Engagement advice

I will be getting engaged in the next couple of week (the date will be decided to day), we’re going to have a small gathering of just close friends and family in a hall/restaurant (no more than 40 people)

As I don’t have time to search and buy an oufit I was going to wear something I bought a a few months ago, but have never worn it.

I need advice on jewellery, I was thinking perhaps just ear rings? Here’s a decription of the outfit, but I’ll try an post a picture once I’ve taken it out of storage.

Top: Pale turqouise, plain silk pishwas, with a nehru collar. Each of the seams has gold gota/dori sown in. Then on top it has a deep v neck, angharka style coat, which has a really big gher in pale turquoise chiffon. Along the neckline, the bottom and the edge of the angharka coat it has a dusky pink and gold 2 inch jamevaar border, again trimmed with gold dori.

**Bottom:**The churidaar is in the same jamaavar fabric.

Duppatta: Turqiouse and pink, embossed with gold paisly, and the same jaamevar border.

Also, I know that they’ll do their own rasms for the engagment, but wondered what might actually happen aside from exchanging rings?

Any advice on how to decorate the venue? And should I walk with family i.e. mum, dad, bro? Or get my female cousins to bring me in?

Finally I’m going to cover my head with the dupatta, but how do I actually pin it without ruining the fabric or making holes in it?

Re: Engagement advice

for the jewelry keep it simple but elegant, wear sum bangles aswell!
when it was my engagement my sister n bhabi bought me in with female cuzins behind
and the duppata well i think ur gunna have to use pins sweetie

hey im on the same boat as u menaing getting engaged so jewelry wise im keeping it really simple wearing a "fake" not gold light set earings and necklace(not sure if i will wear the necklace since its a bit too fancy and i dont wanna get too fancy) wearing matching bangles getting light party makeup and hair from a salon adn i guess thts it.

I dont think anyone has any specific eng. rasam its just the exchanging the rings thing and i think tht it well i iknow tht the grls side and the guys side exchange gifts but thts all nothing to extravagant.

I thik fot the eng. the venue shouldnt be too decotated bc its just the eng. but i would def. pay close attention to the stage where both the couple will sit and exchange rings thts where most of the pix will be taken. but if ure already goign to have it in a hall i think u should keave the tables as they are use the halls centerpeices dont spend ur $ on centerpeices or anyhting.

I think u should come out with a few grl cousins this is more of a fun day nothing too formal on the day of the wedding i think u can come out with bro or parents i think u will feel more comfy if u came out with grl cousins.

Not too sure about how to pin up dubatta nvr done it b4 so maybe some1 else can give u advice on tht

hope this helps...good luck and do share pix!!

Rsheikh, where abt r u gettin ur make-up done from? desi salon?

And u too, don't forget to post the pics :)

^ yes a desi salon!! I will post pix if i dont look too scary with makeup!! j/k ;)

lol, don't worry, u'll look good InshAllah... :)

Your outfit sounds lovely. What is a nehru collar? Does it mean "bain wala gala"? Depending on the neckline, i would either wear a decent sized set or an elegant pendant. Definetly wear medium sized earrings and bangles. I wore a shalwar suit on my nikah but wore a set, earrings, teeka and bangles and i dont think i looked overdone (mine was a at home event).

In my opinion, we have the chance to look simple everyday, on occasions like these you should choose tasteful jewlery and kapray but still look like the bride. I find it wierd when the bride looks like the rest of the guests or sometimes even less made up.

Relax and enjoy the event. That is a very important part. For decos, maybe you can show pics to your cousins who can help set them up the way you want? About walking in, it depends on what you want to do. Would you be comfortable walking in with the family or just the female cousins?

Thanks for the advice. I think I will wear some kundan (not real gold) earings I have, and some bangles.

It probably won't be a hall, but a small room in a restaurant, so there probably won't be a proper stage. I was thinking I need to create some king of back drop for the actually ceremony and where we'll be sitting, and was going to buy a sari or 2 to decorate with, but I don't know wha colour I should go for? Any suggestions?

The tables themselved won't be decorated in anyway, so I just thought simple tea lights would do the trick?

Rsheik what kind of presents do both the sides exchange?

I have a another question, should I walk-in to some kind of music?

tea lights candles would def. do the trick if u dont mind spending a few bucks get a dozen or half a dozen roses take their petals and scatter them on the table.

for the backdrop u should pick a light color sari mayb white, light pink nutting to flasshy in my opinion eng is like a sweet yet mellow event and soft colors should be used for its decor.

the gifts we're giving are

3 piece party wear unstitched to 3 of his sisters (1 suit to each sis)

3 peice fancy unstitched suit to his mom (2 suits)

warm untitched shalvar kamise suit to his dad, bro and bro in law (1 to each)

6 brand name shrts for him 3 dress pants dress shoes and 2 fancy shalvar kamise suits for the groom (of which he will wear one of the shalvar kamise suits to the eng.)

Thanks again, and you're also giving a ring to the groom?

I did think about the petals, but will be doing something similar on the shaadi, so don't want to be too repetitative

^ yes of course, a platinum eng. ring and then will give a sep. platinum ring on wedding.

The gifts thing can be discussd in advance. Both for my sis and my nikah, we didnt "publicly" exchange gifts. My inlaws werent here anyways and her inlaws insisted they didnt want to do any show off and gifts were exchanged privately before and after the event. The only things we exchanged were rings and that was about it. There were a lot of pics taken and hansi mazaq with the bride/groom etc. But every family is different so if it is important to you, maybe your ammi can ask them if they will be doing any other rasams?

o we're only having his immediate family coing over my house no aunts and uncles so the event is private enuff so we just decided to give gifts on the same day even though we thought we should give it to them a few days before but sice no one else is goign to be there besides the immediate family we thought we would just give gifts the same day.

For jewelry I would do lots of churiyaan matching your outfit, tikka, and big earrings.