Gosh!
Sometimes i just get tired of this responsibility. You have your siblings looking up to you and parents have tons of expectations
Sometimes i wonder what if i cant fullfil them?
do you guys feel pressured
i hate being the oldeset one ![]()
Gosh!
Sometimes i just get tired of this responsibility. You have your siblings looking up to you and parents have tons of expectations
Sometimes i wonder what if i cant fullfil them?
do you guys feel pressured
i hate being the oldeset one ![]()
Re: Eldest one!
awwwwww i know exactly how u feel. Actually, no i dont as i m the youngest in ma family :D
I know how you feel. Well, I used to.
My Mom wanted me to go to med school (don't they all)
I got in. . . and didn't go.
That let her down big time.
So now she has absolutely no expectations of me at all
and she thinks my brother is the world. . . cause he might go to med school.
So yeah, now, no more pressure.
I am also the eldest daughter. The only time i had a problem with being the eldest was when i was a kid , i was always told to study hard so that my younger sis would also study when she sees me studying. Although this never happened. I studied, she had fun. It was ok with me though because i am/was the quiet one. Then when i stepped in my teens I was told to act mature infront of my sis. I was stopped from acting childish because my parents thought it would affect choti. They used to say.."Woh to waisey hi itni batameez hai.. Agar tum bhi aisi ho gai to us ko aur mauqa milay ga". In short i was stopped so choti wudnt get a 'mauqa' to do something wrong. Sometimes it worked because my younger sis after doing something wrong went.."yeh bhi to aisey hi karti hai" or "isnay bhi aisa kiya tha", pointing towards me. But i hated to be reminded everytime that i have to be the saint child so that my younger sis becomes like me. Although Alhumdolillah I did get all the care and love from my parents but i was always kept under pressure to act like a 'good girl'. But i am happy because i guess i got more love compared to my sister. My mama discusses family issues with me. My dad takes my opinion before deciding something about our family whether it is big or small. I have never felt a particular 'responsibility' on my shoulders that would bug me. The childhood phase was something that has passed and i dont think about it anymore. My parents were right, my sis did what i did.
I was allowed to make the decision for the choice of my career. No one made me do what they wanted but i was told by my dad that he has always wanted me to excel in whatever field i go. That made things easier for me.
:-)
i agree..i feel bad for anyone who has to look upto u ![]()
Well, its just the beginning nia.
I am eldest of my siblings, i have contributed huge part of my income to my siblings, and once they get settled, they don't. I don't even get a thanks, only i hear
"Toun wadda ain" (U r the eldest)
But, this is life. I love my family and i'll continue to help them.