(I dont know if this is the right forum…mods can move it if its not.)
Does anyone know if there are environmental groups in Pakistan?
If there is then, what are they doing?
(I dont know if this is the right forum…mods can move it if its not.)
Does anyone know if there are environmental groups in Pakistan?
If there is then, what are they doing?
hmmm...i wanna know that too mm ji...
hope someone knows..
i am certain there must be more than these, hopefully someone with more info will post in this thread shortly:
South Asia Cooperative Environment Programme (SACEP) [Based in Sri Lanka, has regional members including Pakistan, India, BD, etc.]
South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation [has some projects related to agricultural development)
http://www.saarc-sec.org
UN Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific http://www.unescap.org (This is an example of one report that they published regarding NWFP)
Pakistan Environmental Protection Council
Dunno how much info you can get out of the following two websites, but they seem to contain quite a few contact e-mails/numbers and names of “environmental journalists” from the Dawn, etc. - i’m sure if you dropped an e-mail to a few of them, they would have a more comprehensive list of environmental orgs. based in Pakistan:
thanks Nadia :)
No problem, glad to be of a little help.
Nadia still in shock that Irem and Niqabi are the same person
Waisay Irem i did read your thread in Cafe but, just wondering - you're not going to leave GS suddenly again, are you? :( Your posts were definitely missed. It's great to see you posting again.
Thanks Nadia.. i havent checked the sites out yet, but will soon do it.
i was also looking for the deforestation methods(in pakistan), and the results after,,
if its not much to ask, would you know where to get that sort of info..
irem, :)... good to know someone else is interested too...
seriously u dint know?
i thought the whole world knew ![]()
yaar i’m going back to pakistan this month, u might have seen my thread in C&A ![]()
i’m not sure what my faarigh time and internet access is gonna be like at home
so my coming to the internet might be a bit irregular, but i’ll definitely keep dropping by…aur meri yaad ayay to PM kar lena aap mujhay bohot khushi ho gi ![]()
:~) i’m considering volunteering in one of these yara…
Who is it that’s handling the oil spill near Karachi??
Those are probably different kinds of groups though, huh ![]()
Irem :hug: Thanks yaar:) No, i did read that thread of yours in C&A, but for some reason it still didn’t click in my mind. sigh You were definitely missed. i’ll drop you a PM with my e-mail address; once you are in Pakistan, do please still try to drop by. You were missed. “Niqabi” had some interesting, informative posts too though:D i hope you still drop by once you are in Pakistan.
Mystical Miss, i ‘googled’ and here are some links that came up - the ones marked with an asterisk are only journal abstracts (or electronic references like the World Directory of Country Environmental Studies, that are published in disks); if you have access to your uni’s library, you can try to find out whether they have a subscription to these types of refs.:
http://www.pakissan.com/2002/english/news/november/pakistan.shtml
http://www.padrigu.gu.se/EDCNews/Cases/PakistanDeforestation.html [a few orgs’. names mentioned here, that are involved in env’l. projects in Pakistan, are the WWF, Aga Khan Foundation, and the Mountain Areas Conservancy Project]
http://www.irinnews.org/report.asp?ReportID=29916
Oh no! The page you are looking for has gone extinct... | WWF [WWF]
http://www.nepalnews.com.np/contents/englishdaily/trn/2003/feb/feb15/features1.htm
http://www.dawn.com/2001/04/18/nat27.htm
http://www.pakistaneconomist.com/issue2001/issue24/i&e3.htm
http://www.iucn.org/places/pakistan/ee.htm
Irem and MM, if you two are interested (Irem i know you’re interested in volunteering somewhere in Pakistan) - there’s an NGO mailing list run by Pakistan’s Sustainable Development Networking Programme; the mailing list just sends a few e-mails each day re: diverse social issues. Their archives would have a few articles re: deforestation. The mailing list is sponsored by the NGO Resource Centre, a project of the Aga Khan Foundation. i’ve found it interesting, keeps you kindof uptodate on social issues/articles. Best part is, there’s no useless chatter - it’s strictly business like, no useless arguments/debates that needlessly take up space in your e-mail account. :o If you want to subscribe to it, or, just browse their archives (not necessary to give any info for archival browsing), check out this page: http://lists.isb.sdnpk.org/mailman/listinfo/ngo-list
Good query, Spoon. i have no idea… i thought it was WWF, but according to their website they’re only acting in an “advisory” role in this situation. Page Not Found | WWF
i think India offered some help with equipments, and Singapore has already sent some chemical dispersants. The Karachi Port Trust was managing some of the cleanup operations. BBC NEWS | South Asia | Pakistan tackles huge oil spill
thanks Nadia amazingly helpful info :)
i'd like to get on the list u mentioned...i'ma PM u sometime maybe abt all this :D plus u also worked w/ UNO in pak na? wanted to ask u what ur experience was like...i am contemplating working with UNO in pak...
Thanks heaps Nadia, thats great help
…
i had no idea about all NGO’s n all,
i’ll join the mailing list…
irem :k: good on u for thinking of volunteering.
Sorry for the late reply. Irem, what sort of fields are you more interested in w/ regards to volunteering? Refugees? Children? Women? Or environmental issues?
wanted to ask u what ur experience was like....
i'm sorry, mind if i ask, have you ever volunteered w/ a Pak-based NGO previously?
i used to be very gung-ho about it before i left, but after i returned - i realized it's not something i can recommend to everyone. More than physically strong, you have to be mentally "prepared" for it. i'm sure you are, you sound like you really have your heart in it and that certainly is a key requirement. It just affects different people in different ways, if you know what i mean, and aspects from it will affect you long after you have left the NGO/country, on a permanent basis. Anyways, i'll PM you details if you are interested.
MM, No problemo, i really hope that helped.
Nadia - yaar, women and children’s issues…child education, and specially female child education…
women’s health…
that kind of stuff…
i’ve not really properly volunteered in a pak based NGO before…not really… just done some random stuff…
do PM me if u can yaar, whenever u get the time, no hurry, i will really appreciate it and it will help me a lot
thanks so much ![]()
what did u mean by have to be ‘mentally prepared’…? like it is too traumatic…too much sufferring? or is it something else u were talking about?
thanks for ur comments n help yaar ![]()
MM ![]()