Eid-ul-Fitr coincides with Friday

:salam2:

Please accept our sincere greeting on the auspicious day of Eid-ul-Fitr :slight_smile:

As we aware that in some of countries, Eid-ul-Fitr coincides with Friday which means Eid-ul-Fitr and Jumma Prayer will be offered on same day.

My question is:

• Can a person offers Eid-ul-Fitr prayer and not Jumma Prayer or vice-versa OR he have to offers both Salaath?

Please share your views, with references, is possible. :jazak:

Re: Eid-ul-Fitr coincides with Friday

:wsalam:

This article is a good read.

What will you do? We prayed Eid namaz in jammat, and inshaAllah plan to go for Jummah as well.

Peace @Enchanting_Rose,

I haven’t read the whole article as the “Dhahiri schools” distracted my attention. I never heard about Dhahiri School. Could you please tell me what is ‘Dhahiri School’?

@lethal kamikaze
There is NO EVIDENCE in history to demonstrate merging Eid and Juma.

There are different types of Salah:

1. Time bound Fardh (5 daily prayers)
  2. Sunnat
  3. Nafl (example: Taraweeh, Tahajjud)
  4. Occassion-based (example: taraweeh, funeral, and Eid )

The only evidence of combining/shortening SALAH is within the time-bound daily fardh prayers; example: salat ul Qasr, and Juma’. So, If there is a funeral on the day of Eid, we would not combine funeral and Eid prayers. If there is funeral prayer during Juma; then Juma salah will be separate and funeral salah will be separate. Or if we are praying Taraweeh in Ramadan, we do not skip or combine the Isha Fardh and *witr *either. Moreover we actually AVOID certain combinations specifically, example: Taraweeh and Eid prayers will NEVER be done EVEN on the same day!

In light of this, I am personally of the opinion that combining Eid and Juma would be Bida’ in I’bada (innovation in worship).

Peace @BigdaNawab,

It is already published in various newspapers of 16th July 2015 (Arabic) whether a person can merge Eid and Friday prayers or not. For instance, Dr. Ramadhan Abdulrazzaq, Member of the High Committee for Al-Azhar Shareef Dawah, said: Scholars differed in the establishment of the rule of Friday Salaath after Eid Salaath, which is as follow:

The first is the view of the Hanafi, Maliki that Friday Salaath should be for everyone, because it is a independent salaath and must be offered.

The second, is the view of the public, including the Shafi’i, the fall of the Friday Salaath on the villagers, not for those who came from outside. However, they may offer Jumma Salaath if they’re staying in the town. Otherwise, there is no Jumma Salaath on them.

And third, it is the view of Imam Ahmad ibn Hanbal the fall Jummah prayer will be exempted on everyone who offered Eid Salaath with a choice of that he shall offer Dhuhar prayer at home.

To say the fourth, is the view of Abdullah bin Zubair who said that the Jummah and Dhuhar prayers are expemted from all who offered Eid Salaath.

Furthermore, you’ll read on various site that the “Shaykh Ibn Baaz said in a ruling on Friday prayer on Eid day, that those who attended the Eid prayer he may leave the Friday prayers and pray at noon (Dhuhar) at home or anywhere else.”

Brother of’coz there is evidence in the history and that is why it is discussed. Btw could you please tell me how you concluded it is a “bidd’a”.?

I don’t recall hearing of Dhahiri school of thought either. Kya bataun, mukhe khud hi nahi maaloom.

BidgdaNawab: I didn’t think the question was of merging the two prayers, but rather praying in congregation and which one takes importance over the other if they both fall on the same day.

Yes, you are right, I misunderstood the question.

@lethal kamikaze
But beyond that , as far as priority goes, I am not aware of any discussion by the classical Jurists, so I can’t comment.

I have not read the article but zahiri school of thought refers to a group which merged into what we know today as the salafi/wahabis. The groups most well known product is referred to as shaykh albani. its extinction today is due to its similarity with salafi movement.

The zahiri school was not from the Ahlus Sunnah wal Jamaah

Even here if names like bin baaz are being quoted then it should be known that what is being sought as an answer is liable to be amended by another shaykh because ghair muqallid positions are being explored. Obviously the positions of the four fiqh are more important as representatives of Islamic stances.

From what has been posted here as views of the four madhabs leaves me head scratching because praying at home is not recommended as far as i know, so even for zuhr prayer congregation would be important. I find it hard to believe what has been said is the view of the said madhab. I suspect ghair muqallid false information is being spread on that

Eid is Saturday

Walaikum salaam wa rehmatullah brother LK,

My reference is the Imam and Khateeb for Juma'a salah. This very question was addressed, and in fact he himself brought it up because he also led the Eid salah earlier in the day. He said "I see some brothers are not present for Juma'a who were present for Eid salah. It may be that they have a maslak or understanding which allows to skip Juma'a salah if it happens to be Eid." And he left it at that, and continued with the khutbah highlighting only the fact that it is a blessed day in more ways than usual because firstly we get ajr for Eid Salah, and also for Juma'a for those who did attend.

