Especially for participants of "Religion" forum

Re: Especially for participants of "Religion" forum

Faisal, when i raed ur first post, "few words from new moderator", i thought here is the guy, who understands the sensitivities of this forum.

But thereafter i have been disappointed a bit. Even though at many instances i get angry/ frustrated at moulanas, beard is still something that i respect. So do many of the muslims. West may have equated beard with terrorrism/hatred/backwardness but we muslims should not and must not.

This smiley is offensive and shud be removed.

Lajawab, though personally I think you need to smile a little bit more too, but I am not gonna tell you that since I know you know and you are a smart person. AQ, bhai jaan, you too.

i find nothing wrong with the smiley except the association of "maulana" with the most recognized terrorist in the world. replace the face with something else and im fine with it.

incidentally are those who find this smiley offensive offended because the maulana smiley resembles bin laden? curiously enough Lajawab and maybe bao i remember arguing that "Sheikh" Bin Laden should not be condemned?

If laughter is all what is required we can have many other smilies, like a gay waggling his behind or a gori doing a flash.

ok. Thanks.. point noted...
Your point: Smiley is ok
My point: it is not

who will decide? Of course not me :)

There is a maulana who comes on ARY to explain masail from shariat. Pretty knowledgable guy, and when my mother is here she watches that program religiously (seriously). I am sure some of you recognize the person I am talking about. When I first saw this smilie the dude reminded me of this maulana (the other person it reminded me was Osama, of course). Any way, I think the smilie is not offensive since the maulana is just making a speech. I guess if we can tone down the eyes a little bit, this is a very effective smilie. If one of you graphics whiz can help reduce the eyes a bit, we can replace this with the current smilie. Problem solved.

just change the colour/design of the turban faisal bhai... that would kill the whole association with bin laden.

I am not a graphics person sir ji. If one of you can get someone to 'fix' the eyes/turban color/etc, I am sure I can try and convince our technical guru-in-chief Gizzy pai jaan, to update the smilie.

I will speak for myself... I did not like it because of bin-laden or whatever association. But I am out of this debate ...

AQ sahab mai nai kab kaha ke im speaking for you, i have two other posts in this thread, unrelated to you.

faisal im not a graphics person either.

Re: Especially for participants of “Religion” forum

Correction: Suspected terrorist…

As Muslims we don’t hang until proven guilty…

stepping aside from the legalistic jargon and speaking in terms of what would offend/not-offend you, if he isnt "bad" in your eyes then why would you be offended by his talking likeness in a maulana smiley?

Even though I kinda liked this smiley in the beginning. it seemed funny.
But seriously speaking, its not a good idea.
The other existing smileys are not disrespectful but this smiley is.

My vote is "against it"

well i agree with AQ on this one…this is just a smiley right now…but watch people WILL abuse it :rolleyes:

alrite so basically.. the point of addin dat smily on gs to make phun of maulanas.. i mean dats totally wrong.. im against that idea.. Ab Mualana ko bhi Mazak bana diya.. Jis Kay peechay Namaz Parho or pHir Ushi kay Peechay Us ka Mazak uraaoo.... u guys r smart enuff to understand... jz cuz of some haters who created dat smily, u guys would go n name it as Maulana.. Shame on u ppl...

I didn't like this smiley at first sight because first of all it resembles ossama and secondly its making fun of maulanaas.
I know if we are not maulanaas or people don't want to be but they should at least give some respect to maulaans by not posting smilies especially when sensitive issues are disscussed in the religion forum.

So any graphic of a maulana with a white turban and black beard is supposed to represent bin Laden? I mean bin laden has a gray beard now and wrinkled up like a prune.

It appears as if Muslims are the ones who are associating that terrorist with Islam. You don't need help from Bush.

Great :slight_smile:

its just a smilie for God’s sake :smack:

are you kidding me, i guess if they (GS) is allowing thinking like this on its forums then this smiley is the least of GS's problems.