Re: Recipes from Aaj Kiya Pakaya/Khaya
Potato Bhujia by Lusi
Take a pot, add potatoes cut into cubes ( i had 7 medium potatoes). Add almost 2 glasses of water, 1/4 cup fried onion (the one you get from desi grocery store, if you don't have it, you can use fresh onion, slice it and throw it in the pot) ginger garlic paste, salt, corriander powder, haldi--little more then 1/4tsp but less then 1/2, dash of kalonji--- the black colored seeds, dash of sabut dhaniya seeds---crush them in your palms, almost 1 tbsp, dried kasoori meethi---crush it in your palms, salt, 1/4 tsp red crushed pepper, and little shan achar ghoast masala. (Since I didn't have the shan aloo bhujiya masala therefore I just added whatever masalas I had at home. If you have the shan masala, feel free to use that.)
Once you have added everything, let it cook on medium heat for like 20-25 mins, then reduce the heat to medium low. Keep stirring. When potaoes are tender use your cooking spoon to kind of break them while stirring. Let them cook on medium low heat for 10 mins or so..(it also depends how much water you have, if it too runny then you might have to cook longer, the best thing to do is keep the water content low and while cooking if you feel it needs more water, you can add more). Sprinkle chaat masala and leave on dum for 5 mins or so. Enjoy with puris.
Note: if you use shaan masala, don't follow the step where they tell you to add a bucket of water in 5 potatoes and let them cook for 10 hrs...
Palak Gosht by Plusha
i make palah gosht by adding everything at once n cooking it at low heat...take a pot add oil+ 3 sliced onions+ ginger garlik paste+ meat+ dhaniya powder+ haldi+ red chilli powder+ kashmiri mirch powder+salt(be careful while adding salt cuz palak has its own salt content) + 2 tomatoes+ 4 bunches of palak...let it cook on slow heat till meat gets tender...now add 1 bunch soya and 1 bunch methi...now bhoonify it till oil gets seperated...add in green chillies and fresh coriander!
Tahiri by Plusha
fry about 3 sliced onions till slightly light brown...add in ginger garlik paste+ crushed red chillies + red chilli powder+ 3 chopped tomatoes +salt+ haldi + 4 to 5 cloves+ 8 to 10 whole back pepper+ 1 stik of cinnamon+ zeera...bhoonify it...now add it potatoes and lil bit of water n cook till alu gets tender...now bhoonify till there iz no extra water left....add in green chillies and fresh coriander + hlf tsp garam masala + now add 2 and half cup soaked rice...and add water till the water level recahes 1 inch above the rice...now let it simmer on high heat till very tiny amount of water iz left...now put it on dum for about 10 to 15 minutes!
** Mughlai mutton malai haandi by Plusha**
Just add in sliced onion in oil + red chilli flakes + ginger garlik paste+ salt + haldi +kashmiri red chilli powder + meat+ water....now just let it cook on slow heat...when the meat iz soft start bhooning it...add it 1 cup yogurt n 1 tbsp coriander pwder + 1 tsp garam masala....in the end add desired amount of cream....garnish with fresh coriander and green chillies!
Recipe For Chinese pakouray by Shumaisa
Ingredients:
- Plain flour
- Gram flour (Baisan)
- Baking powder
- Salt, Chinese salt, black Pepper
- Crushed red chilli
- Chopped onion
- Chopped cabbage
- Chopped spring onion
- 2 tbsp yogurt
- Boiled egg
Method:
First mix all dry ingredients (P.flour, g.flour, B.powder, salt, C.salt, B.pepper, crushed red Chilli) then add all vegetables, mix well with water. Now add yogurt & sliced egg. Mix again. Deep fry in hot oil.
Mughlai mutton malai handi by Plusha
just add in sliced onion in oil + red chilli flakes + ginger garlik paste+ salt + haldi +kashmiri red chilli powder + meat+ water....now just let it cook on slow heat...when the meat iz soft start bhooning it...add it 1 cup yogurt n 1 tbsp coriander pwder + 1 tsp garam masala....in the end add desired amount of cream....garnish with fresh coriander and green chillies!
