself with Pakhtoons, like all other hypocrite Punjabis, "I am a Pathan, my forefathers have come from Afghanistan" my God,
So it is high time for you Shuddar Nation to adopt some other race otherwise your next generation will also face it.
More blabbering from Kabuli Kommies. This brave Afghan nation’s ass has been ruled for the last 200 years by everyone in the world including Brits, Ruskies, Punjabis, Iranis, Bharatis and you name it. Pathetic Kabulies now want us to ignore all that and consider them some 15 foot tall terrorists based on stuff that happened thousand years ago. Look at the recent history man and weep. Your Kabul has been raped by every nationality in the world. Think of your forefathers in Kabul man and weep you cry-baby!
Anti, are you Shuddar Punjabi? or you dont know your forefathers?
Bunch of bai-ghairats are now asking others about their forefathers. Stick to the thread O Kabulies ans worry about your ethnic nationalism and let us worry about ours.
Just think about your ethnic nationnalists General Dostum and cry.
So you dont know, but why are you ashamed, be bold enough. I am stick to the topic, it is the topic of ethnicity, if you dont know then get the hell out here.
Worry about Qazi Hussain, antiobl. He's gonna whip your asses and take revenge for backtracking on the Taliban. Strategic depth won't always work. Afghanistan will shove its dick up Punjab's backside, and it has everything on its side.