eid dessert table ideas- help!

Re: eid dessert table ideas- help!

oy! thanks people!

ok first off, its a desi gathering, yes, but i've never made shahi tukray or sheer korma before. i've always associated it with "grown up" gatherings, like ones hosted by my parents :p
i know, its silly but i guess i'm married now and sort of grown up so i should give it a shot... recipes please!

gina, i would love that coconut bars recipe- i think i've got too much chocolate happening here.

ooh, chocolate dipped strawberries! i could definitely do that with white and dark chocolate. and also, i was thinking i'd make truffles and roll them in walnuts, coco powder and coconut.

rupay, the strawberry gateau squares sound delish too... oooh, for the minitarts, i found this great filling- mix mascarpone cheese with whipped cream and a bit of sugar and clear vanilla, and then top with fruits. melt some jam for the glaze and brush it on. yummeh!

man, im going to have to start baking three days before!

^maine chori kii facebook se SGC k liye.. aur lagta hai unko kuch pasand hi nahi aaya :S

SGC, i remember you posted a recipe of your homemade truffles once. can you please post it again?? i lost the link to it

mysticalrain, I totally know who you stole the pics from. I know her very well. :D

SGC I hope everything turns out YUMM!!, the idea of a dessert table sounds heavenly!

I'm hungwy ;(

^ am not quoting the pi cs, but I would love it if your friend could provide the recipe for mini strawberry chese cakes!!! i know theres tons of recipies for minicheesecakes on the net, and someoen even posted a link here, but it would be nice to get the one ur friend used! i want something tried and tested, plus her minicakes look way better than other pics i have seen...

could you please post the eclairs recipe? thanks!

haha good for u!! atleast I had the courtesy to tell people they are stolen!!

hey girls try this out !!

Sweeet little mountain

1/2 CUP CRUSHED SWEET BUISCUIT
2 TBSP BADAM
2 TBSP PISTAY
2 TBSP COCONUT
2 TBSP KISHMISH
5-6 GLAZE CHERRIES
1/2 CUP CORNFLEX
2 TBSP CHOCOLATE CHIPS
1/2 TIN CONDENCED MILK

METHOD:

• saab se pehlay 2 tbsp oil le kar pista n badam ko fry karlien aur crush karlain
  • then saray ing. ko mix karlain
  • binding k liyee condence milk dalien ..itna k saray ing apas mai bind ho jain
  • then halka sa pani laga kar chotay chotay balls bana kar pre heated oven 200 degree par 10 mints k liyee bake karien..

Umm.. SGC, my mother makes these amazing coconut laddo's I can get u the recipe if u want. They're super quick and u can do "desi" and "non-desi" desserts.

^ Is that the same as the coconut bars you mentioned earlier? Please post that recipe, I love coconut!

btw,if its a desi gathering u might wanna try shahi tukray...esay and yummy...!!..infact i am making some tonight...:)

Please share the recipe, I must learn how to make more desi desserts! Thanks

MR, no way lady! i loved everything- it looks really yummy and i was hoping you'd follow up with the recipes ;)

eclairs recipe- this one is a no-fail, guaranteed hit! i have made it sooo many times now and each time, it seems like i don’t make enough because people just polish off 3-4 each!
also the picture they’ve posted makes them seem hideous, but they can be as pretty as you want. i usually get about 15 out of one batch cos i pipe mine smaller- who wants to eat an eclair the size of your shoe, you know?
Eclairs II - Allrecipes

truffles recipe- i made these and boxed them for little christmas time give-aways. the ones rolled in cocoa powder and crushed, toasted walnuts were the favourites. the chocolate is a bit fussy to work with so just make sure its well-chilled as are all your utensils and make sure the kitchen is nice and cool. i always add a bit of raspberry jam to half the batch as it gives it a nice subtle kick.
Easy Decadent Truffles - Allrecipes

gina, yes please! i’d love the coconut laddoo recipe- i really don’t know how to many any desi desserts which is a shame.
shahi tukra recipe anyone??

can someone please post a strawberry shortcake recipe?? thx :))

Coconut Ladoo's

2 cups powdered milk
1 cup ground almonds, pistachio's
1 cup shredded coconut
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup oil
1 egg

In a pan add the oil, milk powder and ground nuts and cook till the oil seperates.. add the sugar and coconut. Remove from heat and beat-in the egg real quick. Flatten-out this mixture on a tray and let it cool.. once it's cool form into ladoo'd, u can even roll them in shredded coconut.

• Shahi Tukray * INGREDIENTS: Bread - 6 slices (sides removed & cut into half in triangle shape) Desi ghee - 1 cup Milk - 1 liter Zarda food color - a pinch Green elaichi [Cardamom] - 5 to 6 Sugar - 1 cup Badam, Pista, Kaju - 1 cup (finely chopped) Khoya or Khalakhand - 1 cup (crushed) Rooh Kewra water - 6 to 7 drops

METHOD:
1. Heat 1 cup of desi ghee in a pan, and fry the bread pieces till golden brown in color and arrange this fried bread pieces in a serving dish and keep aside.
2. In another deep saucepan, put 1 liter milk, add a pinch of yellow (zarda) food color, 6 green elaichi mix it well and let the milk boil for 20 to 25 min until it reduces to half and become thick.
3. Then add 1 cup sugar mix it well and cook until the sugar is fully dissolved in the milk.
4. Keep ¼ quantity of milk sauce in the saucepan, and pour the ¾ quantity of milk sauce over the fried bread pieces and let the fried bread pieces get soaked in this milk sauce for 5 to 10 mins, and then pour the remaining ¼ quantity of milk sauce over the fried bread pieces.
5. Garnish it with chopped nuts (badam, pista, kaju); over that put 1 cup crushed khalakhand, over it put some more chopped nuts.
6. Lastly sprinkle some rooh kewra water and Shahi Tukray is ready to be served.

i have tried this recipe and it turned out really yummy :) got it from a cooking show.

awww ok im posting links to the recipes’

Strawberry Shortcake - Allrecipes - Strawberry Shortcake

Chocolate-Peanut Butter Cookies - Allrecipes - Peanut Butter Cookies with Chocolates in the Middle

Broadway Brownie Bars - Allrecipes - these are different from the ones posted.. but im sure theyre as deelish as the picture shows

Strawberry Cheesecake Pie - Allrecipes - the picture posted of the last dessert is a cheesecake pie just a smaller version..

enjoy making the desserts.. :slight_smile:

Try the death by Chocolate! Its a guranteed hit!! Bake from a mix or buy a store bought German Chocolate Cake. Break the cake into small pieces and arrange half of it in a decorative bowl and pour half cup pf prepared coffee (liquid) over it. Put half quantity of chocolate pudding (home made or store bougt pudding cups) then break into small pieces frozen Heath Chocolate bars and sprinkle half the quantity over the pudding then half quanity of whipped topping. Repeat the layers and Voila!!

SGC, I tried your truffles receipe and it was very well liked! Thanks!!