Recipe for Chicken Patties by Shumaisa
Ingredients:
- Cooked Chicken * Boil the chicken with water. Add salt, Black pepper, Red chilli powder, ginger garlic paste, white vinegar, & yogurt. When boiled, take out the chicken & shred to small pieces..
- Boiled Potatoes (cut into small cubes..)
- Boiled egg (cut into small cubes..)
- Chopped Onions
- Chopped Spring onions
- green chilli paste
- Red Chilli Powder
- Cumin Powder
- Black Pepper Powder
- Salt
- Coriander seeds
- Lime juice
Method:
In a pan heat oil, add chopped onions and cook till light brown, about 8-10 minutes. Add cooked chicekn and fry for 3-4 mins. Then add Chopped Spring onions, salt, Black pepper, Coriander seeds, Cumin Powder, Red chilli powder, green chilli paste and Lime juice.. Fry a bit. Now add Boiled eggs & Potatoes. Mix well together. Remove from the heat.
Place 2 tbsp filling in center. Fold bottom point up over filling. Fold in right and left points. Brush beaten egg on the top point & fold it up.
Grilled Chicken by Sofia_86
Ingredients
• 1 pound chicken breast, boneless, cut in medium sized cubes
• 2 large tomatoes, cut in halves
• 2 cubanelle pepper
• Marinade:
• 1/2 cup plain yogurt
• 1/2 teaspoon cumin
• 1 teaspoon red pepper, powder
• 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
• 1 garlic clove smashed with salt
• 1 teaspoon pomegranate paste
• 2 tablespoons olive oil
Directions
1. Marinate the chicken overnight in the fridge in a container with a lid.
2. Bring the chicken to room temperature one hour before grilling. Divide up the chicken cubes and place on four skewers.
3. Preheat the barbecue or oven).
4. Place skewers on rack along with peppers, tomato halves inside up.
5. Keep the marinade aside.
6. Grill the chicken for about 8 minutes.
7. Make sure to turn the skewers so that all sides are cooked equally. Every time you turn the chicken brush with marinade.
8. Serve on rice pilaf with lemon wedges, roasted tomatoes and peppers with skin removed.
Chicken Salan by Plusha
just slice 2 medium size onion...fry till golden brown...add it chiken with ginger garlik paste...fry it a bit...now add in red chillies+haldi+salt+coriander powder...add in chopped tomatoes....now let it cook...then bhoonify it by adding half cup yoghurt....when oil comes to the surface...add desired amount of water...sprinkle green chillies and fresh coriander!
Stromboli by Ira
1 1/4 c warm water
1 tsp sugar
2 tsp salt
2 tbsp oil
3 c flour (i used Pillsbury bread flour)
1 tsp yeast
Garlic powder, italian seasoning etc (optional)
Mix everything like you normally would for pizza and let rise for a few hours in a warm place.
For the filling: traditionally, stromboli has a filling of salami, provolone and mozzarella. Since we dont have halal salami here, i used mushroom, green olives, jalapenos (everything chopped) and chicken strips that were seasoned and cooked in a bit of oil.
When ready to assemble, i divided the dough in four part and saved 2 of them for later use. Roll out the dough to an oval shape of about 1/8 inch thickness. Now on one of the longer sides, spread some pizza sauce, not a lot though but make sure to keep a border of atleast 1 inch around empty. Now pile on the filling ingredients and top with cheese (i used both mozarella and a bit of strong cheddar). Now from the long side with the filling, start rolling into a log form. Make sure you seal the edges and no filling is peeking out.
Make small slashes on the top in either straight or horizontal lines to let the steam escape. Make sure not you dont cut a lot since the filling can seep out. Brush teh top with some butter and a beaten egg. I only used egg white and mine didnt brown nicely the way i wanted it to. Sprinkle and pat some sesame seeds, poppy seeds and/or some italian seasoning, whatever is availible. Bake at 420 degree preheated oven for about 10-15 mins. Keep watching till the top is nicely browned.
