Enaya or Inaaya????

Re: Enaya or Inaaya????

Inayaa sounds much more sweeter, eneya doesnt half sound as majestic :)

My neice's name is spelt Inaaya. Mashallah, she's such a cutie!

There is only one pronunciation.

Inaayah

Its the most beautiful girls name on this planet. I kid you not, I know a women who had a baby just to be able to name her daughter this! And she was a white, non Muslim British women!

Imo it looks nicer spelt with an I

thx guys for ur valuable opinions :) u guys r makin me soooooooooooooooooo confused yaar. i understand sum of u like inaaya more thaz cus its commonly used that way plus maybe to u it sounds and reads better. i respect that. but mein thora modern touch dena chah rahi hon is naam mein.. not that its not a new and modern name but in writin enaya thora western or inaaya thora desi lag raha hia. ill explain why... inaaya aisa lag raha hia jaisa koi urdu word roman mein likha hia (like how i m typin now) but enaya looks like a western name becus of its spellin and all. so sorry if u guys r unable to understand wot i m tryin to say.. hehehe :D i hope u got thepoint. i m sooooo confused yar. shud i go with wot is commonly done ya modern twist... mere sar ke sare bal otar jaye gay 9th mnth tak :D

Re: Enaya or Inaaya???

FYI: http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/278739-name-spelling-inaya-vs-anaiya.html

Salaams all..

DH and I are currently expecting our first child later this year and this is the name I am so set on..

I initially wanted a name that meant Gods gift or Blessing and on one website, this was the name that was attached to that meaning.. But now with all the variations and spelling, there appears to be another meaning thrown in the mix. The meaning of "Care" or "Solitude"...

For the meaning to be Gods Gift or Blessing, should the beginning of the name be "En" or "In"..? ("En" as in Enable and "In" as in Incident?)

I'm thinking of spelling it with either the "En" or "In" at the beginning, but with "aiyah" in the middle. So it will either be..

Inaiyah or Enaiyah (or if I decide to drop the "h" - Inaiya or Enaiya..)

What do you peeps think..?

Also, how popular is this in the UK and Pakistan? And do you think peeps in Pak would pronounce it properly? ..(and not turn it into "Anya" or "Ineeya/Eneeya"..)

(I never thought choosing a name would be this difficult!!)

Thanks all

B

i first heard the name about four years ago when a friend decided to name her little girl Inayah after her grandmother. the meaning she told me was "concern/solitude". I'd never heard the "God's blessing" meaning until recently here on GS. Now I know multiple Inayah/Inaya's as its a very popular name abroad, and I think whether you spell it with an E or an I, its pronounced the same way- starting with an IN (like Inside). I've never heard it pronounced with an EN as in "enable"... I'd look into it some more maybe to make sure that doesn't change the meaning.

Sahar, how do you pronounce your daughter's name? Is it also INaya, even though its spelt Enaya?

I just found this: Muslim Names | Inayah

Seems like the double “aa” in the name, (Inaayah) makes the difference between the two meanings of Solitude/Concern and Gift of Allah..

So, the name is pronoucned more like In-nah-ya for the name to mean Gift of Allah… I think, I could be wrong.

What do you guys think?

hai allah.... itna confusion...

i remember when we named our son and were content until ppl started to come forward and tell us we had given it the wrong spelling, or the meaning was wrong... it confused us a whole lot but then we did some research and man spelling makes a world of a diff

we were right with what we had named him and how we spelled his name... so dont get confused and just do ure own research and name the child.

ppl have started to spell the simplest of names in teh most craziest of ways.. just wait till u start to see a SARA spelled with silent xb in the beginning!

:eek:

We pronounce it "en - aa -- yah" (closer to "enable"), but chose to keep the spelling the simplest that would allow for that pronunciation. The word starts with an "ain" in Arabic -- correct me if I'm wrong. I felt the "e" was the closest way to reflect that sound.

The name is from Allah's enayat -- all the bounty Allah provides.

Incidentally my father's friend is named Enayat, same meaning, spelled like this.

I live in the US and we haven't found that people have trouble pronouncing it. If they do, just correct them. What's the big deal?

hey i think Enaya, it is such a cute name :)

wow... amazing! i think whether b it enaya or inaaya.. both r the best and the closest to wot u want barfii. i dun think inaiya or enaiya is the correct spellin cus it will b pronounced like ee-nai-ya instead of ee-na-ya or i-naa-ya. its such a pretty name i know. cant help fallin in love with it all the time. the only prb is the meanin. i still dunno if it really means Allah's blessin or just care or solicitude. i dunno where to go and who wud b the best person to give me the EXCT meaning of the name.

if its just confusion betweeen the meaning.. hey man... both meanings are good.

my son's name had 3 meanings.. all were good... so we could care less.

actually khawa i do care cus i want to use a name for her which dus mean gift of Allah. if it means care i wud b a bit skeptical. in arabic it dus mean care.. if u google it ull find this meaning but then sum muslim names websites say it means gift of God so thaz really confusing.

so what is the correct pronounciation....????
In-aa-ya
En-aa-ya
Ah-nai-ya
i want the one with the meaning... Gif from Allah...

Hi....
well, my name is Inaaya..... :) Both spellings are fine.... I quite like Enaya... but I remember reading somewhere on the net that Inaaya means gift from Allah, but it's meaning changes if spelt differently.... I can't remember where I saw this.... even in this thread, people have come up with a few meanings for the same names, so I guess the way you spell it does make a difference. ....However you spell it, it's a beautiful name.... :) :) (even though I am a bit biased) lol

actually the spelling cn actually change the meaning of the name all together, i say ask someone like an aalim, so many ppl do tht here, as they have islamic knowledge n wud b able to tell u the meanings of watever u want