English Language

In my childhood i used to be afraid of 2,My father and English.

I had several cousins who at that time had done BA,which was a fair acheivement at hat time.Almost all of them had failed in English and they had to take multiple attempts before passing.I one said to one of them,we have an English dictionary at our house,why don’t u read it and u will know the whole English language(Aap ko poori angreezi aa jaye gi).He said no one knows the whole English language except Allah.

I was very surprised and asked No ONE!He said well,there was a man Shakespear,few centuries ago,he might have known ALL English.

So i grew up with this thing engraved in my mind that after Allah only Shakespear knew All the English.Till i reached King Edward Medical College,where i had a classmate Arooba,who was not only white like caucasians but also spoke English very fluently,i was then convinced that other than Shakspear,“Arooba ko bhi Poori Angreeze aati hai”

So no wonder my English is very poor,but i have come a long way since the time,i used to become paralysed when i hear someone speaking English to me.

However there are many phrases that i do not understand,So i request my Desi brothers and sisters,(some of whom might have had similar experiences as me) to help me in this regard.So i’ll meaning of few phrases in this thread,Plz tell bout these:I’ll start with this one

Whats the meaning of
Get a Life

Re: English Language

"Arooba" is caucasian? :-|

Okay get a life is said to thsoe who argue about petty things. it implies that they have too much time on their hands and should engage in stimulating, productive activities, i.e., a "life."

this arooba gal, is she pretty?

she is gorgeous

I said “like” caucasians.

Thanx for clarifying the phrase for me.

Only Allah and Shakespeare :hehe:

haha…how innocent!!

‘only Allah n Shakespeare’ :hehe:

your english sounds fine to me... and though i might not know ALL english... i am english

alright

Whats the meaning of "dude"

and how tp pronounce it

D-Yoo-D or D-o-D

Dude is the most popular word for american kids.

Pronounced

D-ooo-D

It can be used to denote suprise:

Dude!

It can be used as a greeting:

Hey dude.

It can be used be used to signal agreement or a compliment:

Dude you rock!

It can be used to interupt:

Hey dude!

It is a term of casual familiarity, and by varying the way you say it it can have lots of meanings. It is also a habitual term, with some kids using it so frequently they forget that they are saying it, so it appears at the beginning of almost every sentence. A typical teenage discussion:

Dude!

Sup Dude!

Dude, I was just hanging.

Sweet Dude!

Aw dude I got a new xbox.

DUDE! You are the dude!

The word probably originated in the Old American West where cowboys used it to describe a well dressed man, as opposed to a dirty Cowboy. Later, there were "Dude Ranches", which featured riding horses for city folks, so that they could pretend to be cowboys while on vacation. Current usage has nothing to do with this heritage.

See, American is easy!

Only Allah, Shakespeare and Ohioguy.

who needs shakespeare when we have American dudes...

The British need shakey, the Canadians can deal with the Americans.

I used to say dude a lot. Like ever other sentance. Actually, I still do.

Shaikhu Uncle didnt know anything about English, cuz I have read his English and he used to write English in some Marcian language, and then call it English. :(

Waisay are you really an Iconoclast?

OK,What the meaning of:

You Rock

it’s a coloquial/slang term of complimenting somebody or expressing a positive attitude towards something, like…

you rock at art/physics/whatever
or
yesterdays show rocked

you rock on its own i guess is the new way of saying you’re cool etc, basically it’s a compliment so don’t take it the wrong way

Dude u gotta be kidding…Are u still in KEMC?

No,now i have even finished my post-graduation.

Well another thing i want to ask,on this message board the smileys do not appear when i hit the ADD REPLY icon,how can i find smileys

No,not really