Ethnic divide hits city hospitals

It is sad that now doctors also practice ethincity in their noble profession. What happened to oath they took when received their degrees. All these doctors should be tried, and punished and thier degrees should be snatched and burnt . Ultimately they will also burn in hell. (Inshallah)

Ethnic divide hits city hospitals

http://www.dawn.com/2011/03/24/ethnic-divide-hits-city-hospitals.html

**KARACHI, March 23: While parts of the city have been in the grip of ethnic violence once again for the past many days, it is observed that the victims of targeted attacks as well as patients belonging to certain communities were usually not taken to the nearest government hospital. **

The alarming trend where people with a certain ethnic background avoid some hospitals even if they are in a precarious condition has developed over the years, though it becomes noticeable during spates of ethnic killings and violence that the city often witnesses.

“Yes, there is a clear pattern that Pakhtun victims of targeted attacks are not taken to the Abbasi
Shaheed Hospital for treatment; they even don`t allow the bodies of targeted killing victims to be taken to the ASH,” said a senior official of the medico-legal section of the Sindh government on the condition of anonymity.

The official cited the recent killing of ANP general secretary of district west Advocate Mohammad Hanif Khan, saying that the victim was attacked in SITE`s Metroville area but was taken all the way to the Jinnah Postgraduate Medical Centre, where he was pronounced dead.

A senior doctor of the JPMC also confirmed the pattern, saying that the JPMC received patients, including those with gunshot wounds, from as far as central and west districts of the city.

“There have been several instances where the body of a targeted killing victim was shifted to the Abbasi Shaheed Hospital mortuary but the heirs took away the body to another hospital,” charity workers said.

**Ambulance workers know
Senior official of the Edhi Foundation Anwer Kazmi also confirmed to that the trend had been in evidence for the past many years. He said people belonging to a certain community avoided going to some hospitals.

“Now even ambulance drivers have learnt as to which hospital the body of a victim from a certain ethnic background should be shifted,” Mr Kazmi said, adding that in case a friend or relative of the victim was present at the time of shifting the driver acted on their advice.

“Generally people belonging to the Pakhtun community go to the Jinnah Postgraduate Medical Centre for treatment, while those belonging to the Urdu-speaking community by choice visit the Abbasi Shaheed Hospital,” he said.

Former President of the Pakistan Medical Association Dr Habibur Rehman Soomro confirmed the trend, saying that certain ethnic communities avoided visiting some hospitals.

“Everyone is witness to this alarming trend but no one is ready to point it out,” he said, citing the air of mistrust prevailing in the metropolis.

He said the practice was followed not only by the Pakhtun community, but also by people from other ethnic backgrounds. He explained that if there was a conflict going on between the Urdu-speaking and Sindhi-speaking people, the Sindhi-speaking people would avoid visiting certain hospitals.

The former PMA president said that the trend had been there for the past 10 to 15 years. He went on to say that certain private-sector hospitals were also following such a trend and were offering community-based services.

**Just an impression **
However, Sindh Health Minister Dr Saghir Ahmed dispelled the impression that Pakhtuns avoided going to the Abbasi Shaheed Hospital for treatment.

“A visit to the hospital would show you that the Pakhtuns are under treatment at the Abbasi Shaheed Hospital,” he said. He added that if statistics from the police surgeon office were examined, they would also dispel this impression. “There may be an impression, but it`s not true in reality,” he insisted.

Re: Ethnic divide hits city hospitals

Yeah I read an article on this before too. AFAIK this isnt the doctors refusing treatment, but intimidation by thugs who say deny the injured treatment.

I think you haven't read the complete report. Read as follows:-

The former PMA president said that the trend had been there for the past 10 to 15 years. He went on to say that certain private-sector hospitals were also following such a trend and were offering community-based services.

very sad indeed.

I guess the MQM should change the names of the hospitals they control, and the ANP should change the names of theirs... That will make it easier for the people.

Situation in Karachi going towards total anarchy - i think it's high time the military steps in, and clear the shyt out from Karachites whatever the hell ethnicity they belong.

