Just have a few points/questions to make/discuss on the 2008 elections.
Rigging has happened - I know a few pople who cast multiple votes - how many people overall would have cast more than 1 vote remains to be seen. None of them had cast multiple votes for PML-Q, MQM but ANP, PML-N, PPP and Independents. Vote reigging has taken place but any benefit looks like it would have been cancelled out.
Does anyone have the figures for how many voted throughout Pakistan % wise - If they could get it district wise it would be great.
PML-N is a Punjab only party for now - it has very little national appeal and needs to do some serious work so it can broaden its support base. Can it be intrepreted to mean that Punjab is not as trusted in the other provinces? In fact PML-N can benefit from PML-Q if uniting as the latter would give the N league more appeal. PML-N needs to win more support outside of Punjab othrwise non-Punjabs will be wary of it.
PPP did not really win a landslide. I feel they should have done better especially if they had a sympathy vote behind them. People have not voted the PPP en-masse and they did not really clinch that much in Punjab. I think with everthing that has happened the PPP should have got more.
Even in NWFP they got less than most were expecting. I am also suprised they did nt do better in Balochistan.
The MMA vote bank may have become more extreme and decided that Maulana Fazal Rehman was far too liberal and pro-gov to be voted in.
The ANP were rejuvinated and they won in Hangu and Swat - I believe 2 areas which are not particularly pro-ANP? Hangu of course is a Shia stornghold and with all the recent Shia-Sunni violence in Parachinar it could be that the Shia’s and less radical Sunni’s voted secular ANP - in Swat the ANP victory was on the back of the recent problems of course.
Have people in NWFP finally fed up of mixing religion with politics OR as someone mentionne in another thread the ANP got the same amount of votes this time as in 2002? If thats true then the non-voting public will be dangerous.
Does anyone have any figures of how many voted within NWFP specially the key areas such as Swat, Pshawar valley, Hangu, Bannu
The fact that Pashtuns are voting for parties at extreme ends is not healthy right?
I did expect Q to do better but I suppose th last 9 months took its toll and the last 2 months worsened their position. The delay expected to aid Mush and the Q League but more disasters occured and nothing could save them.
About rigging, it does take place everywhere, with every party, you take my word on that :k:
Let me give you a few first hand instances.. A friend of mine was appointed on election duty, and she told me girls came with wearing veils and bringing in ID Cards with 1930s and 40s as their years of birth… And they all wanted to vote for “cycle”
Moreover, a very close aquaintance of mine told me he voted 7 times for the kite
and this is about those two parties you excluded in any rigging.
There has been a word around anyway that PPP has some heavenly rigging involved..
Rigging did happen, but not the kind people feared of “govt sponsored big time rigging”. Rather small time, local nazims/polling-agent/political-activits backed rigging happened but we didn’t see any “upset” victories, rather “expected” victories.
Before breaking up I think what PML-Q won outside Punjab was all under “PML-N”. Yes they do need to work outside Punjab now otherwise they will remain disconnected and will have to ally/rely on others.
Well, if PML(Q), MQM or any party that were ruling wanted to rig than PPP or PML(N) would not have won more than few seats. So, all this BS about PML(Q), MQM and parties in government rigged the election.
The party that really rigged the election are crook and thug parties 'PPP and PML(N)' and their characterless corrupt thug supporters. Well, it is obvious. Initially government declared that only those would vote who have computerised ID card both PPP and PML(N), especially PPP protested that it is rigging because over 20 million people could not vote. Result was that corrupt and disgraced ex-CJ Iftikhar on pay roll of these two parties pushed government to allow anyone to vote and in cover of that, these two parties did rigging in big way.
Those who think that election was rigged by PML(Q) than it seems that they do not know how to rig the election. I wish that they had and I hope that Musharraf must have learned the lesson. Now he should start trying to find excuse to dissolve the parliament and then call another election as soon as possible, so that election can bring right result. :)
I am sure that once he dissolves the parliament, Supreme court would hold his decision. :D
Now he should start trying to find excuse to dissolve the parliament and then call another election as soon as possible, so that election can bring right result. :)
. I wish that they had and I hope that Musharraf must have learned the lesson. Now he should start trying to find excuse to dissolve the parliament and then call another election as soon as possible, so that election can bring right result. :)
I am sure that once he dissolves the parliament, Supreme court would hold his decision. :D
So you want to deny people's right of vote?