Both of us found the two logs to be a lot for us so we just cut one of them in half and ate as sandwiches. Serve with marinara or ranch dressing on the side if desired.
Tavuk Sis by Sofia_86
Ingredients
• 1 pound chicken breast, boneless, cut in medium sized cubes
• 2 large tomatoes, cut in halves
• 2 cubanelle pepper
• Marinade:
• 1/2 cup plain yogurt
• 1/2 teaspoon cumin
• 1 teaspoon red pepper, powder
• 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
• 1 garlic clove smashed with salt
• 1 teaspoon pomegranate paste
• 2 tablespoons olive oil
Directions
1. Marinate the chicken overnight in the fridge in a container with a lid.
2. Bring the chicken to room temperature one hour before grilling. Divide up the chicken cubes and place on four skewers.
3. Preheat the barbecue or oven).
4. Place skewers on rack along with peppers, tomato halves inside up.
5. Keep the marinade aside.
6. Grill the chicken for about 8 minutes.
7. Make sure to turn the skewers so that all sides are cooked equally. Every time you turn the chicken brush with marinade.
8. Serve on rice pilaf with lemon wedges, roasted tomatoes and peppers with skin removed.
Chicken Biryani by Sofia_86
Ingredients
Chicken - 600 gms (big pieces)
2 Onions - cut into thin slices and deep-fried till crisp
2 Potatoes- cut into long thin fingers and deep fried into potatoes fingers.
Basmati Rice - 300 gms
Tomatoes - 3-4 nos medium (grated)
Onions - 3-4 big ones (grated)
Coriander - 1/2 bunch chopped finely
Pudina leaves - 1 cup chopped finely
Thick curd (little sour) - 1 cup
Juice of one Lime
Jeera powder - 2 tbsp
Dhania powder - 2 tbsp
Garam Masala - 2 tbsp
Hing - 1 tbsp
Haldi - 1 tbsp
Black Pepper powder - 2 tbsp
Red Chilli powder - 4 tbsp (or as per taste)
4 tbsp -Ginger Garlic paste
2-3 Green Chillies - chopped finely
Saffron - few strands (mixed in Salt - as per taste
3-4 tbsp Everest Biryani Masala
Whole Garam Masala
4 - Lavang
2 sticks - Dalchini
2-3 - Green Elaichi
Javitri
2 - Black Elaichi
Tej Patta - 3-4 leaves
Method:
1. Marinate chicken pieces in lemon juice, curd, salt, Coriander leaves of the bunch, Pudina leaves - 1/4 cup, Jeera powder, Dhania powder, Garam masala, Hing , Haldi, Black pepper powder, Red chili powder, 2 tbsp ginger garlic paste, green chilies chopped finely for at least for 2-3 hrs.
2. Heat 4-5 tbsp oil in kadahi and add chicken pieces. Fry on high flame till water evaporates and chicken becomes dry and well fried. Remove only the pieces in a plate.
3. Now in the same kadahi add remaining 2 tbsp ginger garlic paste, then add grated onions. When onions change color add grated tomatoes. Fry till oil separates. Add 3-4 tsps Everest Biryani masala. Fry for a few seconds and add chicken pieces fried earlier. Add little water. Cook for few minutes.
4. In another kadahi, Heat ghee. Add whole garam masala, fry basmati rice for 5 minutes till it changes colour and add water and a few drops of lime juice. Cook rice till each grain separates. Remove and spread in a plate and let it cool.
5. Heat ghee in a vessel (in which all the rice and chicken can fit) add half the chicken piece along with gravy. Add few tsp curd, few chopped coriander, few pudina leaves chopped, potato fingers, fried onions, little ghee.
6. Now add half the rice repeat this and let rice be the top most layer. Add f ew tsp ghee on the top most rice layer, fried onions and potato. Cover tightly and cook on indirect flame (place heated tava on the gas and then keep the vessel) for 8-10 min.