A lot of muslims from the community attended for the Eid salah as well as Juma'a.

Peace All,

:jazak: for your valuable comments. Yes, scholars are differed as well as Schools of thoughts too but the most important point is that none of them rejected it nor said that one should or shouldn’t do like this or that. However, it is said that if one wish to do this way or another way (as per his/her convenient) may do so. More interesting the Imaam must lead both Salaath (Eid and Jumma) as Imam is not exempted to skip Jumma Salaath due to Eid Salaath.

Here are few hadiths which I would like to share with you all. :slight_smile:

**Book ‘Prayer (Kitab Al-Salat): Details of Commencing Prayer’ of Sunan Abu-Dawud, Hadith No. 1065. **

Narrated Zayd ibn Arqam: Ilyas ibn AbuRamlah ash-Shami said: I witnessed Mu’awiyah ibn AbuSufyan asking Zayd ibn Arqam: Did you offer along with the Apostle of Allah (peace_be_upon_him) the Friday and 'Id prayers synchronized on the same day? He said: Yes. He asked: How did he do? He replied: He offered the 'Id prayer, then granted concession to offer the Friday prayer, and said: If anyone wants to offer it, he may offer.

Hadith No. 1066

Narrated Abdullah ibn Abbas: Ata’ ibn AbuRabah said: Ibn az-Zubayr led us in the 'Id prayer on Friday early in the morning. When we went to offer the Friday, he did not come out to us. So we prayed ourselves alone. At that time Ibn Abbas was present in at-Ta’if. When he came to us, we mentioned this (incident) to him. He said: He followed the sunnah.

Hadith No. 1068

Narrated AbuHurayrah: The Prophet (peace_be_upon_him) said: Two festivals ('Id and Friday) have synchronized on this day. If anyone does not want to offer the Friday prayer, the 'Id prayer is sufficient for him. But we shall offer the Friday prayer.

Eid Salaath do not falls every year on Friday but occasionally. Here is a roughly list of Eid-Ul-Fitr dates:

Monday 23 October 2006
Friday 12 October 2007
Tuesday 30 September 2008
Sunday 20 September 2009
Thursday 9 September 2010
Tuesday 30 August 2011
Sunday 19 August 2012
Thursday 08 August 2013
Monday 28 July 2014
Friday 17 July 2015
Tuesday 05 July 2016
Sunday 25 June 2017
Friday 15 June 2018

Purpose of opening this thread and sharing this information is to educated ourselves rather then labeling one another with this and that groups, sects, followers, un-followers, muqalids, ghair-muqalid etc., which will not lead us anywhere except creating more hatred among us.

By reading the hadiths and various rulings of Scholars, we understood that there is concession if one wish to skip Jumma Salaath if it is coincident with Eid Salaath (day). However, he/she must offer Dhuhar Salaath instead, and his/her Jumma Salaath (if offered) will be counted as “Sunnah”.

As for me, it is like revival of Sunnah and a beneficial thing to learn and share with others.

May Almighty Allah increase our knowledge of learning and understanding Deen. Ameen.

We celebrated Eid on Friday. Our Imam made the announcement during his Eid Khutbah that since it was Friday, for everyone to please stay seated and listen to the Khutbah as it would fullfill the obligation of attending Jummah khutbah. He said that it would not be obligatory to return later in the day to attend Jummah, but if anyone wanted to please do, as he would be there anyway to lead zuhr but if you couldn't do to Eid celebrations with family, or having to return back to work, then know that attending Eid ul Fitr khutbah would suffice.

The thread does serve a purpose and will have beneficial aspects. However its important to note who is being quoted. If a name like bin baaz and zahiris are being mentioned the thread will also have a negative aspect. And then again all of you seemed to have done eid Friday which means a heavy influence of Saudi already.

Ignore me. I see red with key words

Peace vroom,

I'll suggest you to not to close circle around you and try to remove beams from your eyes so that you may see all around you in one color not as highlighted in red only. There is no negative aspect.

We do not take rulings from ahadith as individuals, but rather follow the position of the school we belong to ... There are many ahadith that seem to oppose other positions that are recognised as convention. It is dangerous to take such ahadith without knowing if there has been any abrogation or whether they qualify as ahkam or not. The basis for enjoining the Jumu'a as given by the ulema is that there are documented khutbahs that relate to the blessing of the eidan (two eids in one day), and the concept that there is no such thing as a day off in Islam ... Our celebrations lead to extra prayers not less - just study Islam and you will see that with extra blessings comes extra requirements for worship never less. So one may conclude that ahadith documented to the contrary must be exceptions and not the rule.

