Me and my friends like to visit different villages and see their simple lifestyle, meet different people and share views/thoughts with them. Once my friend was invited to a meal where a person brought lassi in a lota and placed it near the meal. First everyone thought that he was joking but then he came to know that people of that village also use lota for the purpose of jug (of course a separate one for that purpose, not the one already used in you know where). Despite of their hospitality he couldn’t gather the courage to drink the lassi when they poured it in the glass.
What could be the possible way of dealing with such situations. I have few more to share, but later after reading few.
Re: Embarrassing situations and how to deal with them
JazakAllah khair everyone for the kind advice and sharing.
It is also kind of embarrassing when anyone during a meal tries a different recipe (flesh of a dead brother), because those who listen would also be held answerable. So, the scholars advise us to change the topic or say "excuse me" and leave that place immediately. Those who do gheebah (backbiting) would have long nails in the hereafter life with which they would keep on tearing apart the skin and flesh of their face, as mentioned in a hadith. May Allah swt forgive our mistakes and protect us from this evil.
Eating the flesh of ones dead brother*
"O you who believe! Avoid much suspicion, for some suspicions are a sin. Do not spy on one another, nor backbite one another. Would one of you love to eat the flesh of his dead brother? Nay, you would abhor it, [so similarly, avoid backbiting]. And fear Allah. Indeed, Allah is Most Forgiving, Most Merciful."
Qur'an, [49:12]
*Instead of listening to backbiting we need to do the following:
Abud-Darda (radiyallahu anhu) said: The Prophet (salallahu ‘alahi wasallam) said, *“He who defends the honour of his (Muslim) brother, Allah will secure his face against the fire on the Day of Resurrection.”
(Tirmidhi)
The Prophet (pbuh) is reported to have said:** "Whoever witnesses the humiliation of a believer and doesn't support him while being capable of supporting him, Allah will humiliate him before all the creatures (on the Day of Judgment)."**
JazakAllah khair everyone for the kind advice and sharing.
It is also kind of embarrassing when anyone during a meal tries a different recipe (flesh of a dead brother), because those who listen would also be held answerable. So, the scholars advise us to change the topic or say "excuse me" and leave that place immediately. Those who do gheebah (backbiting) would have long nails in the hereafter life with which they would keep on tearing apart the skin and flesh of their face, as mentioned in a hadith. May Allah swt forgive our mistakes and protect us from this evil.
What kind of backbiting do you see in this thread ? This a genuine question . OP did not post names of the people involved and even the name of the village. Also he is not talking anything bad about what they were doing.
Me and my friends like to visit different villages and see their simple lifestyle, meet different people and share views/thoughts with them. Once my friend was invited to a meal where a person brought lassi in a lota and placed it near the meal. First everyone thought that he was joking but then he came to know that people of that village also use lota for the purpose of jug (of course a separate one for that purpose, not the one already used in you know where). Despite of their hospitality he couldn't gather the courage to drink the lassi when they poured it in the glass.
What could be the possible way of dealing with such situations. I have few more to share, but later after reading few.
Next morning when you go to wash room say "I had too much mirch in the food last night can you please put thandi lassi in my lota"
They they will say "what the hell who puts lassi in the lota ?? heen heen"
Bhai, are you supporting me against me
Btw, that comment of backbiting was a general observation by me, not against my own self or the thread I started. (even though I am guilty of at times not being careful in this regard)
Me and my friends like to visit different villages and see their simple lifestyle, meet different people and share views/thoughts with them. Once my friend was invited to a meal where a person brought lassi in a lota and placed it near the meal. First everyone thought that he was joking but then he came to know that people of that village also use lota for the purpose of jug (of course a separate one for that purpose, not the one already used in you know where). Despite of their hospitality he couldn't gather the courage to drink the lassi when they poured it in the glass.
depends alot if the Lassi is Sweet or Salty :)
A close friend of mine has been in same situation, the only difference was it Turkey and they were serving water instead of Lassi... for moment he lost it all, didn't knew what to do but then remembered what the Prophet (SAAW) have done ( when He (SAAW) was invited to Lunch or dinner and food was not good but He (SAAW) still ate it and ate more then He (SAAW) usually does just to make sure the host does not feel embarrassed) and he went along with the thing...
The point is, if we are visiting someone somewhere we shouldn't be asking or wanting or even expecting them to do everything as per our taste and customs... we should be open to accept the change in food or taste or custom (as long it does not involve haram stuff) and shouldn't be embarrassed at all..
Quit whining people, seriously.
On my cousins wedding we had so many KUNDAs of yogurt left.
On walima night, one of my uncle had this bright idea, he thoroughly washed washing machine,
then put all the yogurt in it with milk little water and ice.
And ran the machine for a while. Then we all had amazing adh-rirka(meethi lassi) yummy