7. Uncover and serve with chopped onion, lemon wedges, thick curd. Enjoy.
Chicken pasta by Lusi
Boil any kind of pata you like ( The sauce I made was for close to 3 cups of pasta)
For sauce: In a pot heat some oil, add ginger garlic paste and cook it for couple mins, then sprinkle little bit of all purpose flour (like almost 1 tsp) andcook it for couple mins. Add almost 2 tbsp of tomatoe puree, cook it for few seconds then add cream or milk like b/w 1/4 to 1/2 cup. Add salt to taste, chinese chilli sauce to taste, cook the whole thing for few mins and add thinly sliced tomatoes. Let them cook for couple mins. then add your pasta and incorporate the sauce in the pasta. In Skillet ad sliced onions, sliced bell pepper, and some corn. Season it with little salt and pepper and stor fry it for few mins. Then add that to the pasta. Now in the same skillet stir fry sliced cabbage for like few mins, you want to leave it sort of crunchy so couple mins in a hot skillet will be fine. Once done add that to the pasta aswell. Incorporate all the vegetables in the pasta. If you like you can add shreaded chicken or thinly sliced chicken strips or shrimps.
Chinese drumsticks by Plusha
marinate drum sticks with lots of crushed garlik +salt+blak pepper+ soy sauce+ vinegar +red chilli flakes
now wen frying roll it in plain flour den beaten egg den in bread crumbs ...again in egg...lastly in crushed corn flakes...this will form a crispy layer on the drum stick...deep fry it!
Chocolate chip cookies by dildirani
Ingredients (to make 10/12 medium sized cookies)
75g butter (I used half butter and half vegetable oil- I find oil is good in ensuring the outside is slightly crisper than the inside)
75g caster sugar
few drops of vanilla extract
I egg
175g self raising flour
A few tablespoons of grated orange zest
dessicated coconut (I added a few tbsps to the choc chip cookie mixture. It gives a nice texture. This is optional)
Choc chips/chunks (a good alternative is glace cherries and white choc cookies )
2 heaped tbsps of cocoa powder-for the double choc chip cookies.
*Preheat oven to 180 degrees C
*Beat together butter/oil, sugar and vanilla extract. After this beat in the egg until light and fluffy.
*Fold in flour, zest and choc chips/cocoa/cherries etc- whatever you decide will be the flavour
*You can use foil or a baking tray,and onto it use one heaped tbsp mixture per cookie. Well guess that depends on how big or small you want them to be.
*Transfer to the oven and they should be done in around 10mins. The outside should have a crisp crust and the inside should be soft and crumbly.
KFC Chicken by Adrasteia
Soak the chicken in vinegar for half an hour
In the flour, add salt, laal mirch powder, kali mirch powder
Coat the chicken in the flour, dip in egg, coat it in breadcrumbs and then fry it.
Fry the jalebis and add them to sugar syrup,just for a few secs...then remove and let it cool...
Bhuna gosht by Married NY
beaf boti...3lb
green chilli ,,,,5-6
oil.......4-5 tablespoon
tamatar...2 medium finely chopped
yougurt.....1/2 cup
pisaa huwa dhania...1/2 t sp,,,salt...1/2 tsp
garam masala pisa huwa,,,1/2 tsp...lemon juice...1/.2 tbs
onion........2......medium.......red chilli powder...1 tsp
water...1/2 cup
recipe....
lightly brown onion in oil, add meat with all masala,tamato.and dahi.. bhunify for almost.5-6 min,,add water,, cover and cook until meat is fully cooked...
meat soft ho jaye tou 3-4 minkai lyee aur bhoonlayin,,now add green chilli and hara dhania..serve with naan,,,,enjoy
Karhayi chicken by MARRIEDNY
one chicken (small pieces)
red chilli powder...1tbs
salt...................1tsp
red chilli flakes....1/2 tsp
lemon juice.....1/2 tsp
garam masala powder.......1tsp
oil.......................1/4 cup
green chilli...............6-7
tamatarrrrrrr.........5-6
Recipe
,,,saray masalay chicken mai mix ker layin except green chili,hara dhania and tomato....add 1/2 ts oil alsolet it sit there for 1/2 hr..
