Either have the feature or take it off

But dont expect thousands of guppies will use it as u want them to. A highly philosophical post may get approved by one intellectual guppy as brilliant idea and disapproved by another as the idea has some flaws in S&P forum but there is no way one can tell who misused it.

Similarly for a cafe population a particular smiley after one of the post may create a hilarious situation and not for the another, they can approve or disapprove it. And there is no way one can say the approvals or disapprovals in cafe or S&P are different in terms of value. They r the opinions of people of different mindsets and no law or religion or what so ever say they r different in value. They both only cast 1 vote in the presidential election.

Neither one can justify if someone approves or disapproves 10 times a day & another only one’s. one finds the posts more interesting and another does not, same way one finds art more interesting and others dont, or one likes the music and others dont. Besides that was the limit set by the Admins and guppies cant bypass that

Manipulating points manfully will only create distance between the management and the guppies. Similar users still have the reputation points and others dont. Practices such as these will only create a dislike, sense of outcast and favorism.

My do athanni ke sikkay :o

:bravo:

Re: Either have the feature or take it off

It should be taken off nonetheless.

If you are approving, you do not have to put anything in comment and i wonder how one would decide if it is misused or not…

I remember thanking Gizzy paayi on his first approval to my post and told him how come you approve something and someone else does not (I was called an “idiot” for the very same post) and I was told that it’s just FUN yaar.. enjoy!

Nothing to enjoy here… I am even scared of clicking on that feature let alone enjoying it … :hehe:

Let’s just ignore it and carry on with our GS :slight_smile:

(Posting it again from a cafe thread, hope you don't mind it)

Gizz,
To be honest, this point system needs some more flawlessness in it and need some major enhancements, the way it is working currently is not 100% proficient!
It need some modifications ...

I can give some tips regarding this system enhancement, but we need to first agree that it need essential changes …

To give points, and not to give point is purely a cafe thing to me ...
while I don't even care to click a thread open by some one whom I by no means ever like, then what’s the point to approve or disapprove what they wrote? approving and disapproving on what ? there are issues on which we don't need to 'approve or not' but we have only two options for giving points ...

This thing needs to be changed, get feedback from all Star Guppis and revise this whole thing ...

PS:
There were no rules defined about any abuse for this system, so no one should be penalized publically ... yes they can be but ethically and in private only

Regards,

Ata...

Personally I like the system. Its a fun thing and members can express their opinions and enjoy stars and everything... however, I am very disappointed in some who are using it like a mafia. I had pointed it out politely earlier, but some of you chose to ignore it. Its some of you who are making the system too high-maintenance by your clear biases, retaliations and group-attacks. Begging for points all over the forum and asking your haali mawaalis to give negative points to someone else is making a mockery of the system. Anyway, if this attitude continues, and it takes more than a reasonable effort to keep tweaking the system to make it work on GS, then I'd request Gizzy to refocus his time and energies on something more productive.

Faisal Bhai… No Offence.. but… I wonder … :confused: If You like the system… Y have U disabled it for Ur self… :naraz:

I like the system too. But only if people didn't give/deduct points without reason. Not a single point (+/-) I have received has been for anything I have posted. Rather my points are either a) taken away by people who disagree with my pov or b) given by people who feel bad for me.

I've been trying to abstain from this gimmick but I've yet to find how to disable it. Can anyone share how?

Yeah totally Agreed with Faisal, and the best solution was to disable the reputation system *just *to avoid getting any more Fun if no Fun indeed ... :-)

We need to change it as a rule that no one can bring their haali and mawaali for negative points, and for postive points as well?!?!?! and since no haali mawaalis are allowed, only GS respected members can give points...

Gupshup top brass/"respected members" were the leaders in this points-for-points scandal. Not to name names, but giving "respected" members privileges would only heighten the problem.

In all seriousness, why do we even need this system plastered all across the forum? We've got user notes. Leave a message and that's it - no need to deem points. No points armies.

Every one is a leader and every one is respected ... no doubt in that, but it changes when we get 'negative' points from them, suddenly they becomes 'haali and mawaali' ...

