English pronunciation

bhaiyo aur behno… ek guzarish hai app sab se.. am looking to improve my english accent par kambakht aksar phisal jata hoon.. i get most words rite but sometimes i am just stuck or use desi accents for words i don know…

for quite some time i used to say academic as “a-CAD-emic” whereas amrus pron it as “aca-DEM-ic”… tau mera sawal yeh tha ke is there a standard pattern for syllable stress in american english?? i cud probly use that to say new words instead of coming up with some pathar-phod accent :blush:

thanku for ur time

Re: English pronunciation

never figured out the right way to pronounce words like:

pollution
vaccuum
schedule

etc etc

well pronounciation can always make you crazy esp when you're person who've had his ed in british english and then have to suddenly switch to amercan english or vice versa. the best think i'd suggest is to get a dictionary with all the pronounciation sounds. best one i can think of right now is the longman dictionary.it comes with a cd and has all the pronounciations. of course you can keep it with you all the time but still refer to it whnever in doubt

poh-LOO-shun
vac-YOO-um (it spells as vacuum)
SKE-jyool

folks correct me if i am wrong

I get confused about harris-ment or her-ras-ment
Then someone once tried to correct me when I said vais instead of vaas (vase)

desi pronounciation zindabad :jhanda:

be desi speak desi and be proud to be a desi :jhanda:

say your V and your T with PRAYD :smiley:

^ what about the number seven :D

saey vun :D

Yahoo Dictionary has pronounciation guides, and in many cases, audio to help with the correct pronounciation.

Here are some:
Pollution](http://education.yahoo.com/cgi-bin/pronounce_word?word=pollution&audio=p/0418100&property=dictionary&from=/reference/dictionary/entries/81/p0418100.html)
Vacuum](http://education.yahoo.com/cgi-bin/pronounce_word?word=vacuum&audio=v/0003600&property=dictionary&from=/reference/dictionary/entries/36/v0003600.html)
Schedule](http://education.yahoo.com/cgi-bin/pronounce_word?word=schedule&audio=s/0132200&property=dictionary&from=/reference/dictionary/entries/22/s0132200.html)

lolz its a good thread. long as people get what you are saying screw the exact pronounciation, you pick up the accent after a while naturally. so let it come banda :D

Dunno which is right but i pronounce schedule as
Shed-yool

FOBS :stuck_out_tongue: :rotfl:

I hate Scottish and Liverpool accents, can’t understand them.

grrr… i was talking abt american english.. not queen’s english :mad:

ok, sorry desibanda.

And Ranjhan i aint got a scottish or liverpudlian accent.