Egypt – My Travelogue :~)

Actually Ramesees II built this temple in 1279-1213 BCE. in ancient Nubia .. where he wished to demonstrate his power and his divine nature .. Four colossal (65 feet/20 meters high) statues of him sit in pairs flanking the entrance .. The head and torso of the statue to the left of the entrance fell during ancient times .. probably the result of an earthquake .. this temple faces the east .. and the most amazing thing about the temple is that .. the alignment of the temple is such that twice a year the sun’s rays reach into the innermost sanctuary to illuminate the below shown seated statues of Ptah, Amun, Rameses II, and Re- Horakhty :~)

[thumb=A]DSC01155.JPG[/thumb]

I was totally impressed with the amazing work done at Abu Simbel by cha cha Rameses II :~) the only thing annoying me was the low light .. and restrictions on using flash *smack

[thumb=A]DSC01157.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]DSC01159.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]DSC01160.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]DSC01161.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]DSC01165.JPG[/thumb]

Between the two pairs of seated statues is a huge doorway that leads to the inner temple .. The inner hall has two rows of standing Osiris statues that are 33 feet tall :~)

[thumb=A]DSC01166.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]DSC01162.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]DSC01163.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]DSC01164.JPG[/thumb]

After spending a lot of time in Ramsees Temple .. I was left with just one hour to see the Hathor’s Temple :~)

[thumb=A]DSC01168.JPG[/thumb]

Actually part of the temple complex of Abu Simbel is the nearby temple dedicated to the goddess Hathor that Ramses II built for his wife Nefertari .. It is unique in that some of the huge statues in the front are of the queen Nefertari .. and it was a rarity to have a woman so honored :~)

Btw, The artwork in this Temple was just excellent :~)

[thumb=A]DSC01169.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]DSC01171.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]DSC01172.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]DSC01173.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]DSC01174.JPG[/thumb]

When I was done with both the temples .. I saw Ali and those Portuguese ladies wondering around near the Ramsess life size statues :~)

I asked them to stand in a row .. so I can take their picture :~)

Btw, didn’t I mention these Portuguese girls were such a Chipkoo *smack

[thumb=A]DSC01176.JPG[/thumb]

Laters Ali took a picture of me with them :~)

Btw, the key I am holding in this picture was taken from the Door keeper of the Temple and it has the same shape of the famous ancient “Key of Life” .. and the jacket I am wearing here was capable to hold stuff equal to a small school bag :~)

[thumb=A]DSC01177.JPG[/thumb]

Vallerie took my camera and started taking my pictures with the group .. she was already complaining that nobody is taking my pictures *crying

[thumb=A]DSC01179.JPG[/thumb]

and this was taken by ALI .. ( I was even telling them .. ke bhai main Ramsess nahi hoon *crying)

[thumb=A]DSC01182.JPG[/thumb]

Finally I took my camera back from those fools and took some more photos of the Temple and Lake Nasser before leaving that amazing place :~)

[thumb=A]DSC01184.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]DSC01185.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]DSC01187.JPG[/thumb]

To be Continued .. ;)

Salaam habeby!

W:eek: again such beautiful pictures, its a beautiful city Aswan… hey btw if you did little sucking upto them about keeping flash on the camera they wouldve let you , you know!
and those portugese women :smack: sound really annoying… tourists love to get there photo taken…especially Jap’s!
and you ate most typical egyptian dishes, stewed meat dish which you had (kebab halla) is lovely, have you tried Fattah its considered most famous dish in Egypt…??

:flower1:
Dai

Wa’salam Habibti!

Thanks for liking the pictures .. and don’t ask me abt those Portuguese kakies .. they were just a pain in the back :smack: first of all I had to listen to them twice or sometimes thrice to understand .. what actualy they want to say :~) neways after abu Simbel they took a cruise and I got a relief :~)

and Japanese are wallah hay another pain .. they mostly carries 2 or three cameras .. or jahan bhi kharey hojatey hain .. wahan sey hatney ka naam hi nahi lete … *mad

ne ways yes I’ve Tried Fattah even here in KSA .. its one of the specialiality of JAD :~)

btw, have u been to JAD in Cairo ?? :~)

PS: your PM reply is still due .. I’ll do it as soon as I get back to home :~)

*Originally posted by NaasPeeta: *

Wa'salam Habibti!

btw, have u been to JAD in Cairo ?? :~)

PS: your PM reply is still due .. I'll do it as soon as I get back to home :~)

La habeby.. i didnt spend much time in Cairo, i just saw Al-Azhar university and went down Al azher st. to the Islamic museum it was going to get dark so didnt have time to wonder about..

Whereabout is JAD in Cairo, may have seen it on way out or passed by maybe..??

*Originally posted by Dai_sista: *

La habeby.. i didnt spend much time in Cairo, i just saw Al-Azhar university and went down Al azher st. to the Islamic museum it was going to get dark so didnt have time to wonder about..

Whereabout is JAD in Cairo, may have seen it on way out or passed by maybe..??

:) JAD is one of the famous fast food chain in Egypt :~) and its every where in cairo .. I am sure u must have seen it .. but its difficult to remember after such a long time :~)

Ya i thought as much , was only in cairo for maybe 1 hour thats it... yeah i must've seen i jsut cant remember, inshallah will be going again this year and will have proper look..lol

Shokran habeeby for your PM...

excellent pic NAASPEETA jee :k:…
:slight_smile:

Peetooooo thanks 4 sharing :hula:

OK both of you guys Naas and Dai sound like Arabs now with all this Habibi going on. Anyhow, dude you took soo much pix WOW. Where ever I go I take lots of pix but its mostly on tape. Egyptians don't have such great food YUCK, I hate it. Did you have foul or Qashiri?

By the way did you go to "Sharmal Shaikh", Al-Ghardagha" and "Sina"? those places are awsome, sorry if my spelling is bad.

Have you ever went swimming in the Red Sea?

Anyhow, cool pix. I always take alot of pix everywhere I go, but not as much as you. :D

Dai_sista This year ??? in which month ???

Maheen2002 shukran Maheen 2002 ji :~) btw, ab isko 2003 karlo yaar ;)

Papa ke Muskan you are welcome apney papa ki muskaan ;~)

Majestic Meji dear yes I've tastes Qushri and foul ... they both are tasty ;~) I've seen Ghardaga but missed Sharmal Shaikh in this trip .. well, there is always a next time :~) and wait for more pictures .. I've plenty of more to share .. just I am a bit busy these days :( neways thanks for the reply :~)

Amazing pics of Egypt! Thanks for sharing!

Holy Moly this has got to be the best post EVER! Please post a simple chart of where you went - and about how much it cost.

beautiful pics :k:

Thanks a million Guyz!!

Neways I've been busy with my work .. thats why I wasn't able to post all the pictures lately .. but I think, now I have time to share the rest of my treasure to complete my whole visit :~)

But!! now onwards .. less commentary and more pictures :~)

The following pictures were taken at Aswan (southern Egypt) ...

These picture are covering ( The Aswan Museum, Botanic Garden and Nubian Village beside Nile, Tomb of Agha Khan)

[thumb=B]DSC01190.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=B]DSC01191.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=B]DSC01193.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=B]DSC01194.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=B]DSC01195.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=B]DSC01196.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=B]DSC01197.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=B]DSC01198.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=B]DSC01201.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=B]DSC01202.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=B]DSC01206.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=B]DSC01207.JPG[/thumb]