Election Results for the National Assembly

Re: Election Results for the National Assembly

According to Geo, so far PML-N has a slight lead in the number of seats for the NA. PPP is next in line. PML-Q is a distant third, alongwith MQM and other assorted independents. ARY shows a slight lead for PPP, with PML-N 5 seats behind.

There are several good things about these results.

• Elections were not massively rigged.
  • PML-Q which is essentially a lota league, got a thrashing.
  • PPP did get the massive sympathy vote and won quite a few seats in Punjab.
  • Big name leaders of PML-Q and former minsters got beaten (that was sweet!!) And the best of all,

*]Secular parties won landslide. Especially in NWFP, ANP and PPP swept almost all the seats. This should be great news to all those who worried about rising militancy and violent versions of Islamic parties.

ppp nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

PML N yeshhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

hope they join to make a gov and get rid of mush

pppp
is this party lead by zardary or a different one like ppp b

PPPP = Parliamentarian = Benazir's party

PPP (Sherpao) = A small fraction of the party that is entirely based in NWFP under the leadership of Aftab Sherpao, and he is pretty much the only one who actually wins anything

PPP (SB) = Shaheed Bhutto faction that is led by the widow of Murtaza, Ghanwa Bhutto. Does pretty much nothing in electoral politics and is considered merely a fringe faction.

i dont wanat to see zardary and co in govt

PML N is far far batter then PPPP

yes Faisal
I noticed that with interest too
lets hope this helps as far as damage control is concerned in NWFP and put an end to the militancy

look this isn't about damage control or anything; only mullahs running in the current elections are pure lota branded i.e Fazl Ur Rehman. I think most of the religious vote stayed out.

The rest overwhelmingly voted against Musharraf and his party for following reasons:

1 - exorbitant prices for common food items such as flour, pulses, veggies, cooking oil. High, high inflation..
2 - collapsed law and order situation due to un-needed military endeavors to fight someone else's war

3 - Deposition of independent judiciary..

Wasn't Fazl ur Rehman's party ruling NWFP since the last election? So who are we missing??

Other religious parties have never done anything significant. Jamat e Islamic is probably kicking itself, because this was as good a time as any to have a chance against MQM in Karachi, and they stayed out of it. Result, MQM continued its tradition of landslide victories in Khi/Hyd.

is the jang website down?
not loading

no
its working

http://jang.com.pk/

I agree with you. BTW, I think there is also an incumbency factor which did not helped pro Mushrraf parties.

Pervez Ilahi on GEO effectively conceding the elections, and saying they wont allege vote rigging, they accept the people’s verdict, and will sit in the opposition.

:k: atleast for that

funny telephone interview on GEO

Aap ko meri awaz aa rahi hai?
Ji Aa rahi hai
Acha aap batayein gai
Ji mujhe aa rahi hai
Ji Lovely aap ye batayein
Mujhe awaz aa rahi hai
Mai convince ho gaya you awaz aa rahi hai...!

2 Likes

So whats the latest election results.

well my bhabi’s father [LiaQat Ali Khan] won his seat in multan on PPP ticket. http://www.dawn.com/events/election08/results/na152.htm

Latest

Party NA PP PS PB PF
PPPP 84 74 63 7 15
PML(N) 63 100 0 0 5
PML(Q) 36 61 9 17 6
MQM 19 0 38 0 0
ANP 10 0 2 1 28
MMA 2 2 0 6 8
PML(F) 4 3 7 0 0
PPP(S) 1 0 0 0 5
BNP(A) 0 0 0 4 0
NPP 1 0 3 0 0

:konfused:
am i dreaming or there is a plan
how on earth! this election is so confusing
some one bite me

A very nice map that shows which party is winning where on the map. It seems PPP is winning in all provinces and so is PML-Q while PML-N is solely in Punjab.

Party NA PP PS PB PF
PPPP 87 78 65 7 17
PML(N) 66 101 0 0 5
PML(Q) 38 66 9 17 6
MQM 19 0 38 0 0
ANP 10 0 2 1 31
MMA 3 2 0 6 9
PML F 4 3 7 0 0
BNP(A) 1 0 0 5 0
PPP(S) 1 0 0 0 5
NPP 2 0 3 0 0