earthquake warning system

Re: earthquake warning system

I think it's hard to cope with a natural disaster no matter where it hits...i agree with ashtray, ppl need to look at wot good things Pakistan is doing for a change...it's easy to criticise the government and Pakistani ppl from far away...considering the country's situation i think they are doing everything they can...no one can compete with mother nature, no matter how well prepared they think they are...u just do wot u can and pray to God.

Ashtray, is mein koi negativity ki baath nahi hai. I have seen the press interview musharraf and the PM saying how the gov't has not done anything, and I disagree with it. The government IS doing whatever it possibly can.

However, the topic of the thread was developing a detection system to avert damage, and my point merely was that instead of investing in the research of a detection system, Pakistan's future resources in the matter would be better spent constructing sturdier buildings (which means keeping an eye on the standard of private construction) and having a more organized and stronger disaster team ready.

I didn't say that the present gov't isn't doing its max to save lives.

My point is more towards what can be done in the future to minimize damage if any massive scale national disaster occurs again.

There is always room for improvement.

First of All I think Pakistan Govt should allow and encourage Edhi foundation to acquire more Air Ambulances. They have huge infrastructure in Pakistan, they dont rely on Govt and work professionally. and they can and they will (inshallah) undertake massive relief efforts once the road links are open. But Godforbid it might be too late for the people and children who are injured and traped in rubbles.

Buying Air ambulance (Helicoptor) is not an easy task. They acquired one in early 90s, Dont know if they have more :confused: .IMO they should have atleast have a dozen, But i think there is some restriction from state or army on private choppers. not sure though.

I believe, If Mr. Edhi tells the nation that they need to buy air ambulances, I am sure that he will get the money in no time. Even the people of Karachi alone can muster up the required money. More than 60% of all charity is made by people of Karachi in Pakistan :k:

Ok so let’s pray that, Inshallah the officials do invest as much as they can in making sturdier buildings and hopefully they will withstand mother nature’s forces…i have faith that Pakistan will put forth efforts needed to improve their problems as best they can, after this tragic event :flower1: