Eloping = Romantic ???

Is eloping romantic?

If you had the choice, would you rather run off and marry in front of two witnesses and a Qadi than having a big fancy fairy tale wedding?

I’ve had more than a few girls in “love relationships” (surprisingly, many of them bright) tell me how they plan to elope after both parents okay the relationship (they’re still sane) rather than wait for their mums and maasis to finish making arrangements for the occasions.

Why is it, that in every book or love story, people are always talking about how romantic it is when two people have to fight for their love, from Laila and Majnoo to Romeo and Juliet? Of course this is a whole nother topic - but do you consider eloping romantic?

ahm

vo kehtay hain na....dorry kay dhool suhanay hi lagtay hain...
eloping...i feel ...is like same...
magar jaisa kay ajj kal trend hi kuch adventure ka hai...to shaid logon ko is main charm nazar ata hai
shadi ka itself concept hi khushi hai jo har koi enjoy karna chahta hai....agar bhag kar hi karna hai to ...shadi ki bhi kya zaroorat hai...insan mutual understandking kay bhi sath reh sakta hai...now in this stituation...question arises of moral values...;) tata

Well if the parents approve of the relationship then I don't see why your friends are considering eloping. Surely they should be mature enough to discuss with their parents that they don't want a big fancy wedding etc and would like to get married as soon as possible.

It might seem like a nice romantic thing to do but it's a big decision to make and there are lots of other people and factors to consider in the interim.

Why do you accosiate with such idiots?

^ cuz 'like attracts like' ? :-P

j/k

If you had the choice, would you rather run off and marry in front of two witnesses and a Qadi than having a big fancy fairy tale wedding?

You know when you say it like that ..eloping sounds alot more appealing and cheaper too ! lol

hmm i think its a bit silly if the parents have approved and u still wanna elope

like part of the reason why parents wanna get their kid married is so they CAN have a fancy shansy wedding, why not let the grownups have their fun huh? i wouldnt take that away from my parents...

u can always reason with them about the cost

Depends on what eloping means in this scenario. For instance, I know of a couple who got engaged, booked tickets to the Bahamas and got married on the beach. They got both pairs of parents tickets as well so that they could be present at the wedding. Come to think of it, is that eloping? Hmmm.....

Personally i would blame hollywood and bollywood for such pathetic and moronic ideas. But then again our people do want to be so western. Now that is utterly pathetic. To these females i would suggest getting a brain that actually works.

If everyone is in agreement about the marriage, then what is the point of eloping? What are you running away from or fighting for? Anway, as far as being romantic goes, it sounds nice in theory, being romantic, fighting for love and all that good stuff, but nothing good comes out of it. Somebody always loses and gets hurt in the end. If your comfortable with the fact that “my parents will come around after I marry this person”, and you can endure the emotional stress, so be it..but you cant islolate yourself from everyone for the rest of your life, but who knows maybe some people can..anyway to sum it up, this is a western concept yaar :hehe:

Well that's a bit of a gamble to take really........who can say for sure that the parents will come round after the wedding, and who knows how long it'll take too.

Eloping with parents' permission, with a qazi and 2 witnesses?

It's not a half bad idea. Actually it is a very good idea. Forget the romance twaddle just think of what a massive revolution it would bring about in Pakistani society. No more social pretensions, no more hypocrisy and grand self-delusion and no more of the jahaiz problems of 20 pairs of flourecsent yellow and pink suits. We can only hope.

**Eloping is for serious losers.

Unless ofcourse one can't budget even the
simpler of the simplest wedding receptions.

A pure, and loving bond like marriage should
be shared with the closest of posse.**

eloping...romantic till reality sets in

*Originally posted by Aalhan: *
**Eloping is for serious losers.

Unless ofcourse one can't budget even the
simpler of the simplest wedding receptions.

A pure, and loving bond like marriage should
be shared with the closest of posse.**

That's a bit harsh, you think that the main reason couple elope is to save on the wedding costs?

Eloping is romantic???????

I never knew.

That's a bit harsh, you think that the main reason couple elope is to save on the wedding costs?

*It's reality. People elope for two
reasons. Either they can't afford even a simple
wedding extravaganza or one set of family members
isn't in favor of the marriage. In any of the two
situations a better alternative should be pursued.

Like what Alhan?

I need help with munda_420's reply. Anyone?

hiccup, baby, diversity. ;)

sadzzz, always so reasonable.

XTC, yes.

little human, neither did I. Consequently, I started the thread.

Desi weddings where I am are highly overrated. So, honestly, as insanely irresponsible as I think it is to elope, and as idiotic the concept of getting married is, without all the fun of wearing purrty outfits and spending a bazillion on a reception at Shangri-la or the Grand Hyatt with food catered from the most expensive restaurants (even if the food tastes like ordure) and Sukhbir performances, I think I can sorta understand where they're coming from. Maybe what these people think is so romantic about eloping is the fact that they can marry without having to concern themselves with intensive diplomacy (dealing with hypocritical morons who are probably just going to go home to complain about the color of the flowers or lack of class on the furniture or the decor, confabulating over chai about how Roshny's outfit was so similar to the one Saira wore last year, "Did you notice the little teensy tiny microscopic detailing on the edge of her sleeve as well?"). As I've been properly informed, the expenses and the worrying takes off from the romance. There's a lot that needs to be changed before we can expect the mentality of people who live here to as well. The way things are done kinda makes you think we're stuck in a time warp of some sort and been sucked back into the worse half of the 18th century. I guess with most desis in industrialized countries where people have a lot more matters of true importance to be concerned with it's not so bad.

munda_420s post: (something along these lines)

these days people luv adventure, so they may find charm in eloping

the meaning of shadi is happiness & everyone wants to be a part of it

if u really wanna run away and get married, whats the point of it, might as well have a mutual understanding but then this brings in moral values