So in this fight between "outsiders" mohazirs and pakthun what do native Sindhis think. how are they faring and whats their take on this ongoing fight.
from outside it looks like they are not a party in this clash.

Need to step up law enforcement. Sounds like Karachi is run by thugs.

They are not involved as much, but as Pathans have never killed, tortured, or tried to break up Sindh, I am sure their sympathies lie with the Pathans.

Karachi has been handed over to thugs by this government. I will not qoute ummat, here is from BBC.

Karachi: Pakistan's untold story of violence - BBC News](Karachi: Pakistan's untold story of violence - BBC News)

“The MQM’s ‘new deal’ with the establishment is that its control of Karachi will remain unchallenged by the security establishment,” a political analyst, who wished to remain unnamed, told the BBC.
***"In return, the MQM will support the establishment’s policies in ***
centre."

And in the end MQM, PPP and ANP can always blame Punjabis for all the ills in society and keep their vote banks intact.

It depends on what constitute the estabilishment and who dominate it? If it is dominated by people of Punjab then who else is to blame?

This is one of the weakest govt in history, they are not in a position to take on anyone.

I am sure the next govt of Nawaz Sharif will take action against these killers as they did in Operation Clean Up

Kakay ... why you talk of ethnicity and that is also with wrong taste? Sudhar jao :)

If Mohajirs in Sindh are outsiders than Sindhis in India are outsiders too ... and there are more Sindhis live in India then Muhajirs living in Sindh ... so, there are reciprocal migration from both sides, and that is going on since 1000s of years. Plus, many Muhajirs are actually old Sindhis anyhow who either migrated to India long time ago or pushed by Muslims invasion from West, but later converted to Islam. For instance, Memons all over India-Pakistan are from Sindh, are first group of Sindhis who became Muslim, many migrated east and large number returned to Sindh after partition, now are identified as Muhajirs. Kachchi are also old Sindhis, many settled in Gujarat and Maharashtra, a large number returned to Pakistan after Partition.

If language determines who is Sindhi than no one who speaks present day Sindhi are Sindhi, as present day Sindhi language is not actual language of Sindh, rather it is mixture of actual Sindhi language (most probably language similar to Gujrati) with language of Muslim invaders. If present day Sindhi was actual language of Sindh then it was not using Arabic script flooded with Arabic and Persian words. Obviously, people of Raja Dahir did not use to speak language that was written in Arabic script or was flooded with Arabic and Persian words. 

Anyhow, as far as Pakhtuns or Punjabis in Sindh, they are welcome, but then when you have started talking about outsiders ... what would you call them who have moved to Sindh when no Sindhis ever moved to Pakhtunkhwa or Punjab ... or live there?

As far as I am concerned, all who lives in Sindh and consider Sindh as their home, have complete loyalty towards Sindh, have no attachments with or looks towards any lands (or province) other than Sindh, would like to be born and die in Sindh, would stay in Sindh regardless of Sindh stay part of Pakistan or not ... are all Sindhis, and in that respect Muhajirs are as much Sindhis as any other Sindhi. Actually, all who live in Sindh, including numerous Balcoch tribes who live in Sindh, or Punjabis and Pakhtuns who disassociated themselves from their old place of residence and live in Sindh, are Sindhis.

Saleem: See i didnt want to get in to this Indo_Pak step up competition. I just asked a fair question based on what media reports out of curiosity . You can see i have put the word outsiders in double quotes.
I still want to know the take of Sindhis about the fight over the largest city of Sindh.

PS. BTW do you know what the people who migrated from pakistan to india are called in India?

Kaka bhai, aap apne kaam se kam rakhye na. zyada chinta nahi laini ki bhai.

Shukriya :k:

Well, I do not know why you can’t accept that people in Karachi are Sindhis as much as any Sindhi and they ‘answer your question regarding what they think’ when they vote. If someone feels uneasy with what they vote than it is not fault of Sindhis living in Karachi, or is it?

PS. BTW do you know what the people who migrated from pakistan to india are called in India?
It is unfortunate that many of them living in India still identify themselves as Sindhis and look towards Sindh as their home province. It only shows their mental attachment with Sindh. Seems they have not accepted their new identity completely.

Anyhow: I have a feeling that it seems you have problem why a community in Sindh identify themselves ‘Muhajirs’. It is surprising, as you have no problem with some Sindhis identifying themselves as Punjabis, Balochs, Kashmiris, or Pakhtuns.

How surprising that contrary to your problem, it would have been my problem if ‘Muhajirs’ in Karachi were still trying to identify themselves as Gujratis, Rajhastanis, UP-walas, Biharis, Hyderabadis, etc ... rather ‘Muhajirs’. By not identifying themselves with places they migrated, they became more a part of ‘Sindhi community’ living in Sindh than other way round. By identifying themselves as ‘Muhajir’ they severed the relationship with places they migrated to Sindh and accepted Sindh as their 'only' home. 

Today, anyone who identifies themselves as ‘Muhajir’ is immediately recognised as a community from Sindh-Pakistan ... and that is different from those who migrated to Punjab and other part of Pakistan as they would not identify themselves as ‘Muhajirs’.

Isn’t it ironic that when anyone in the world says that they are ‘Muhajir’ we all know who they are ... a community belonging to Sindhi. On the other hand, people living in Sindh for centuries but identifying themselves as Baloch (Dr. Nabi Bux Khan *Baloch, Aftab Baloch, Rahman Baloch, etc) *cannot be identified as Sindhi unless one know them, even when they are Sindhis.

‘Muhajirs of Sindh’ are different from those who are considered Muhajirs as they do not identify themselves as Muhajirs but identify themselves with places they migrated ... like Afghan Muhajirs in Pakistan would identify themselves not as ‘Muhajir’ but as ‘Afghan or Pakhtuns (if they want to hide their Afghan identity)’]

To give you a hint as example: Prophet (SAW) migrated from Mecca to Madina. He used to identify himself ‘Muhajir’ but what we identify him as? Madeni or Meccan? Now just imagine that if Prophet (SAW) was identifying himself as Meccan than what we would have recognised him as ... Madeni or Mecccan?

Shows that when people who migrate start calling themselves ‘Muhajir’ they drop their attachment from place they migrated and get associated to place they migrated to. Similarly, if a group of communities who migrate to a place and start calling themselves Muhajir same happens, that is, they get associated to place they migrated, and that is what happened in Sindh, a new community by name ‘Muhajir’ is formed who is part of Sindh.

Note: Adopting identity ‘Muhajirs’ as community living in Sindh serves two purposes (that happened intentionally or unintentionally, does not matter).

One: Old identity is forgotten, old attachments are discarded, and a new identity by the name ‘Muhajir’ is taken up by a community to not only become part of Sindh but accept ‘Sindh’ as their ‘only’ home.

Two: This is first community in the world who not only identifies themselves as ‘Muhajir’ but has taken ’Muhajir’ as ‘Name’ of new community living in Sindh. Now, even after 1000s of years their chosen name ‘Muhajir’ would remind of large migration within sub-continent in the name of religion, when a large section of population having different identities (various provincial identities of India) migrated to Sindh and discarded their old identities to adopt a new identity ‘Muhajir’ in Sindh.

So, you got it now? :)

^^ I see you dont have answer to my question. why digress then? let others answer it.

no where in my post i questioned the pakistaniat of any pakistani. IF it was as simple as you said then there wouldnt be "target killings" in karachi on ethnic grounds.

BTw let me answer you what counterparts of mohajirs are called in india. .... nothing. nobody cares where they are from.

The reason i asked the question is because i met a lady from karachi visiting my city. In our conversation She told me that one of the two said "people" works for her and he got all the brains and another one works as her security guard and got the "brawns". She gave me some hint of her feelings about this mess in pakistan, i just wanted to make sure from you guys. but i guess u dont wanna talk about it.
fair enough.

