hi … i’m having a bday party dinnner with a total of 11 people including myself … and everytime people come over for dinner at my place, they expect me to cook paki, and actually tell me to cook paki … i really liked it in the beginning … but i am so not in the mood to spend my entire party in the kitchen having my makeup run off my face alongwith sweat … considering how hot it has been since the past few days …
any idea for something easy and not consuming? or perhaps something that can be prepared a day earlier and only needs to be shoved in the oven or has minimal cooking time?
Re: easy and not time consuming ..
pizza and pies.
pizzas, quiches, chicken patties using chicken keema and sweetcorn.
Make a simple chicken karhai .. I think its the easiest desi dish ever ... no onions ginger garlic involved ! just chicken , tomatoes , green chillies and spices ... and gets ready in about half an hour ... plus you dont have to stand next to it to stir it tht much ...
Let me know if you need the recipe .
Pasta bake. Don't give them time consuming pakistani food if u don't want to, u r the host.
Oh, and might I add, CHEESE and CRACKERS!!!
Off-topic!!! Is the cheese and onion pastry by Sainsbury's fattening?
hmmmmmm
Only make things you have to re heat.
If you do want to make paki food then make some sort of pulao and keep it warm in the oven.
An easy potato salan, or vegie salan or chicken karhai ( very easy)
and make some salad/raita before hand and keep it in the fridge.
You wont be in the kitchen all day at all and you will be able to enjoy your guests :)
Off-topic!!! Is the cheese and onion pastry by Sainsbury's fattening?
YES. But it's nice though! Once in a while it won't hurt as long as the rest of your diet is healthy and balanced.
any pastry filled with cheese is fattening.
I used to eat Greggs all the time...but then i got an email saying they were haram :(
Now I want a cheese n onion pasty from Sainsbury's.
^ I would check for the suitable for veggies mark, if it has one, I would ignore the email.
Yes please!! ![]()
there is also a thread going on about yakhni wala pulao … is that also easy to make?
pasta bhi acha idea hai … any good recipes?
is it also possible to just make it in the morning … and then reheat in the evening?
khraab to nahi hogi na?
and yea cheese and crackers also sound nice for the rest of the day before dinner … lol … if i make pizza … they’ll all go home terribly disappointed … isko kehtay hein apnay peroun per khud kulhari marna … hahahaha … but paki food hai hi itna
that everybody keeps wanting more more and more! ![]()
When you make a salan.....chicken karahi.....many people also expect rice dish. And there are some that would say that one salan and one rice dish is too little. And then you'll find yourself contemplating what else you should add. (another salan? Some kababs? raita and salad? roti?)
If you want......you can make 2 salans (one meat and one veggie). For example....chicken karahi and eggplant or daal or cholay or kadhi, etc. Simple mattar chawal....raita/salad.
OR.............since it seems you're not interested in making desi food.........then pick another ethnic cuisine. How about Italian. Make a lasagna.....and order pizza. BOTH dishes are VERY filling. For sides......you can include salad or french fries, which won't take much time to make.
i dont mind making desi redvelvet, i just mind spending too much time in the kitchen ... which desi food tends to do to you ... but agar kuch BOHAT jaldi ban jata hai ... to i will definitely do it :) becuz mein khud b to lalchi houn na desi khanay k liye :D
but there have been good suggestions here ... m just going to mix and match :)
Yesterday I made white rice with corn...and grated carrot on the top....
And I made it really fast....
With Yoghurt chicken..
It's really easy!!
I also hate to be in the kitchen for a long long time!!
So I mostly cook the "fast" dishes!!
^ how did you make this iksa? just mixed canned corn in cooked rice? and added carrot on top?
Always keep frozen food around to fluff up your table: potato cutlets, shami kabobs, samosas and egg rolls.
Karhai chicken
Baked chicken
Zeera rice
Matar pulao
Chicken salad sandwiches - filling and easy.
Pasta - easy and quick.
thanks PSquared!
but baked chicken? how do you make that?