I have never seen anything so brilliant as Umrao Jan Ada. The attention to detail, the brilliant recreation of the era, excellent performances by almost all actors and actress - you name it, it’s all there and it’s all superb. Amina Bano’s debut is the most explosive by any Pakistani actress ever. I think I’ve fallen in love for the second time, the first time being Shehnaz Sheikh. The story is a bit borderline in terms of family viewing. The songs are excellent. Bushra Ansari, Badar Khalil, Saadia Imam (for once she is natural in a role), and one more actress are absolutely smashing.
Though I’ve only seen half of the play, I highly recommend this classic to anyone with any interest in Pakistani dramas. This drama is a powerhouse akin to Waris, Alpha Bravo Charlie, etc. I bought the DVDs and it’s SO worth it. All these Titanics and Devdases etc can not and do not compare to this outstanding drama.
Once again Amina Bano despite having only one performance to her credit is the one most talented actresses in the history of Pakistani TV. :love: like never before. I’ll post more once I watched all of it if anybody cares.
Samby if the play isn't good Iam going to make you listen to pappu yaar tung na kar 5 times back to back and make reema dance to it for your visual delight.
p.s. is it available at the desi stores or did you get it from Pakistan?
FF, I can’t stand listening to any Junoon song more than two times. Can’t I listen to Punjabi Touch instead for punishment? You know I can’t stand Abrar just as much as Junoon. Secondly, I think making moi watch Reema dance is going too soft on me. Wouldn’t you rather have me watch Shehnaz or Amna instead continuously? I promise I will try to feel and look really miserable.
Sehar and FF, as much as I would like to guarantee that this is the most ambitious and grand project in Pak TV’s history, I simply cannot account for people’s bad taste. Anyone who thinks that Hamayun Saeed is an “actor” is not my kinda audience…
Also, what’s with renting the drama you cheapos? Why don’t you buy it? it’s freaking 30 bucks, most people make that amount between one hour to two hours. BUY it for God’ sake (or my sake), I will even give you my credit card number.
on second thought, why don’t you buy it and send me the receipt and I’ll reimburse you? what do you say? OK, Sounds like a plan to me.
I'ld be lucky to sit through an entire drama once, why on earth would I want to buy it for keeps??? Infact since you already have it why don't you just mail it to my P.O.Box address and get yourself another one. Oh and make a copy and send that to Sehar. If I don't have it by this weekend I'll check at the desi store.
*Originally posted by Femme Fatale: *
Infact since you already have it why don't you just mail it to my P.O.Box address and get yourself another one.
That's a reasonable thing to do, I suppose. Ok, so why don't you post your mailing address here and the DVDs will be on their way.
yes, sadzz, I do think it's very, very good. The story is obviously a tragedy, and consequently the drama is not just a feel good comedy. But still IMO, it's a masterpiece. The amount of research and hard work that has gone into making the set, the clothes, the jewellery, the architecture, the songs, the dances as authentic as possible deserves a lot of appreciation. I'll post more when I'm done with it. So far the plot and the drama has only gotten better. :)
Ur too late with your offer Samby. I already rented it and you are lucky that it is a good play Even though I haven’t seen your beloved Humayun Saeed yet! The girl playing Umraao is simply superb! Reminds me a lot of Shamim Ara…very attractive and a great actress. Her expressions are remarkable. Everyone has done great justice to their role. Some of the scenes r a little rsique but all in keeping with the requirements of the storyline. Very good play :k:
na aalu hay na tindaa hay...
Jaan boht sharmindaa hay...
thought i,d correct you on that, or you might see farooqi sahab in ur nightmare.
hmmm... the drama sounds interesting... I saw daira a while back and really liked it.
Is it a private production?
I mean has it been aired for the TV audiences in Pak?
tasleemaat. yeh to hazoor kee zarranawazzi hay warna banda kis laiq. oh man, I would made such a foine tawaif.
FF, the only good thing about Mr. Saeed’s appearance in the drama is that it’s very short. So, I don’t have look at the hunchback for long. He comes in and almost ruins the grace and the mood of the drama but God is indeed very merciful.
yeah man, tell me about Amna Bano. She’s so graceful in everything he does, the way she talks, moves, etc etc. Her expressions are very natural and the way she speaks is so seductive. She’s stunning. And what about the makeup. In the first scene when they show her as an older woman and then they show her early times in the kotha, it’s difficult to believe she’s the same actress. All the supporting cast especially the actresses is terrific.
One thing that gives this drama an edge over any other drama I have seen is how complex the characters are. There is no hero or villain, there’s a bit of both in every character, example Gohar Mirza. The characters are not one-dimensional like they’re in so many dramas. Most characters (at least the ones written by Seema Ghazal) today have zero-dimensions.
Also, re the risque issue, I think it is about time we opened our eyes and took a careful look at ourselves. Are there no tawaifs in Pakistan? Do people not go see them? If the answer is yes, why should TV not show and talk about these issues. Just because it is the Islamic republic of Pakistan does not give us the licence to be hypocrites. but that’s just my opinion. I fully support the likes of Daira and Amrao Jaan Ada for the direction they’re taking Pak TV in.
*Originally posted by KAKA-ATOM-BUM: *
samb... u,ve got the shair wrong...
its
na aalu hay na tindaa hay...
Jaan boht sharmindaa hay...
thought i,d correct you on that, or you might see farooqi sahab in ur nightmare.
hmmm... the drama sounds interesting... I saw daira a while back and really liked it.
Is it a private production?
I mean has it been aired for the TV audiences in Pak?
Kakay, I like my bhindi better than your aloo. ;)
The drama was aired on Geo, so I assume people with Geo must have been able to see it. It's directed by Raana Sheikh. the novel is dramatized by a Zahra Nigah. Amrao is played by an amazing debutant by the name of Amna Bano.
Very true about the complex roles. It's amazing how Umrao puts behind what happens between her and Gohar Mirza! But they are all very life-like characters. How she bluntly states about Gohar Mirza 'mera dil bharr gya tha' aur something like that. Is this really her first time? I wouldn;t be surprised if she has been doing stage prior to this.
I'm going to watch these telefilms next.
*Originally posted by Femme Fatale: *
You can still be a fine tawaif samby :D
an engineering tawaif. hmm, it could work.
When I talk about complex roles, I'm not talking about Amrao, I mean her character is a masterpiece - she's the lifeline of the whole story. But what about characters like Khanam, Gohar Mirza, Bismillah, Moulvi Sahab. Every character has their motives for their actions and they justify it so easily and move on. Incredible writing, really.
Man, I don't know anything about Amna Bano before. first time I'm seeing her though I'll be getting to know her very well depending on google's mood. waisay, you're right. the way she acted could not have been sheer talent. she must have had training/experience prior to this role. apparently, she beat out a lot of people in very competitive auditions.
also, in telefilms, I would recommend Daira if you haven't seen it already. though watching it after Amrao Jaan Ada will disappoint you. but like I said before it is a very good effort and one that needs to be encouraged and repeated. personally, I'm looking for Kamoosh Pani and especially for Raat Chali Jhoom Kay. they're supposed to be good movies.
I know I was just using Umrao as an example. Raat chali jhoom ke was even played in California somewhere. Its supposed to be pretty good. My video guy is increasing his collection and was asking for suggestions! I guess I can give him these telefilms!