Only army has the right to vote, if people vote and a govt of different opinion is formed then it is illegal and needs to be abolished.
Well, if PML(Q), MQM or any party that were ruling wanted to rig than PPP or PML(N) would not have won more than few seats. So, all this BS about PML(Q), MQM and parties in government rigged the election.
The party that really rigged the election are crook and thug parties 'PPP and PML(N)' and their characterless corrupt thug supporters. Well, it is obvious. Initially government declared that only those would vote who have computerised ID card both PPP and PML(N), especially PPP protested that it is rigging because over 20 million people could not vote. Result was that corrupt and disgraced ex-CJ Iftikhar on pay roll of these two parties pushed government to allow anyone to vote and in cover of that, these two parties did rigging in big way.
Saleem saheb, please read ehtasabs post before posting your conclusio.
Nevertheless there has been some rigging and some sources do complain about It. Please read independent news sources.
Saleem saheb, please read ehtasabs post before posting your conclusio.
Nevertheless there has been some rigging and some sources do complain about It. Please read independent news sources.
In sahib say behes bilkul fazool hai...he is heavy on crack and mostly doesn't know what he is talking about...can you believe he is suggesting Musharraf to disslove the assemblies and conduct an even more rigged election and call it the means to achieve ends...I would call it evil means to achieve evil ends...
I can not imagine why mods are so soft with him...
He looks like Musharraf's chief advisor...no wonder Musharraf is in such a pathetic situation..I think both of them take crack together...remember both of them predicted 145 seats for Musharraf supporters...
Mr. Pervaiz Elahi said at a news conference that PML(Lota) and its allied parties received 40% of the popular vote, whereas PPP received 37% and PML(N) 33%. :)
Basic arithmetic doesn't seem to be a forte of Mr. Fake Commando and his minions. First of all, 40+37+33 != 100. And second, in your quest to prove that your party PML(lota) and its allied parties received more votes(40%) than PPP(37%) and PMLN(33%), you conveniently overlooked the fact that the opposition parties received 60 percent of the popular vote if PML(Lota) got 40%, or 70 percent according to your own statement. :)
Frustrating reaction. In fact PMLN inflicted crushing defeat to its opponents. In urban areas of Punjab PMLN is invincible. By calling the supporters of PMLN and PPP you are insulting the peoples verdict which is very clear and loud.
In sahib say behes bilkul fazool hai...he is heavy on crack and mostly doesn't know what he is talking about...can you believe he is suggesting Musharraf to disslove the assemblies and conduct an even more rigged election and call it the means to achieve ends...I would call it evil means to achieve evil ends...
I can not imagine why mods are so soft with him...
He looks like Musharraf's chief advisor...no wonder Musharraf is in such a pathetic situation..I think both of them take crack together...remember both of them predicted 145 seats for Musharraf supporters...
Yazdi, are you always high, drunk and on hashsih? I do not know why you always get personal, though I can guess as you belong to Punjab Municipal League led by Chota Tind and Bara Tind, a party full of liars, thugs, crooks, and drunks, who accuse others and become personal all the time.
Anyhow, you should understand that if you would become personal, others can become personal too.
Yazdi, are you always high, drunk and on hashsih? I do not know why you always get personal, though I can guess as you belong to Punjab Municipal League led by Chota Tind and Bara Tind, a party full of liars, thugs, crooks, and drunks, who accuse others and become personal all the time.
Anyhow, you should understand that if you would become personal, others can become personal too.
Except that he is right about your posts, which are always wrong
You should stay quite man. I have given on you long time ago. I know the level of your post that is full of craps and BS. You have nothing in your arsenal other than MQM phobia, ethnic bias, and tangent flying.
LOL, every day people tell you how your 110 page posts are full of bakwas, facts on the ground show your predictions are always wrong, yet you stay in your dream world