Easy PicNic Ideas

What sort of easy prep and no-fuss food do you pack for a picnic lunch on the beach?
We often go prepared for a bbq but this time we don’t want to be bothered with the fuss of hauling all the required items there and back.
We just want to go and have fun and be able to eat food that doesn’t require heating up.

Please keep in mind that while perfectly acceptable, tuna/egg/chicken salad sandwiches do not go over well in our family…:smiley:

Re: Easy PicNic Ideas

Fried chicken/Chicken broast is the best at room temp!!

Some type of pasta salad (if it’s a particularly hot and sunny day, I stay away from a mayonnaise based dressing and will usually do a simple lemon/olive oil vinagerette)..I particularly like Orzo with cherry tomatoes, feta cheese, kalamata olives and torn basil

Aloo tikkis

Some sort of Chaat :smiley:

Fruit kebabs

Bun Kebab/Shami Kebab sandwiches

Chips (usually tortilla chips and guacamole)

cholay
shami kebab/bun kabab
pulao

I shared our Tilapia grilling experience in another thread, but this is what actually happened.

We had about ten families coming to a Gorge/falls picnic, about 2.5 hours from our house. Except for us, all other were coming from another town (2.5 hours for them too). Every family was supposed to bring some food, except for two families who had to travel further so we asked them not to bring any. We were bringing paper plates and drink. **Last minute, people started dropping out. The two exempted families plus us were on the road, when we got the news that we are the only three families, and we have NO FOOD. (forget about the fact that how ticked I was with last minute dropped out families, but that is another thread).

Now ladies from all the cars were on phone trying to figure out what to do. The genius TLK took the charge. On our way, we stopped at grocery store and bought the following.

1.*******Chinese cooked noodles for the kids, from the grocery store hot food area.

2.*******Tilapia fillets

3.*******Sour Dough Bread

4.*******Onion/Tomatoe/Cilantro/Peprika/Salt

5.*******Chick peas in can.

6.*******Bag of charcoal/lighter fluid etc

7.*******Aluminum foil/Tray etc

When we reached, we looked for a grill. Cleaned it and grilled Tilapia, served oit on grilled sourdough bread.

Also Niksik prepared yummy cholay chaat from chickpeas

Also we had Chinese noodles for kids.

It was plenty good, no hassle, no pre prep effort food. Everyone enjoyed.

Pasta salad
potato salad

Jalapeno poppers, yummy!

Roasted chicken
Pasta salad with no mayo
Fried rice
Shami kebabs
Chapli kebabs
Pre-made burgers

All I can think of for now…

We also are not great on sandwiches so these r some of the things we would take on a picnic. We always put it in hotpots to keep warm.

Roast/ fried chicken
Pasta
Hot Tortilla wraps filled with chicken n veg
Shami or chicken kebabs/ aloo tikkis
Pitta bread filled with seekh kebabs or chicken tikka
Pilau
Aloo parathas
Spring rolls/ samosas/ pakorey- my favourite when out on a picnic

Roast or fried chicken
patties
shammi kebab in buns/ baps
kebabs and paratha
spanish tortilla
Any kind of stuffed paratha and achar
chicken bread
fruit chaat/salad
Chana chaat

TLK…what a great way to save the day!!! (I hate it when people drop out last minute…especially when they have taken some sort of responsibility.)

Everybody seems to like the fried or roast chicken option but me. Is it weird that I can’t handle fried stuff at room temperature? It needs to be much warmer for me to enjoy it.
I’ve done qeema and parathay and I’ve even done kabab rolls. Those definitely work well.
And I love the chaat option. Sadly the kids are not too keen on that.
Prepared burgers that you can assemble onsite are a good idea too.

What time do desi ppl go to picnic in the park and for how long?

^^ :confused:

you are asking…mmmmmmm…so you can avoid them?

lol i m not an early bird na, so i wounder kitnay bajae jana chahyeh birthday parties are exceptional .

nahi dc :frowning: aisai hee question kia hai. is it in the morning or mid aftrrnoon.

• complexion” conscious desis (specially aunties) don’t go to park at all or go after 5pm

• Meray jaisey desi, who stand no chance of improving “complexion” think that there is no “time” to go to park, you can go anytime

• For other timings, just look for 3ft wide umbrella moving erratically in the park. Inshalah uss k nechey sai chineese ya Desi aunty hi nikleen gi

i have never been to a beach for a picnic…for a stroll, i used to go in early morning.

This sounds heavenly.

I’m truly missing a tropical scenery these days.
Way to cold in USA.

Cold? where? :smiley:

Huntington beach last week…

Nahi, is ne pakoron ka thelaa lagaana hai park main. She only gets the two hour per day permit, so wants to pin down the exact time