Re: Eid Miladunabi In Pakistan
Why did'nt the Companions of Prophet(saw) celebrate his Birthday like we do now a days.........
i dont get it
still it doesnt make any sense
I dont know ...
Maybe they had much much higher level of love and devotion that they never felt any need for re-assurance expression on a single day.
On the other hand our level of Eman and love for prophet (pbuh) is at the lowest level... much is desired.
But there are other ways of gaining strength of imaan, it goes down to personal choice and where one find peace of mind and heart
once in pakistan my sister in law did'nt cook anything on 12th of rabbi ul awal........my auntie said you will be getting gunnah by not cooking any halwa or pilau on that day.
and when i used to go in people houses and give them the zarda pilau....some of them did'nt take it.
I came to know they are wahaabis.
I don't know why did'nt they accepted that zarda pilau.........i dont cook zarda pilau any more on 12th rabbi ul awal........but i do remember the smell of the daigs of zarda pilau in pakistan.
i mean if some muslim give me some zarda pilau.......should i take it or not.......im confused about it.
i won't accept the food from 11th of every month.
but do people give food on 12th of rabbi ul awal in the name of Allah or in the name of Prophet(pbuh).
can someone guide me about this issue.
I agree with you. But why some of us are keen to point fingures rather than praise. Milad is celebrated on 12th where we all get the chance to show our love for our prophit :saw: --PAD–but doesn’t mean that the guy celebrating milad will go home to involve in sinful life for the rest of the remaining year until next milad celebration.
YOu are no one to judge others unless you observe them thorughtout the year. Also, anyone celebrating milad is not obliged to inform you whether he prays five times a day, recite quran daily, earn halal and practice islam at rest of the year.
Is he??
Maybe they had much much higher level of love and devotion that they never felt any need for re-assurance expression on a single day.
On the other hand our level of Eman and love for prophet (pbuh) is at the lowest level... much is desired.
But there are other ways of gaining strength of imaan, it goes down to personal choice and where one find peace of mind and heart
yup!
seconding that! Not celebrating doesn't mean they refused it! afterall silence is half agreement --as per UNO law n islamic sharia too ;)
well gunnah thing is misconception. you like it do it, don't like it leave it there is no "farz" label attached to it. Some like partying on this day (don't mix it with dating) so they cook delicious food and distribute it, as they do, on their offspring's birthday.
To code_red
Well so our level of love and devotion is low........
and we try to make it high through celebrate His(saw) Birthday that means we are not only low in our love but we are also fake.Showing others that we love our Prophet(saw) through celebrating his Birthday...........
Christians do the same thing.they dont follow Jesus(as)'s teachings.But they celebrate his Birthday with so much passion.
To imran
So you also celebrate birthday of your off spring.
I've left celebrating birthdays of mine and others.its the following of kuffaar.Way before Prophet(saw)'birth The romans ang greeks started celebrating the birthdays of thier"gods".And then west followed them as they copy them(Romans & Greeks) in every way.
I'll say again you just wanna "have a party".............
I believe that as a Muslim we should'nt copy the Kuffaars.......
agree with that but i 'd like to add a point to it that its better if you distribute and share the food with poor in addition to those who have excess food filled up in their refrigerators.
Code Red **I am refering to this paharis event that i have heard of ( i havent seen ) so i am not sure , maybe if you know what is done at that event you can explain better, as far as i have heard of it ppl decorate a stage with toys , statues etc and put loud music whole through the night.
i dont find it islamic in any way
its just a celebration , nothings wrong with that, it is not as if we are following kafirs if we celebrate birthdays.Stop wearing the dresses they wear, using computers, tables to eat food ,talking in english if you think that following kafirs is wrong.
Using computers,Speaking English,Eating at tables and Travelling in the Cars and Planes etc...........They've nothing to do with religion.........
Celebrating birthays is a religious ritual of non-believers.
"Using Computers" is not a religious ritual.its not even a ritual.Computer is a modern form of "abacus" or other calculating methods.
"Speaking English" is'nt a religious ritual either.Its a language.And we are allowed to speak any language.
"Eating at tables"Is'nt a religious ritual.But its better to eat while sitting on a floor coz its a following of Prophet Muhammad(saw).But we are also allowed to eat at table.
and travelling in cars and planes is the modern form of travelling via horses and camels.
Wearing clothes of Kuffaar..........We are allowed to wear any thing until it covers our aurah.
THe non-believers invented that "religious ritual" of celebrating Birthday.and None of the sahabah(ra) celebrated that day like we do today.
A life of a Muslim is not all about celebrations.
^celebrating ones birthday is NOT a religious ritual either, so celebrate your kids birthdays and make them happy..![]()
but celebrating Prophets birthday is a religious ritual..![]()
so anyone can explain that..can it be celebrated?
Still celebrating birthdays of children does'nt make sense...............
Birthday mean the day(monday,tuesday,wednesday,thursday,friday,saturday,sunday) you born.
So if someone celebrate a birthday it should'nt be on the date or month he born it should be the day(weekday).
but im not going to celebrate the birthday of my children inshAllah.........
what is the big deal in celebrating birthday?
well coz i born.........What a silly reason to celebrate something.
