Erp --- Sap

Umar good points

I was at Bearing Point, and majority of ERP consultants had domain expertise in a functional area or an industry, the package part weas secondary. we did have techies who knew software inside out and were not SMEs in terms of either an industry or a functional/process area, but they tended to be computer sci type guys rather than MBA types.

Yes, the uni is a member of the SAP unversity alliance, but I didnt know of the actual benefits of being able to do SAP certifications for less…

http://www.sap.com/australia/education/uni/unis.asp

khair, heres the link… the second one is the link to the actual course with brief details about each course at the end… and I kinda agree with BoSS, cos quite frankly, at least when it comes to Pakistan, every maaja gaama is an MBA, and this gives me something unique that not many people in Pakistan at least wont have… and the course being a master of business, still involves enough business concepts and subjects to be familiar or aware of different business processes. I am pretty hopeful that even in Australia, where majority of jobs these days are SAP/ERP related, I should get at least some edge over others when they are looking for a new graduate or someone with basic SAP exposure.

http://www.businessandlaw.vu.edu.au/sap/Default.htm

http://www.businessandlaw.vu.edu.au/sap/postgrad.html

just quickly browsed the offerings...

seems to me that the "Master of Business" is a disguising title for that program - its much too technical to be considered a Business Program - I'd much rather call it Master of Information Systems in ERP.

Why not go for the "MBA Specialisation in ERP"? That seems like a much better option... but from the sound of it, you seem to have pretty much made up your mind.

Good Luck with whatever you decide to do.

kakay every mamma gamma may be an MBA, but not every Mamma gamma will have an equivalent degree..its not just the degree but where u got it from, and what u know.

there are plenty of techies in Pakistan too. e.g. the whole Oracle crew.

the point is that dont corner yourself with too specific a program, because if that is your major selling proposition u may paint yourself in a corner. I would reiterate that you should probably do a balance between functional areas and the erp stuff. as Umar pointed out.

either way u are going to be better off than you are right now.

thanx for ur replies...

umer talib, I agree with u on that one, but the problem is,,, its not a very "prestigious" uni... sort of mediocre... and I was planning to get my MBA later on in my career inshallah... cos I dont know,... like fraudia said, I think it does matter where youve done your MBA from.

MBA from the top uni in melbourne costs around 50k p.a. and thats not my game yet, and they say you should do your masters after getting some experience under your belt,, to give you that edge over collegues for managerial posts... but i,ve been guys get pretty good job with an MBa without any experience too.. so its a matter of luck and being ta the right place at the right time as well.

oh well,,, today is the alst date to apply, and I have done that... lets see how I go. I can always bail out after doing 4-6 subjects with a grad diploma, if I dont like it.

Thanks for advice guys.

and fraudz... its maaja gaama.

^^ aiwaiee lambi chori adviceyN maangi theeN phir... karna tow wohi jo decide kiya hua thaa... chalo - Good Luck in any case!

haha, ur right, I had pretty much made up my mind... but wanted to get other opinions.... wanted to see if its alright to do it, or would it be a HUGE mistake... from general response,, i guess its not that big of a mistake, with a reasonable chance of a decent career in the future,, so i,m happy... thanx again.

Kaka,

SAP was thrown out of my company for being too expensive after spending about 10 million. If you are gung-ho on doing a masters, have you considered a a MS in SCM? Lot more scope and you won't be married to SAP or Peoplesoft.

Good luck.

i work with SAP but have never heard of a masters in it. IT's a great technology solution to get into however. consider mastering in Auditing or computer science.

aren't IT governance and security the hot things for teh future.

hmmmm ............. kaka ji so you are here han .... hmmm

well you are gonna do it any way are n't you. if you want to do it for a job then do the certifications .... and if you are interestedd in " pursing futher studies " then go for Gynecology ... ops did I say that I meant
Psychology . how about performing arts actually do bachelors in it and you will get ausstudy as well :D .

honestly this ERP from VUT will not get you any where trust me do n't loop around these ideas man that radiology freak show was better than this atleast will get you the job at austin :D lol

if you really wanna do something do certification I will chip in some money as well.

what happend to counter strike do not leave that in the middle. we are meeting on monday .

Look into IS Auditing, it'll always be needed and will never get outsourced.

Re: Erp --- Sap

haha.. how fast time flies!

anyways, just an update...

Currently working as an SAP BW Consultant.

Decided to go ahead with the masters. Maintained an 80+ average, and just before my final semester, got offered a job at a nice consultancy specializing mainly in supply chain consulting. They are SAP partners as well and specialize in APO (Andvanced Planning and Optimization) with a few sub modules (DP, SNP, PP/DS etc.). Have been working for a year, and have already learnt so much being a part of a couple of different supply chain and logistics projects. Having some SAP exposure at uni helped a lot...

I guess I was lucky to be there at the right time. Took Business Intelligence course with the masters, got a decent exposure to the BW system... the company was already looking to step into the BW area as BW module comes as a part of the overall APO package but they had never implemented it for their APO clients before. Got some SAP training from the company as well, and after configuring the internal company's BW system and presenting it to the directors, I got them to have enough confidence in me to give me a gig.

So there it is,,, on to my second BW project and going well. Doing my masters part time but its getting harder and harder with the amount of travel involved.