Escaping the Rat Race

A " rat race " is a term used for an endless, self-defeating or pointless pursuit.

***The increased image of work as a “rat race” in modern times has led many to question their own attitudes to work and seek a better alternative – A more harmonious Work-Life balance. ***

Many believe that long work hours, unpaid overtime, stressful jobs, time spent commuting, less time for family life and/or friends life, has led to a generally unhappier workforce/population unable to enjoy the benefits of increased economic prosperity and a higher standard of living.

So my question is how does one ESCAPE THE RAT RACE ?

What are the "ALTERNATIVES " ?

***For those who are still part of it and I suppose most still are what keeps you going ? ***

How do you keep yourself from being burnt out ?

Step 1. Don't become a doctor, faaaar too much stress in that profession.

Re: Escaping the Rat Race

Buy lotto tickets. When you hit it big, go out to the wilds of Wyoming and buy a big ranch. Produce your own food, hire teachers to come in for the kids, host "rancher getaway" packages.

A dollar and a dream........

its easy

stop wanting more and more

Those who have millions worry more than those who have hundreds !

Those who run before money are foolish , just foolish , get naked on airports , dogs sniffing , cell phone history being checked , trousers being taken off , shoes being thrown off but thier hawis never dies

lanat on such money

i second that.. :sheyn1:

Ok we already know what NOT to do ?

what’s the ALTERNATIVE ? :emmy:

P.S Firenze …Did I tell you the story of the "commander’s son " ? :hmmm:

hmmmm
how do you know if the pursue is point less??
I am not big fan of planned life. hmmm Some time you got to do what you got to do.

hmm running after money is not good.

..well hmm.. few points ..

1. one must understand that all life decisions have financial consequences.

2. Don’t be afraid to be different.

3. Don’t let the fact that you don’t earn a big income stop you from pursuing the goal.

ps. sunao.. :sheyn1:

:sheyn1:

its so hard to talk wheh we both are on swings.

^^dono hi hilay huay ho…kya farq partha hai swing or no swing :hehe:

hum mil kar Jhula toorney ki trying :snooty:

:sheyn1:

i think the best option is ke bandah kesi gunjaan jaga par ek johnpari daal key rehnay lagay ......

:@:

Give away everything you own....Keep what you can carry on your shoulders and go to the desert for a few solitude years.

Okay you can also go to the top of a hill or a valley, or a friends farm house.

simple..do something you are passionate about.

if you are not passionate about ,what you are doing, then find something else..

u will even get stressed and burnt out doing the things you have a passion for..not just work, but family, kids..and for that a couple days break from whatever is burning you out helps.

Move to a country where the work hours are short and lifestyle is more laid back.

BH uss jagay mein loadshedding tho nahi hogi na :@:

Tell me a country like that and i'm ready to move !

Now those are the some valid points.

Money is something one has to worry about , cost of daily living !

However I guess if one realizes what would make one happy and what one can live without then one can probably escape the rat race :hmmm:

For how long ?

Loneliness is the ultimate form of punishment , humans are made to crave interaction otherwise solitary confinement would not be used as a form of punishment !

Yes one can probably give up “worldliness” but one cannot give up living !

Well I have in essence tried doing exactly that .

However like Firenze said these decisons have financial consequences so after a while you have to re-enter the same ol’ grind which is what I wish to avoid.

I guess the answer lies in knowing what is enough for you and which lifestyle is acceptable to you .

I have had this conversation many times with myself…:konfused:
and at the end it’s all about personal desires and yes some about individual circumstances