England refuses to play test match in Karachi

Re: England refuses to play test match in Karachi

Unfortunately they don’t. But its about time they should otherwise it will be a great loss of cricket pakistan and PCB will be responsible for it.

they r already responsible for cricket in pak.or dont they.or is it pak army.

bhenjee i was talking about the loss if there will be no cricket in Karachi and for that PCB will be responsible.

ICC must guarantee action against any nation who refuses to play against any other for whatever reason. Otherwise such incidents will happen in future too as in the past and present. FIFA have managed to offer such rules and soccer is one game that is free from such incidents.

Why? If they feel unsafe, why not the Pak govt and Cricboard put together a safety program and convince them? It is laughable to treat London and Pakistan the same. Pakistan has no control over extreme zealots amongst them.

No place is safe. Any city and country can be targeted by terrorists. It is ICC that has stupid attitude. Otherwise in Champions League this year, Roma fans targeted referee but Madrid still played the match in Roma as was scheduled but in an empty stadium. ICC must have strict rules for all scheduled games like FIFA. If a country or club won't play the match according to schedule, they will be affected. If England had lost 10-20 points in ranking just for refusing to play a scheduled game as must have suffered each and every player, they must have attained a better behavior by now.

Pakistan played their game in Ahmedabad when they toured India, just to discourage such events. For England it is a part of fashion to refuse one or more locations when they tour any country.

FYI, Pakistan Govt. provide VVIP protection to the touring teams which is only provided to the foreign leaders who come to Pakistan.
As far is a your safety plan is concerned, no place in the world is safe. Do you think London and New York had no safety plans when they were attacked.
Stop speaking the language of fox news and accept the reality that its all international media bull**** which has potrayed karachi as a war zone, just because of a bomb blast 3 years ago and killing of innocent people which has been going on even before the events of 9/11. No one cancelled their tours at that time. Someone should ask people like you that where was the media when thousands of muslims were slaughtered in Gujrat.

bhai saheb mauf keejiyega mere mis-interpretation ko:)

Pakistani authorities can control an area, like a stadium, just like in any other country.
Of course if the opposing cricket team wants to live there it is another matter. But playing a match certainly shouldnt be a problem

fk2 & elahi: I agree it's impossible to call any location perfectly safe - that's not my point though. All I'm saying is that instead of yelling and screaming and cussing, the board should work with the army and come up with a plan to convince the visitors - that's all.

A little bit of creativity and relationship management goes a long way

And what if they don’t want to be convinced mr wise guy.
You think the pak government never ever thought on the creative ideas which you provided in your post. I think they should hire you as their advisor.

You can't compare London to Karachi. It's like apples to bananas.

London does not go through riots constantly, with sunni vs. shia stuff. As well as that, there is not weekly bombings happening in London either.

If there was a bomb in Karachi today, it wouldn't be that suprising as if there was one in London... due to Karachi's history.

I hope they play a ODI in Karachi at least. But whatever happens, no one in Pakistan even watches test matches, so I don't see why Karachi is crying so much over it. Ahmedabad held a ODI, and not a test match.

Every nation has a right to their opinions. PCB is the guilty party here, they sud hv a spine and some integrity to stand for their rights.

Miandad is right, Pak sud refuse to play in England.

Kya baat hai teri champo, right on :k:

ECB ask for pull-out clause
ECB want to make last-minute venue changes

*The ongoing controversy over the venues for England’s tour of Pakistan later this year has taken another twist with the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) asking for the right to refuse to play at a venue even at a moment’s notice. Citing unnamed sources, Pakistan’s The News claims that the ECB have stuck a clause into the tour MOU that allows the team to petition a change of venue while in the middle of the tour itself.

“The ECB has informed the PCB that the association representing the English players has expressed certain reservations citing security and safety concerns over playing in Pakistan,” the source was quoted as saying. “Some of the players have apparently told their board to have an understanding with the Pakistan Board that would allow them to refuse to play at any venue if they have any concerns about playing there.”

What this means is that the English team can pull out of a game at the 11th hour citing security concerns. This would cause immense inconvenience to the organizers and the TV broadcasters, and most importantly, the paying public. The clause was inserted after Richard Bevan, the players’ association representative, and John Carr, ECB Director of Operations separately met PCB officials in Pakistan.

Apart from the security, Bevan was also concerned about England players having enough things to do while in Pakistan, the report added. The source was cited as saying that Bevan was “assured by the PCB that there was plenty to do for the English players like playing golf even at smaller centers like Multan and Faisalabad.” *

^ Oh please .. enough of putting up with this crap .. I think it’s about time PCB stands up for its right with an unwavering conviction and call off this tour altogether if they think they are just too good to play in Pakistan.

So they started with Karachi and now its the whole country. Basically they have a problem playing with Pakistan in Pakistan.

I guess some one told ECB that after the London blasts it will now be difficult to get away with the stupid demand of not playing in Karachi. So they came up with some thing new. This is simply unbelievable. ECB is taking any measure to demonstrate their authority. They are trying to convey the message that we are bigger than the game and the fans of the game and every one can go to hell.
Now what else will make PCB to act, to show some balls and show ECB the middle finger and tell them to f.ckoff

so now there is last moment chances of pak-eng series to be played in india:)

But there was no bomb in Karachi and there were bombs in London. It was surprising for Karachi to not have a bomb, and it was surprising for London to have one.

Surprises can appear any where, so every place is same.

[Quote]
Originally Posted by teaser
Kya baat hai teri champo, right on
[/Quote]

Teaser bro.. long time no see man! I missed you at this place for so long. Glad to see you back :)

[Quote]
Originally Posted by umer.ashraf
But there was no bomb in Karachi and there were bombs in London. It was surprising for Karachi to not have a bomb, and it was surprising for London to have one.

Surprises can appear any where, so every place is same.

What are you talking about? There is bomb blasts in Karachi all the time. Care to look at your history records to find out how many occur in Karachi compared to London?
How about poor ol' KFC.. how many times has that been bombed in London? Also isn't it "ironic" that the potential bombs or bombers may have been Pakistani?

Now don't get me wrong, I'm not bashing Pakistani's as I love Pakistan as much as you, but you seriously can't say Karachi is the same as London?

Well this thread is about England and any other country refusing to play at some venue. Whether there is no blast for 100 years or there are 100s of blast each day, when a hosting country plan a match schedule, visiting country must not have any right to refuse it until they both are part of an international organization like ICC and FIFA. In case of refusal for any reason, visitors must be made to pay some penalty.

(As for situation in Karachi, start a thread in associated section and let it discuss there. I am talking about most recent situation and events. London was unfortunate to face attacks recently while Karachi has not faced one for quite some time.)