Earthquake in Pakistan/International Relief/After Shocks (merged threads)

Re: What a Joke

Coca-cola announces $ 2 mln donation for earthquake relief efforts

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Coca-Cola Company has announced that the Company and the Coca-cola Foundation have pledged $ 2 million (Rs 12 crores) for the earthquake relief efforts underway in Pakistan. A statement of the company issued here Sunday, said that $ 1 million out of the said amount would be deposited into the “President’s Relief Fund for Earthquake Victims-2005” and $ 1 million will go to the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies which are also engaged in the relief work at the sites of devastation. In addition to this, the Coca-cola will donate clean drinking water and other beverages to the local agencies coordinating in the relief efforts. The cheque will be presented to the President’s Fund shortly.

http://www.app.com.pk/n79.htm

Re: Earthquake in pakistan

It is so heartening to see everyone donating, from ordinary people to mutli-national companies! I am watching a program on ARY where so many people from the US and Canada are contributing large sums of money and are urging others to do the same thing.

Response and Aftermath of Pakistan Earthquake...

Has been pretty slow but definitely faster than the U.S. with Katrina. As a poor country, we are doing the best we can, however its not all that great !

Still though, our govt. is pathetic. I was speaking to my parents and they said that in Islamabad a digging crane was pushed back for an hour because some big shot politician was giving his speech on his thoughts about the earthquake, and so the traffic had been pushed back to allow him to speak. They were not allowed to dig at the site of the fallen buildings for over an hour or two.

This is emergency response ??? IT MADE ME SOOOOOOO MAD !

Also - on a different note. Do we have people in pakistan who can give counselling to women, children, elderly etc. ? What about the psychological after effects of the earthquake ? Is there anyone people can talk to or share their feelings other than their own families and friends ?

All of you please pray for the effected ppl. we have relatives in Mansehra and they told us that as Mansehr is the less effected area so ppl are coming there to get food and treatment but the governement help has not reached there yet and ppl have nothing to eat.

Re: Response and Aftermath of Pakistan Earthquake…

politics and politicians…disgusting :yukh:

the response by all nations so far has been appalling…the private charties are doing better as it is…canada promising $300,000…australia about $400,000…and the US a meager $100,000…and i don’t even know what the muslim countries are doing :mad3:

diva4u: i’m sure there are organizations in pak that can provide counselling to the affected people…and again, the private charities that are helping out are the ones that will be providing this service as well mostly…

God help everyone in these testing times…

Would someone delete this hate mongers bakwas? I suggest you keep your trap shut if you dont know what the Pakistanis living in the US are doing.

Re: Response and Aftermath of Pakistan Earthquake…

^ DM bhai .. try this http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=195551

=p

spock, idiots will always be there...just ignore 'em...

Re: Response and Aftermath of Pakistan Earthquake...

that sounds more like a rumor than truth Diva, the people working there are volunteers, not the political party members, who would do anything the big shot politician wants. I got in touch wth a few friends who were out there and they told me that the rescue effort has been going on non stop.

i just saw a heart rending report of 400 school children who were trapped in school building in NWFP..i normally would not - but this one brought tears to my eyes -

He is the merciful and he is the most powerful - only he knows what he does...

Re: Response and Aftermath of Pakistan Earthquake...

Despite FOX news trying to downplay the relief efforts and trying to show the most places with the least amount of relief going on, the work by the people can still be seen going on...

I can only imagine the frantic state at which everyone must be working...Even Musharraf has said that there is absolutely no shortage of manpower...People are coming from all over Pakistan to help...

They do however need aid and materials and most important of all, heartfelt Duas...

As for your own news, no politician or any person is going to stop the relief efforts for a publicity stunt...They may be stupid but they are not idiots...

It's all hearsay what you heard and has no basis...

If we can ignore Auntyblo’s words of wisdom I think we can definitely welcome this guy…

Just his opinion…Be open minded and educated…

Re: Earthquake in Pakistan (merged threads)

I am sure you love to hear his bakwas, but I dont... I am watching Pakistani people in the US donate so generously on ARY right now, and I come across these stupid views... Have some heart...

As for the politician, I also feel its a little exaggerated, I am sure he wouldnt have done such a thing, or maybe it was Sheikh Rashid himself?

Whoever the hell he was, it should not have been done.

I am sure Auntyblo would find some way of finding out how this disaster was very good for Pakistan and how the economy will be booming for years to come with the revenue Pakistan generates from all the aid...

Maybe you should condemn his opinions too...They are very gory...

world bank donates $20 million in aid](http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=10000087&sid=a.f2YpctOsOA&refer=top_world_news)

Mr. Tauk Baaz, youre not making any sense, so I suggest keep your tauk-bazi for some other thread, do I look like auntyblo to you?

^ Is that donation 'interest free'?

Donations are donations tnw not loans, no strings attached...

One of the major challenges will be how to rebuild. This is one of the most impoverished regions in Pakistan - the valley of Kaghan. Those who are left behind have an unfathomable task of rebuilding their lives. The orphans, the severely injured, the destitutes with nothing left, and the caretakers left with responsibilities of the ones who maybe only a wee bit younger than themselves.

It's truly a heart wrenching situation. Looking at the magnitude of task and destruction, the help maybe too late for many buried deep where the equipment and resources just can't access. I just truly pray that the medical and critical assitance arrive in huge numbers and quantities in towns and villages where it's desperately needed rightnow. Negating the backwardness of the areas, and inadequate resources, what matters most is that at least folks must receive initial relief and aid to rebuild their lives.

As Muslims and Pakistanis, this will indeed test our mettle. Please, do whatever in your means to help, and pray that this calamity may indeed brings out the best in all of us, inshallah...