Instead of celebrating birthdays of children we should try to make our children good Muslims.and teach them about Islam.
Birthday parties has Nothing to do with Islam.............its reminds me of Pagan Romans and Pagan Greeks.
I can make my children happy by giving them reward when they do something good.
I can't do this.......giving them reward for that reason that they born.
ohh well in this case mothers should be rewarded coz they had to go through all the pain.
Hareem says
Still celebrating birthdays of children does'nt make sense...............
Birthday mean the day(monday,tuesday,wednesday,thursday,friday,satur day,sunday) you born.
So if someone celebrate a birthday it should'nt be on the date or month he born it should be the day(weekday).
but im not going to celebrate the birthday of my children inshAllah.........
what is the big deal in celebrating birthday?
well coz i born.........What a silly reason to celebrate something.
Instead of celebrating birthdays of children we should try to make our children good Muslims.and teach them about Islam.
Birthday parties has Nothing to do with Islam.............its reminds me of Pagan Romans and Pagan Greeks.
than its your personal choice if u dont want to celebrate it ..dont ..but plz dont relate it to the religion
Hareem says**
I've left celebrating birthdays of mine and others.its the following of kuffaar
whatever u say on forum is important as ppl might be trying to learn about religion from these posts..so if you make such statements someone might feel islam restricts us from these things..whcih is not correct
ps: by celebrating childrens birthdays , you may end up teaching children about love and care whcih they will cherish all their lives :)
I am telling people the truth about Islam.........Islam is not about celebrating birthdays.
If someone is in doubt and fear that if he becomes muslim then he can't celebrate birthday then he should'nt become a muslim.
If someone becomes muslim then he would'nt celebrate birthday parties in the first place.....i know quite a lot converts who don't celebrate thier birthdays.
Celebrating Prophet(saw) birthday like people celebrate now a days is for me as the christians celebrate Jesus(as)'s birthday.
I'm against the way people celebrate the Prophet(saw)'s birthday....We should fast on every monday if we want to celebrate like THe Prophet Muhammad(saw) did.
And Don't concern about the children that they will forget about the love and care by not celebrating thier birthdays parties.
The early rightous Muslims were much better than us lots..........They knew how to love and care.....but they did'nt come to know about"love &care"by celebrating Birthday Parties.
You are a zealot. Why do you have such a problem with others practicing what they want? No one is forcing you to do so. I attend a Mawlid celebration. You know what we did? It started with a recitation of the Quran, including the verses about the Prophet’s nature. A scholar spoke about the love we should have for our Prophet, including emulating his life. He spoke about his sacrifices for us and how his teachings are more relevant today than ever. Then, one person recited some poetry about the Prophet. Then we made dua. There were about 800 people there. Without this event, most of us would have spent the night either watching TV or wasting our time.
What exactly is wrong with any of the above? Kindly tell me. I do not judge your practice, why must you judge mine? None of us denies the Five Pillars or any other tenets of faith. “Bidaa” you say? Please don’t be ignorant. Are you not aware of Bidaa hasanah and ghair hasanah? If you are not, then do not use this word. Was Imam Bukhari’s text available at the time of the Prophet? Why do we use the musnad? Why build a dome on a mosque? Why build a minaret? Will all beauty be stripped bare before all is said and done by zealots like yourself? Enlighten us.
The initial post has more to do with the celebration of Milad in general and not necessarily with the different Islamic verdicts on it. Hence, better suited in General than in Religion forum.
May Peace and Blessing of Allah be Upon you Tums
You want me to enlighten you, but I'm afraid as a "zealot" I can't enlighten you ... I've been branded - and when someone is branded that person is disowned ... you've disowned me. Look if you feel your love for the prophet Muhammad (SAW) will increase then do what you must ... I can't tell you what to do ... this is just a forum for talking to people and exchanging ideas ... you haven't exchanged ideas nor have you commented on what I mentioned about expressing love to our children, by other ways without birthdays.
About Bida' .... well ... I never mentioned it. Bid'a means "innovation" or a "change" it doesn't mean something "new" - no bid'a can be accepted as "good" without testing it's effects or without knowing it's possible shortfalls ... In the compilation of the Qur'an it was a very thought through decision. How much thought has been put in to birthday celebations?
Let's see ... what are the tests?
Has this been done by people before?
Answer: Yes - Christians
What happened? They worship Jesus (AS)
Alhumdulillahi Rabil'Alameen - Praise be to Allah the Lord of the Universe
Condition of ALL praise should be directed towards Allah ... Love and passion are very close to praise and worship, but are different ... If however, love and passion are focussed beyond what is correct according to the method of the Rightly Guided Companions of the Prophet (SAW) then we get Praise not Love.
I'm not saying that people are praising the prophet (SAW), but there is that danger there especially for the ignorant ... yet it is the ignorant who practice this the most! - This should read warning signals ...
Look I can't change what people have been doing since their earliest days nor do I say that you should do as I do ... I have however after seeing more of the world, read more of what everybody has to say ... forced myself to make some changes in myself ... this is what I have done ...May Allah keep me and all of us free from turning down guidance in place of our desires.