It is farcical to suggest that the community as a whole does not offer Jumu'ah ... All of the ahadith quoted above read them carefully none of the suggest that jumu'ah will be cancelled and dhuhr will be the jammat offered by the imam ... Rather any concession is being given to individuals.

Muslims view prayer not as a chore, but as a gratituous offering, an expression of happiness that makes us bow our heads to our Lord ... When the Eid of the week and the Eid of the year coincide that should make us happier and give us cause for extra gratitude.

Salafis...always trying to skip ibadah.

I prayed both prayers with Khutba, Eid and Jumma. I don’t know if we can skip it, but I would like to see Aima Karams views on it.

@lethal kamikaze Did you skip Jumma Khutba on Eid day?

Peace Brother @psyah,

The chain of the narrators of the above quoted hadiths are as follow:

The chain of narrators for the Hadith No. 1065 are Mohammad bin Kathir bin Abi Ata who heard from Isra’il bin Younus bin Abi Ishaq, who heard from Uthman bin Al-Mughira Al-Thaqfy who heard from Ilyas ibn AbuRamlah ash-Shami who witnessed Mu’awiyah ibn AbuSufyan asking Zayd ibn Arqam who witness of offering Salaath along with Prophet Muhammad :saw2:

The chain of narrators for the Hadith No. 1066 are Muhammad bin Tryf bin Khalyf who heard from Sulaiman al A’mash who heard from Ata bin Abi Rabah who said Ibn Zubair told. Also there is another hadith with some variation of wording but it was narrated by Mohammad bin Bashaar, who heard from Yahya bin Said bin Farroukh Al-Qatan who heard from Abdul Hameed bin Jafar bin Abdullah who heard from Wahb bin Kysan Al Quraishi who told Ibn Zubair prayed like this when two eids i.e., Eid-ul-Fitr and Jumma coincidence on same day. Ibn Abbas told “He followed the Sunnah:”.

The chain of the narrators of the Hadith No. 1068 are Umar bin Hafs bin Ghyath who heard from Baqiyya bin Al-wahid bin Saaid who heard from Shubah bin Al-Hajjaj who heard from Abdul Aziz bin Rafi who heard from Dhakwan Abu Salah Al-Saman al-ziyat who heard from Abu Hurairah who said Prophet Muhammad :saw2: told us this.

The same tradition has been narrated by Umar form Shubah too.

@mahool Bhai, No I didn’t b’coz I heard this first time when Imam was delivering the Khutba of Eid-ul-Fitr. My curiosity increased and I went to offer Jumma Salaath too and found our Masjid which usually over crowded 6/4 was 1/4 empty. Maybe the peoples offered Friday Salaath in other Masjid due to eid or maybe they followed Sunnah, as mentioned in hadith.

Almighty Allah knows best.

After Eid namaaz & Khudbah (on Friday) the sheikh at my masjid weighed in with his opinion on this - while recognising that the topic has many different views, he was opined that
-when Eid falls on Friday an individual who comes for Eid prayers is not obligated to come to the masjid for Jummah but can do Zuhr at home instead
-BUT Jummah is obligatory for the community.

Meaning that as long as some people from the community come and do Jummah, then others can do Zuhr at home.

Peace mAd_ScIeNtIsT

To clarify according to the references above actually only those people who attended Eid jama may do this ... Those who missed Eid jama, would still be required to attend Jumu'a which means in practical terms for the community Jum'ua prayer can not be forsaken by a masajid ... Just in case there are some members who didn't make it for Eid. Note: Eid is Fard-kifaya and Jum'ua is fard. What this ruling is saying in practice is that only for those who prayed Eid can treat Jum'ua as a fard kifaya. So the imam must make it clear for the sake of those who didn't make it for Eid and decide to pray dhuhr at home that it would be sinful to do this, knowing that Jum'ua is being done in the masjid.

Brother jazakAllahukhair for the effort but the chain of narrators is not important for me, because the names are meaningless to me - I’m not a master of ilm-u-rijal, All I need to know is what official ruling these ahadith have been responsible for by schools of ahl-us-Sunnah. Did the schools say yes pray dhuhr at home or no pray jum’ua?

And is it a Sunnah? Did Rasoolallah (SAW) do this himself, or did he (SAW) allow it to be done? Note … Isn’t there a condition that those who came for Eid jama’ may not need to come for Jumu’a? Just because the word “Sunnah” is mentioned in ahadith it is important to ascertain what is meant by the term Sunnah here.