Engine/Emission light ON on Honda civic

guys,

I need to get the inspection of my car done (Civic, 99) for the new state. For past many months I’ve that yellow emission/“check engine” light on in the panel. It went away couple of times briefly few months back but now it’s constantly ON for many months.

One of the things that the manual says that it can get turn on if the gas tank cap is not tightly on. That is obviously not the case sine I’ve many times made sure of it. I believe this light indicates level of emission and I won’t be able to get the inspection done unless I get this fixed. Getting this fixed, I’ve heard, is expensive.

I also heard that this is a “bug” in Civic. There isn’t really any “emission” going on. It may happen once or now because of the tank cap thingie but then once it’s tightened securely then the light should go off in couple of days.

It seems to be a problem with “reseting” of the computer in the car to turn off this light. One way to do is to take out the fuse and put back in. But I’m not sure exactly which fuse corresponds to this light or the “area” where this light belongs to.

So.

1. If you ever had any such problems yourself, any info/tip will be highly appreciated
  2. If you, at least, have played around with fuses and know which one and how I can reset this fuse mechanism, that’d be great too.
    *]If you’re if in this thread just to mock me and make fun of me and add lots of smileys to the effect then phir “rasta napo” :mad:

Re: Engine/Emission light ON on Honda civic

get the code checked, go to any autozone and tell them u have an engine check light on. They will check the code for free and let u know.

to reset, disconnect the battery for about 30 or so secs maybe more im not sure and then reconnect.

I get this light too, yellow or red i don;t remember, it comes up when those 30/60/90k maintenance visits r due. Right now its on cos of the 90k wali and im 5-6 thousand miles over that.

i have a cycle..so.. no lights. although im saving up for having one attached, its called dynamo, sounds exciting

Femme, that might have trigged mine to come on too. I’m not sure. This is actually a common problem with many cars with no common solution, it seems.

ravage, you probably would have guessed it yourself, that wasn’t funny. :rolleyes:

well actually its the truth

Do you make sure that the fuel cap clicks atleast three times (Honda's recommendation)? You might need to change it altogether (check with wreckers, will cost you $10 the most).

There are engine treatment (during oil change) and fuel line injector cleaner available on every gas stations, pour a bottle in with 92 grade gas. Run it for five days and then see if the light stays on. You can reset it with battery as suggested above to see if it comes back after the above treatment.

The "Check Engine" light is very vague, and can be pretty much anything. You need to get it hooked to a computer to determine what the issue really is. Most likely a sensor. One thing you might want to try if you haven't already done so, is to unhook the battery for a while, and then hook it back up. Many times, it'll go away, but if it returns, then there's a problem somewhere.

yeah...both my hubby and i have civics...both '96...and both of them had that yellow light on ...it was so freakin annoying...well after going to many mechanics and using that computer system, there was no reason why the light was still on....finally my hubby took it to a desi mechanic....i dont know what he did exactly...but he was saying that who ever did something to my car (whether oil change, brakes or something - i have no clue), they didnt close something tight enough, and the lid was still loose...so he tightened it and now the sign is gone!!!
as for my hubby...his check engine light is still on...dont know if he got his checked out or not....and also sometimes his speedometer doenst work...now thats freaky...tiem for a new car!!! toyota all the way baby!

Roman, my car is older than yours (although we are about the same age)...there are so many lights on the dashboard..green, red, yellow..and various shapes and forms...it is now to a point where I don't have to turn the indoor lights on on to have light inside....car is lit inside without any lamp..
if you ask me I like it..it is kind of colorful and nice.

also these colorful lights on the dashboard reflect on my face...kind of make me look devlish while driving at night time..that helps to scare some people in other cars around me.

aur aap aik light se itna dar rahe ho

Isnt it the maintenance light, you can reset it by keeping the reset button pressed, starting your car, holding the button for 10 seconds after u have ignition and it should go away

:cb: Lagta hie apkay sath sath car bhi satya giya hie :smiley:

tmx, where is this reset button? You're not talking about the oil change reset button bottom of the speedometer are you? That button doesn't look like have any electric/mechanical connections or functions. If that's not the one then I'm no familiar with any other reset button.

Romanov, call yourself a man.... how can you not know what each button and light means

you seem to be much more at home in teh kitchen rearranging tupperware lids and ironing curtains

How very shameful

Im beginning to think those rumours are true:p

:(

Ms daisy vaisy, there is only one way to find out. :blush:

:hoonh:

:(

roman chacha stop putting smilies

go to a mechanic you paindu its cheap i think he will take few bucks and give you a good answer :smack:

or even give them a call :hoonh:

http://www.humoronline.com/audio/mechanic.html

I didnt know Roman had a feminine voice.