Eid Collections 2013

Re: Eid Collections 2013

AJ has silk, rest are lawn?? Any othe collections that arent lawn?

Sorry, I'm a boy.. But I gotta post it..

These collections are amazing :P

Sobia Nazir is coming with her silk collection as well

Is that lsm fizza?

Yes LSM
5A

Umer Syeed Eid collection

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151699692679421&set=a.10151699692544421.1073742011.274915279420&type=3&theater

Shirt front and border patti

Sleeves/panles

Embroidered neck piece

how about these for my first eid after marraige?

I have ordered the first one in a different colour .. the blue one .. :-)

last one is paindu

Does anyone remember these? :cb:
Received them as gift some time ago but just got around to getting them made

Fizzy, these are nice. Kahan chuppa Kay rakhay thay and which lawn is this?

confused what to buy for eid any suggestion

Had my eyes on this one, finally got it.
Khaadi vol 1

LOL...never got around to getting them made....got few more at home...will have to dig them out next time... they are SS suits... from their Eid collection...cant remember what year :D

ye lo I found them :stuck_out_tongue: last year ke hi hain, not too old :slight_smile:

oops forgot to attach pics…here you go

blechh. had my heart set on this one, looked so elegant in the photos. what a disappointment.

went to Raja Sahib MM Alam today for a look-see, wasn't planning on actually making any purchases 'cause i've got Eid sorted already, Alhamdulillah -- but wasn't averse to picking up something should it catch my eye, either :P for anyone who's interested, here's my brief on the offerings.

on the whole, the stock was a huuuge disappointment. as the real-life photos in this thread verify, Sana Safinaz's collection was underwhelming to say the least, and add to that the 5k+ price tag: it wasn't selling. the place was thronging with customers -- last few days before Ramadan, obviously there's a dash to get the shopping done and fobbed off on the tailors -- but not many of them seemed interested in the SS displays. the few that took the time to match the real deal to the glammed-up catalogue photos were, in a nutshell, not impressed. fewer still were the ones that actually made any purchases.
pertinent quote:
unimpressed auntie: yeh buss itnay suit ke liye 6000 rupay dein ge hum?
harangued salesperson:** baaji yeh aap ne hee Sana Safina(sic) ko itna sarr pe charhaya hua hai, ab hum ko kya boltay ho?*
LSM**, in my humble opinion, was one hot mess. the suits had way, waaay too much going on. brights and neons in flamboyant prints, with disparate embroidery and/or fabric patches and/or motifs and/or lace all vying for attention on the same shirt is a *bit *of a visual overload, and doesn't really make for a cohesive, put-together outfit. on more petite frames especially, the stitched-as-per-catalogue end product would be a psychedelic nightmare. maybe that's just me, though. i dunno. seems like nobody does the understated-elegance thing anymore, and that's a sad sad loss. the price tags were the usual, 6k+ish. that aesthetic for that price tag? nope, i'm not sold.

if we're going by hot-ticket items of the hour, then Mehdi definitely takes that cake. the Royal Eid Collection display was the flame that drew the moths, and they were happy enough after their scrutiny to demand the catalogue and be spoiled for choice until they finally decided upon the relative merits of one item over several others and sealed the deal with a purchase. i watched about eleven of the suits fly off the racks in quick succession, despite the 5.8k price average, and was naturally intrigued enough to go inspect the samples for myself. what i saw was a far more coherent aesthetic that didn't overdo it with competing elements but stuck to muted hues for the better part and picked a dignified yet vibrant focal point to do the talking. the quality of the fabric is good, the embroidery patches excellent. and the prices are, in this one instance, justified, because you get bang for your buck. (yes, yes, i gave in and bought one. and i love it, too - more since it was so well-received by the folks at home :P) the only concern you might have, based on the competence of your tailors, is the stitching. plenty of the lookbook default designs are pretty darn complicated, and it's no surprise that the ladies that bought the suits were vocally pensive on the matter of stitching in light of their tailors' abilities or lack thereof.

this designer-lawn deluge has notably put staples like Gul Ahmed and Al Karam back with sales this festive season -- the only other counters i saw selling were the ones with the** Lala-Shariq-Femina miscellany -- again unsurprising, since the suits come with embellishments and price tags in the 3k range that isn't unaffordable for the majority of the populace, especially with regard to the obligatory gift-giving that the season entails. i'd say any of these would be a safe bet for a really good present, and as such they're wearable outfits that'd translate well to everyday and work-wear chic. personally, what with the mixed reaction that my family has to 'yeh aaj kal ke taakiyon aur leeron waaley suit', i think i'll stick with **Nishat's basics because they deliver so well in terms of cloth quality, even without the panels and embellishments. if you can manage the trip, their Digital Print collection is definitely worth a viewing.

Asim Jofa was another disappointment. sure, your opinion might differ from mine if you're happy paying a rounded 12k for a suit that's basically unwearable in the Lahori summer because it's either silken or overloaded with embellishments (or both) and is, again, a sight to boggle the mind in terms of the multitude of patterns and textures crowding the outfit. myself, i'd happily give that a miss. the majority of shoppers at Raja Sahib seemed to share that thought, because drawn to the outfits by the color-and-glitz riot though they were, the interest did wane visibly when they stood around debating the practicality of such a purchase for wear in the sticky haze that is early August, and then dispersed to greener (Mehdi-er, in most cases) pastures.

Motifz was another happening brand; they're offering glossy swiss lawns with the usual embroidery and pattian, and most of the suits on display were worth a closer look. i evaded that rush because i'd already scored one outfit from their summer collection, a fresh floral peach with asymmetric embroidery in pastels -- be warned, though: it's always wiser to scrutinise the suit before you pick it up. i bought a sea-green one initially, but when i got home and opened up the package, the embroidery and the panel was a bit messy at the bottom for my piece. they were kind enough to replace it after, with an alternate that was up to standard. at Raja Sahib this time around, Motifz was definitely a contender.

appending my take on **Khaadi **to the masterpost: the Eid collection is pretty much same ol' typical Khaadi, if you know what that entails -- the you've-seen-it-all-before thing. same patterns, same embellishments, same overall look, albeit with a greater profusion of embroidered yardage. nothing special, really; the only way i see someone going for these is if they're Khaadi loyalists, in which case they'll get exactly what they're looking for down to the last detail. the general fabric-embroidery quality is good as always, but the wow factor is sadly lacking in many of the designs for anyone who owns more than a couple of Khaadi outfits already, 'cause they'll have been there, worn that, in one way or another.

that, ladies, is the seen-and-heard-and-thought of my half-hour at the festive season's apparel melee, my two cents' worth that hopes to help. Ramadan Mubarak to you all, and whenever you decide to take the plunge, happy shopping!

wow, birdie, thats was such an interesting and informative read!!
I was almost ready to give in to one of the Eid collections, but thats to you, i am now 7k richer!!
which one of the Mehdi seemed to appeal to you the most? and which one did you buy?
what about khaadi? it looks good in pics, were you able to see that?

secondly, if one were to buy ready made, which one would you recommend?