I guess you will agree to me that this attitude should be change ...
I really don't know who they are, but what I know is that we are not suppose to call them like this on the forum ... its an open insult and attack ... well
No one here is haali, mawaaali charsii etc et all ...

*Why do we need? *
well we do not need, but only for fun stuff, there are many other things which we do not use, but still are there, and other people whose frequency is different than us, uses them ... so to me its ok ...
As long as we are not Forced to use it, its okay ...

my suggestion to you guys would be add “Post Thanks” hack and disable the reputaion hack and just use the “bannage” feature :cb:

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=122944

You can read about it in the lnk above. Here are some features and are very tweakable:

Features:

• Uses vBulletin easy Product installer/updater/uninstaller
  • Uses AJAX technology so your users don’t have to refresh when they thank.
  • Places an easy to use button next to the edit button
  • Separate looks for postbit and postbit_legacy
  • Places all Thanks into one small box
  • Uses only ONE query every time you view a showthread page!
  • Users can’t thank twice
  • Option to not allow users to thank their own post
  • Guests don’t see ‘thanks’ button
  • Counts how many thanks a user gives
  • Counts how many thanks a post gets
  • Shows how many thanks a user gave in every post of his
  • Shows how many thanks a user gave in profile
  • Shows how many thanks a user got
  • Shows how many posts or a user are thanked
  • Shows info in profile
  • Search for a users thanked posts
  • Search for all thanked posts
  • Administrator can remove all Thanks from a single post
  • Users can remove their own Thanks
  • Turn on and off hack totally
  • Turn on and off hack for only some forums <<-- disable for Cafe forum (Highly recommended)
  • Option to turn off hack for all but the first post of a thread
  • Option to turn off hack for all but the first post of a thread in specific forums
  • Option to turn off hack view of date for specific or all forums
  • Option to add to post count when someone clicks ‘thanks’.
  • Option to give a user who receives thanks reputation points.
  • Ban Usergroups
  • Ban Users
  • Uses Phrases
    *]Cache Templates
    I have highlighted, in red, the options I think should be disabled, to ward of any sort of “competition” or “begging for thanks”.

Extract of Gizzy’s post.

*I just reduced the total number of rep points of some members to “10”.

Don’t be surprised if you find your reputation powers gone to a very low level.
If it is you, then it was done to some for abusing the system.*

And since Faisal pra is always shoooo ishmart with his posts he did not mention the names. But my repu was turned back to 10 and Gizzy clearly mentioned it means i am among those who abused the system. And since this thread was posted by me I will take any Admin/Mods reply is directed to me unless explicitly mentioned which Faisal pra didnt in his post. If its directed to someone else please mention and oops…in that case ignore the post except point number 9. Will u? pleeeeej …kochi kochi ko

1. Where is the rule book? The only guidelines available are how many repus i can send in 24 hours which i can not bypass anyway. Even if i give out a +/- repu on smiley it is my opinion as a guppy.

2. Whatever u have pointed out was it in Announcement/Rules/PM? if not u have no right to say i or anyone else ignored. i do not check every thread or post made by u or any other guppy for that matter.

3. Biases? Maybe its just ur bias. Or explain to me how do u measure what repu was given on the bias? what is ur proved formula to calculate?

4. Retaliation/groups? Faisal pra have u started to hallucinate or started to see things? prove either one of these.

5. Begging for points all over the forum? Hello? can u point out some posts ? apart from 1-2 which were used in comic way like almost everyone on the GS including some members from team.

6. Mention single negative repu i sent to anyone or asked to send … if u cant, take ur words back. (which u never will, sir ji ke paas danda hai sir ji always right) :o

7. I have sent out possitive repus to those who sent me negative and to those who i may not be good in terms with.

8. I can mention hundreds of other repu points given on same/similar posts with similar comments and their points were not reduced. Make the profiles to show all the repus instead of recent & i can fill this place with links

9. In case we r keeping this repu system please disable it for me. Like some of the Mod/Admins have it disabled. Please dont tell me we do not have rules as such, ppl have had post/date of joins in whites etc, senior members have requested smilies, even the accounts were deleted.

