Eid traditions..share yours

Eid is a joyous occassion and has its own traditions and customs, some limited to families and some spanning countries, regiosn and even all muslims.

I would like to hear about the Eid traditions and activities that your family participates in. I dont want to limit it to just mulims either, if you are a non-mulsim and have been invited to Eid events and taken part in Eid festivities share that too.

For those who have kids, how do you celebrate Eid so the kids are excited about it and understand it?

It is easier if you are in Pakistan because the festivities are all around you, and special programming on TV etc helps. How do you make it a special event abroad?

haaey allah Eid!! allah bacchpan mein eid per itna maza aata tha...naaye kapray miltay thay naaye jotay bi aur phir daadi jaan se 5 rupay eidi bi blah blah blah.....bus ji mera culture'pana idher khatam ho jata hei baqi kuch cultured ppl batayein ge....come on ppl its eid...share ur eid memories blah blah

Muddat hui Pakistan meiN Eid nahiN manai - Up here what we do is we get to gather or rather the elders get to gather before eid and decide who’s going to cook what on Eid, that way we have Kheer/SaweiNyaaN at one place, lunch, something between lunch and Chai, then chai and finally dinner all spread out

The idea is to cover as many houses as possible. After namaz-e-Eid Abbu jee and bhais usually go to the Kheer house first if it’s on the way or they come home first to give us Eidi. When we were younger we tried to be ready before Abbu and bhai would come home now it takes more time

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/redface.gif

Khair from there aage khazraat peeche peeche khawateen, in between we make random stops to cover rest of the families. The best part is the dinner, being the final stop it’s usually more fun, and you never know what exactly will happen their everything from dholki to kids war can be expected.

It’s easier to explain it to kids if they’re active part of Ramadan then they know what Eid means - My younger brother started fasting when he was 6 or 7, he went to tarawi and read Azaan, surah or Na’at there so he knew he’d be getting a lot of attention and presents during Ramadan and on Eid.

The day or night before is perhaps more exiting the Edi day it self, the bla bla yada yada over kal eid hai ya nahiN is too much fun if Eid is on a weekend else the masijd announcing Eid on a Monday is just corrupt!

Eid was a very fun thing when I was a kid. I use to wait for eid all year long. At Eid day my whole family use to gether in our grandfathers house. we use to go for outing as whole family. All girls and guys use to team up to have contest of peotry and songs, and our grandfather was juge in our match.
Then we use to have a competion of silly tricks. It was very fun, now in america it is very boring.

I have some very distinct memories of eid in several different places. As a kid, celebrating eid al adha in Mekkah after the Hajj. big celebrations going on in the pilgrims camps in Mina and Mazdalfaa. That was always so special. Playing with other kids in the area who came from all over the world, and did not even speak each other's languages but somehow were able to manage to understand each other.

Other memory that I have is of eid in Pakistan. all of us at my nana's house after namaz and collecting eidi and just all people hanging out and hitting teh local shops to buy things we had been eyeing for the last week or so. playing games and telling nana one surah before he will give Eidi. evening we would head out to my daadi's house with all my cousisn from my dad's side..and after collecting the eidi and meeting everyone, heading to some place to have some snacks. staying up till late night performing skits, pulling pranks and practical jokes. It was a blast.

I recall my mum getting up way early in the morning to make sheerqurma and insiting we have some before we head out for namaaz.

The two things I miss the most are the fact that my dadi would give the kids eidi two three times a day, she would always forget kaunsay bacchay kau dee thee aur kisskay nahin dee thee..and her doodh sawaiyyian int he morning before namaz..miss these two traditions the most...nostalgic wala icon

Haji sahab!(mr fraudia)

clebrating Eid in makkah must be once in life time experience, it must be twice as joyfull and spiritually fulfilling.

yeh moqe zindagi mein baar baar aaeyaa nahee karte.
Allah ham sab ko tofeeq de

btw: plz do accpet my apology for being out of my orbet a little while back (on chat), you may not remember but I do.

wAfaa sho_haaR kahee hain koi hasEE’n bhi to ho*^*
chalo phiR aaj uSsi be_wAfaa kii baat kareiN**^

[This message has been edited by MAREEZ_E_ISHQ (edited December 20, 2001).]