heat oil....add chicken fry for 5-6 min jub color thora change ho tou add 2 finely chooped tomato and 2-3 gren chili,,
itna cook karyain kai chicken cook ho jaye fully...dont add water us ka khud ka pani hota hai aur tomato ka bhee ,,abb heat high ker kai add finely chopped tomato and green chili,,just bhunify for 3-4 min..add some hara dhania,,
very simple..enjoy aur haan batana kaisee banee..
tip...always use..red pakay huway tomato.dont use kachay or yellow tomato...
Sindhi Biryani (from khanapakana.com I altered it a little) by Corrupt Angel
Mutton 1 kg
Basmati rice 1 kg
Yogurt 1 cup
Red chili powder 1 tbsp
Coriander powder 2 tbsp
Garlic and ginger paste 1 tbsp
Mixed spices 1 tbsp
Salt to taste
Dried apricots 1/4 kg (soak in hot water) I used 3/4 cup dried plums/aloo bukhare instead
Mint leaves 1 bunch (chop)
Green chilies 6
Juice of lemons 3-4 tbs
Onions 3 (medium size, chopped)
Tomatoes 4
Yellow food color 1/4 tsp soaked in 1/2 cup milk
Cooking oil 1 1/2 cups
For rice
Bay leaf 1, a few whole black peppers, 2-3 pcs javetri, 1 cinnamon stick, 1 tsp shah zeera
In a pan heat oil and brown onions; when they turn golden brown add meat, all the spices and yogurt. Cook till water evaporates and the meat it is tender(I used pressure cooker instead, it took around 25 mins). In a separate pan heat a little oil and cook chopped tomatoes, add some green chillies, mint leaves and red chili powder and haldi and cook til tomatoes are soft.
Now in a big pan add 12 cups of water with salt, 3 green chilies, whole spices listed above and mint leaves. When water boils, add rice, parboil and strain. Take an aluminum dish and layer all the meat and then top with tomato gravy, then layer all the rice at thr end. Now add orange/yellow food color and squeeze some lemon juice on top. Cover the aluminum dish and put it in oven for 20-25 mins at 500F.
Tandoori Chicken (boneless) by Corrupt Angel
1/2 kg boneless chicken breast cut into 1 inch pcs
1 tbs tandoori spice
1/2 tsp red chili powder
1/2 green chillies crushed
1 tsp ginger/garlic paste
salt
1 cup yogurt
1/2 garam masala
lemon juice
Method:
Mix all ingredients and marinate for at least 35-40 mins. I prefer to grill them in a pan or 'tawa'. Oven tends to dry out all the juices and flavors IMO.
Sweet and sour chicken with fried rice by Snik
sweet and sour
FOR THE SAUCE.
chicken stock.
tomato ketchup.
sugar 1 1/2 tsp
salt,
pepper
vinegar
ajino motto 1/2 tsp
soy sauce
just make the stock, starin it. add ketchup about 1/2 cup.
add rest of the spices.
let it cook
i never measure anything just keep adding things according to my taste and what i thought was still missing. first i thought it needed more ketchup for color and taste i added more sauce.
then i thought it needed more khatapun i added vinegar.
let it cook. add cornflour to it. it depends what type of consistency you want.
.if you still cant see a good red color , add the red chilli powder which we use to give that reddish color to our desi food.
food color is a good option also but i used the red chilli pwd.
FOR THE CHICKEN POKORAS
chicken boneless cut in cubes.
marinate the chicken in soy sauce. 1-2 tbsp.
vinegar 1 tbsp salt,pepper to taste
chines salt or ajinomotto 1/2 tsp
red chilli flakes 1 tsp
1 egg
1 cup of cornflour so that it covers the cubes.
don't add water egg is enough.
after marinating it for few hours fry them till golden brown.
when you fry them, heat your gravy before hand. close the flame and put the pokoras directly into it. add green chilli and green onion in and green onion for garnishing.