Thank you.

PS: :smiley: :smiley:

haha:rotfl:

^^ Lolz… :hehe: :rotfl: :hehe:

Jony, AQ was jealous of your points :rolleyes: and he complained to me.. so I had to reduce your points aswell. Jabkay I personally didn’t find you abisung the system, your points were not even that high.

Why I initially reduced points of some (which included AQ and Shobi) was that, I noticed he was threatening people with giving them negative rep, and he DID! Also to other members who he dislikes (just on the basis of his dislike).

the criteria on the basis of which this action was taken: (so all members found doing this were targetted)
– giving rep points to a person and not a post. (on the basis of like dislike that person)
– threatening other member to give them negative rep

some exceptions were made: those member who only used the rep system a very minimal times (since its in use now)
[this was like around 10 times or so] So I viewed that as very insignificant to take action againt them aswell. Afterall, it was a fun thing to start with.
And in the beginning everyone wanted to see who everything works.

Of course, now you want it turned off when your powers are taken away :slight_smile:
If I remember correctly when first introcuded you were first who wanted it turned off, but a few minutes later as soon as you found out how useful it can be, you “changed your mind” :slight_smile:

of course it is for fun, the whole idea of GS is fun.. and this is another feature we thought could help improve the idea of fun behind GS. But since it was being misused, so some action had to be taken..
like I said before, it may even not be permanent!

What rules you want about it. Of course now we’ve seen it being abuse, so rules will follow.

When you click on the “taraazu” what is it that it asks you?
What do you think of “this members” post?

Does that still needs some rules? You just approve or disapprove the post, and the person (with whom maybe you have a personal vandetta) but the post is not any means to take revenge with that person!!!

I am ok with cafe folk and elsewhere on GS Guppies giving eachother points, just for fun.

It cannot be disabled by members. Admins and mods can disable.

It is here for members to use, and for members giving positive or negative feedback about other members posts.

Know about that one! I’ve seen it work on other places.
Its not something I’d want to have on GS.

The sooner we get rid of it, the better.

its something new, these are the initial problems,

The rep system can also be disabled on a per forum babsi, disable it in cafe could be an option. But why take away something from everyone, just coz of a few.

1. Already replied above

2. No one took your name, so chill jony

3. The reason it was taken away from some was that points were given on a personal basis, which was also true in your case. So the rule had to be applied to you. Even though I did notice you were not giving negative reps to anyone.

4. Justifies nothing.

this proves what? or what are you trying to point out?

when I said, maybe not permanent, I meant to say that about the action taken against some members to reduce their points.

:smiley: thanks Gizzo… for Clerifying this.. that its Dictatorship Here… Only Members can gives feedback abt Members… they cant do it for Admins and mods.. coz they are not members .. they are… Generals ( I know I am bad at Spellings)… :smiley:

Musharaf Zindabad :jhanda:

Thanks..

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Just becuse it doesnt show under the nick, doesnt mean a regular member cannot give positive or negative rep to an admin/mod. It simply means the counter is not shown (thats all!!!), other than nothing else changes.

u made my day :smiley: i m laughing my fits off :smiley:

Okay cool. AQ Complained and u did what he said halankay u personally didnt find me abusing the system. WOW that justifies msn ka chashmey wala icon

I already said if it wasnt for me ignore the post

Minuted ago u wrote "Jabkay I personally didn’t find you abisung the system, your points were not even that high. " & now u r saying personal basis? what personal basis ? i m friend with many guppies does that mean i cant send them repu? or i cant send to those i m not friend with? i have sent repus to many i didnt know does that mean i gave it out on personal basis? or to AQ who half world knows i m not on good terms with was personal? or was it those who sent me negative & still my repu to them (if there is any) would be positive was personal? or just bcos i do open & participate in thread which are about the repu points u concluded it was personal? bhai jaan where is the dictionary meaning of ur personal basis theory? :yawn:

I wasnt justifying anything… i m asking/requesting i m done with this “FUN” system. Take it off my profile.

Nothing… i had my laugh on it … i have to prove why i was laughing ? :stuck_out_tongue: