Eternal Sunshine of a Happy Mind - & Lota'ism

The Happy People. Oh, don’t you just love these happy people? Or they can make you completely mad. Whereever they are, is the best place on Earth. Whichever school their kids go, is the best school for kids. Whatever weather they are going through is the best possible weather on this planet. Wah wah wah!

There is no such concept of keeping a balanced approach. Its all green on their side of the pasture. A friend of mine is like that. He lived in a $hithole back in mid-west. A total red-neck town and he would always sing praises about how beautiful the landscape is. How fall is so terrific. It is so peaceful and serene. Blah blah blah. Good for you, dude! Then he moved to a cosmopolitan city, and he is raving about multiculturalism, variety, desi joints and community. If I didn’t knew him better I’d say he is always the happiest person on Earth. I bet if he moves to Serbia, he’d sing praises for the vast glaciers, and how he loves playing with polar bears.

Don’t get me wrong. Hanging out with happy people can generally make you happy as well.

But only if they are not like a complete lota.

So this dude, now that he has moved to a cosmopolitan place, if you ask him about the hicky red-neck town, will tell you how that was the worst place in the world and how glad he is that he is now moved to this great cosmopolitan city. Wonderful. So what was all that raving about the fall, the landscape, the peacefulness? Oh the place was freakin’ dead! Now you tell me!!! :smiley:

A cousin of mine back in Lahore is the same way. Her kids used to go to a regular franchise-based school and she’d rave about the uniform and consistent quality of education. The exposure to all kinds of kids. Etc etc. Her husband got a promotion, the kids move to a highly expensive private school. Now the rave about exclusivity and the highest standard of education. Ask her about the previous school experience, turns out it was a dump.

An uncle I knew used to sing praises for his in-laws. So how is your mother in law? Oh, she is so sweet. And I heard your brother-in-law moved in with you? Oh yeah, he is the sweetest kid, always helpful around the house. Fantastic. He got divorced after a few years. Now the mother-in-law is the most cunning lady on the face of the Earth, and the brother-in-law was the messiest kid in the block, but get this, his new wife and her parents are the best thing that happened to him in his entire life!

After a while, you kinda discount all their opinions by about 95%. Good for you, sir, but don’t bore me with your drivel.

Re: Eternal Sunshine of a Happy Mind - & Lota’ism

u r jealous aren’t you? :rolleyes:

He is trying to make a point and I understand it :teary1:

Re: Eternal Sunshine of a Happy Mind - & Lota'ism

ah the lovely hypocrites around us :-) Don't let them bother you - in one ear and out the other! They usually want everyone to believe that they are above the rest. Maybe they expect you to get jealous.

I am usually a happy person but I don't sing praises of every place and every person around me :-D

Some people appreciate what they have, atleast not "complaining" :D

^ Or they are too optimistic for the rest of the population to think that anything 'wrong' can happen to them or they will suffer anything bad or just happy-go-lucky types and expect the best.

So what, are you saying these people are not genuinely happy and only make themselves look happy for show - is this a critique of happy people, or the "keeping-up-appearances" attitude of Pakistanis?

I think you have it all wrong. I am always happy but I am also always complaining. SO not all happy are always llike whatever I have is the best. btw I have an uncle like that and its sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo annoying. He will come to our house and be like "oh u guys got that, i heard its not hat great or oh its gonna go bad in like a day or to". The next thing you know is, hes got the same sh!t. Even his lil kids are like that! Everything of theirs is awesome but everything else of others is just "okay". And when you have 4 yr olds saying that you know somethings wrong with the household :o

...and yet we still can't change these kinda people then y bother.

some people dont want to be felt sorry for or sympathized with.

i still find them better than those who play boohoo im a victim

Pakistan ki taang khenchna zaroori thaa? :hoonh:

I think some of you got it wrong here. Its not about changing people or stereotyping.

I was reminded of this yesterday, when I met a person who has just moved to a remote northern city in Canada as part of his job and was raving about the place, even when I knew that in winters the temperatures stay around -40'F. Kinda made me smile. Naturally everyone has a right to be happy, and to be frank, these people are much better than constant whiners who usually get on the nerves of most people.

The point, however, is about judgement and reliability of opinions. Keep a balanced approach. How often will you rely on the opinion of a person who raves about a place he is living right now, and once he moves to a new place, tells you that his former adobe was crap (= Happy + Lota).

Like some days ago, a friend of mine was contemplating a new job in Wisconsin. I asked a friend who lives there about the particular city, and he was singing praises about the place. Great, but I'd prefer a more pros and con analysis so that another person can use it to make an intelligent decision. Mindless praise, especially when it is misplaced, renders your opinions worthless.

Aur samajhdaar logouN ke liyay iss mein bari nishaniyaaN hein.

I think catty got it right.
It's the whole thing about keeping up appearances. "Whatever I have is the best cuz I have it. And if I repeat it enough times, I may actually start to believe it."

Note to Captain1: Notice that I haven't mentioned Pakistanis. I believe the concept is universal.

hmmmmm

yep, I also have seen such people, one of my friends is that way, so now his opnions are not as “highly” held as they used to be once. ek kaan se suno aur doosray se nikaal do. They are very much like thaali ke bengan.

Being happy is one thing and trying to prove that one is above the rest iws another, whenever such people discover a new place, prodcut, thing, they think they are the only ones who know the rest of us being complete idiots just because we don't count every time we fart(excuse the language).

Anyway I can spot the type from a mile, but the best strategy is to agree with them on everything or be prepared to get evil looks. I had my fill recently when someone actually tried to boast to me about her using olive oil (thinking that I am from Pakistan and don't know crap).. comon... olive oil of all the things????? imagine. (and oh btw she is always happy).