I gave you the answer. You asked what Sindhis think about what is going on in Karachi, and I told you that Sindhis of Karachi (you can call them 'outsiders' or whatever) give their answer, regarding what they think of the situation in Karachi, from what they vote during election. The answer what I gave is true unless you do not accept the reality and consider Sindhis living in Karachi as not Sindhis but outsiders (as you showed that by calling them outsiders). Anyhow, it does not matter if you or anyone does not like to accept them as Sindhis, because they are what they believe. 

no where in my post i questioned the pakistaniat of any pakistani. IF it was as simple as you said then there wouldnt be "target killings" in karachi on ethnic grounds.
Well, did I write anywhere that you questioned the Pakistaniat of any Pakistani? Of course you could not, as there is no such thing as Pakistaniat, or is it? If there would have been such thing as Pakistaniat then there would not be anyone living in Bangla-deshi camps calling themselves Pakistani, or would they?

Fact of Pakistan is that, Sindhis are Pakistani because they are Sindhis and Sindh is in Pakistan, not because they are Pakistanis and Sindh is part of Pakistan. Same can be said about Punjabis, Balochs, Pakhtuns, Sarakis, Hazarvis, Kashmiris, etc.

BTw let me answer you what counterparts of mohajirs are called in india. .... nothing. nobody cares where they are from.
True, nobody cares where they came from, but that is India and in India it does not matter. In India, no one would have written what ‘Sindhis’ think when ‘outsiders’ are fighting in Karachi, would they?

In India, there is no such thing as domicile, jobs divided according to domicile (or ethnicity), or people ‘officially’ getting recognised by provinces they belong to. If Pakistan was India then there would have been no camps of so-called Pakistanis in Bangla-desh, and whole generation lost their life thinking themselves as Pakistanis when they are not (because Pakistaniat does not exist). Situation in India is that, when Uganda thrown out Indians after 100s of years, India accepted them as Indian and took them in. Can’t you understand that?

Can't you understand that need for Muhajirs settled in Sindh to first become Sindhi than Pakistani arose after fiasco of East Pakistan, when they realised that there is no such thing as Pakistani in Pakistan, and that in Pakistan it is cared who a person is and what province that person belongs to. So Muhajirs discarded all their identities and adopted Sindhi identity. It was necessary to mentally accept that reality, as if (Khuda-na-Khuasta) situation like Bangla-desh ever happen in Sindh, Muhajirs would not look towards Pakistan first as Pakistani and take up living in camps, but would go with Sindh all the way as any Sindhi, as their future is tied to Sindh, not Pakistan.

The reason i asked the question is because i met a lady from karachi visiting my city. In our conversation She told me that one of the two said "people" works for her and he got all the brains and another one works as her security guard and got the "brawns". She gave me some hint of her feelings about this mess in pakistan, i just wanted to make sure from you guys. but i guess u dont wanna talk about it.
fair enough.
Well, what you wrote is exception derived from saying of ‘one lady’, something you are trying to apply to whole community; and that is wrong. Anyhow, your question had no relation with what you wrote above, as for you, in your post you showed concept that there are ‘Sindhis (natives)’ and ‘outsiders (Muhajirs and Pakhtuns)’ in Sindh, calling a community that is ‘Sindhi’ in every way as outsider. Read your post again ... here it is:

If you called Pakhtuns outsiders than I would have understood, as when they call themselves Pakhtuns it shows they believe they belong to Pakhtun-khwa, but what about Muhajirs when you called them outsiders, so where you think they belong to, Moon or Mars?

If you look at what has happened in Pakistan over the past 60-70 years is that Pakistan has tribalized along the same lines in Afghanistan where pashtuns, Tajiks, Uzbek and Hazarajat are very separate and distinct.

Mohajirs were never tribal infact most of them were part of Jamat-i-Islami before general Zia. However after interacting with tribal paktoons and tribal balochs, we saw a gradual but deliberate tribalization of the Mohajir society as well. This is no different from the Brahvis in central balochistan who picked up social habits from the invading Balochs and eventually established a powerful Brahvi state of Kalat even if it meant 'balochifying' themselves.

This ethnic divide is already common in Frontier between Hindko speakers and paktoons.

Mohajirs have just assimilated into the tribal society of Paktoons and Balochs by living among them. When Punjabis start tribalizing themselves as Mohajirs have done, then we can welcome the Tribal Republic of Pakistan.