Enough of Cheap Darzi!

Hello =D This is my first time starting a new topic, not looking for any trouble, just wanted to point something out =3 please show some love when replying =D

So…it’s 2011.

Cheap Darzi is prolly the most used/abused post on GS Forums =P Googlers and Desi’s all over the internetz (sic) reach the Cheap Darzi topic whenever they feel like blighting their own tailor or feel desperate soon as some event begins to loom closer =P

But Cheap Darzi was 2009!!! Can I get a shout out for INTELLIGENT tailors who work in Lahore who can cut a sharp pattern, drape a woman’s body, recognize a silhouette and deliver on time??? I don’t care if I’m describing a mythical creature, but let’s talk about it!!!

Listen. We all have the net. We whip information out of it about brands and fashion and trends from ALL OVER THE WORLD…and we KNOW what we would want to have in our closets!

We all work very hard for the money we earn…or we respect the money that we receive to spend on ourselves…no one wants to feel like they’ve been ripped off =( I can’t imagine paying Rs 15,000 - Rs 35,000 to simply get an evening dress stitched =(

I wear mostly western ‘style’ clothing keeping modesty in mind: full sleeves, loose tunics, sometimes very form fitting patterns but with chadars or abayas on top…but really, I’ve had my heart broken too often by fabric shopping, dying, choosing little embellishments and trims and even coming up with my own nakshas I get made on the necklines for kaam etc…only to hand it to a @#$%^&* darzi and have all my effort, time and money raped in one go ='O

I buy from designers, yes, and I recognize the skill and talent required to make a fine garment. I’m not arguing for cheap thrills, because you get what you pay for. But that much money for a plain chiffon shirt? Do I really have to go to Kami? =( Do I have to walk into some harpy of an aunty’s little workshop and watch her mentally weigh my wallet, charge a ludicrous price and THEN MISS THE DEADLINE AND HAND ME CRAP?

Enough I say! The circle of fashion death must come to an end!!! =P

So ladies. sits back and watches them thoughtfully Are we up to the challenge? Can we find the messiah of darzi’s for all our needs??? =P I AM OPEN TO ANY AND ALL SUGGESTIONS =D

PS: It’s been a great pleasure reading through all your posts and forums so far =D I even feel like I know some of you already hahahahaha, the regulars on GS are awesome =D Hope this thread grows to be another resource =D

Re: Enough of Cheap Darzi!

I'm confused.. are you supporting darzis or not?

^ english mein likha hai :(

Um...I just wanted everyone to pool in and talk about intelligent darzis in lahore/anywhere in pakistan who can produce decent/impeccable clothes =) the thread cheap darzi is old now =)

^ I completetly agree with your post.
My fav darzi- Bahadrabaad, Karachi, in the Agha dyer market. His name is Mushtaq but unfortunately I have no further info. on him :-)

bless you for joining the thread! =D hahahaha i guess we'll have to wait and see if others will pop in and leave their do's and dont's for the rest of us to notice!

guess what =D so i've once again taken the plunge and i'm handing a massive amount of cloth to a new darzi tomorrow morning...16 yards to be exact =D to see if he can make this beautiful gown i want to wear on my cousin's wedding in about two weeks time =p

pray!!! =D and if he turns out to be a good one i'll totally recommend him to you guys =D fingers crossed! gulps and wishes big investment doesn't turn to epic fail yet again =P

16 yards---OMG! Hope it turns out great.

I'm a seamstress myself....and a dress designer.

lol they just don't exist. I got sick of mine and started making my own clothes and going for readymade clothes from generation, daaman, sheep, etc.