I have no idea, but if they do, that is brilliant. I have so many people who are putting together boxes of supplies this weekend. I even got my cousin who works with the Peel Regional Police to send out a mass e-mail to all the staff and lots of constables and staff members are making donations.
When I spoke to NAMF, they said the next shipment will go in two or three weeks. I have asked people who will be at their offices tonight sorting through and organizing the donations to confirm.
If possible, you should call PIA directly and confirm with them. This first round surely cannot be the last and only round of supplies sent to Pakistan.
They desperate need medicines and baby supplies (bottles, powdered milk, pedialyte, etc.).
NAMF is ONLY accepting Medical Supplies now (they have too much clothing). If you have non-medical stuff that needs to be delivered, re-route it to Mississauga.
Jamia Islamia and Dr. Uzma
If you wish to donate, please contact Jamia Islamia or drop off clothes, blankets, canned goods to the following address. Kindly ensure items are CLEAN and in GOOD CONDITION. If possible, please pack in boxes.
Jamia Islamia are looking for volunteers tonight to pack items also.
Jamia Islamia Canada (A Non-Profit Organization)
2380 Tedlo St.(West of Cawthra & North of Queensway)
Mississauga, ON, Canada L5A 3V3 (905) 279-3040, Fax (905) 279-8486,
Toll Free 1 (877) 279-8088 www.jamiaislamia.org
Mehnaz i have some baby food that i had purchased yesterday and i was going to drop it off at Scarborough tonight. So now i have to drop off at Mississauga? Thats someone's house isn't it?
JP, you have until Maghrib to drop it off. It is someone's house, yes. They will be going down to Scarborough tonight with all the donations. If you can't go there, then go to Jamia Islamia, they are also taking canned goods.
Guys, I want to reiterate that they desperately need medicines, bandages, alcohol wipes, pedialyte (for dehydration), tylenol/asprin ... basically everything ... on top of this, they need as many white sheets as possible so they can bury the dead.
PM should have approved UNICEF for the funds matching program. UNICEF is the largest source of food supply for the 3 million dislocated people. They already delivered 200 Metric Tons of food in Pakistan. That is just enough for a week only.
I strongly urge against the Red Cross and even World Vision cause they keep 15%+ of whatever you donate. Care Canada is a non-religious charity, unlike World Vision, which is recognized by the government. Their funds are also being matched, as is the IDRF (the ONLY Muslim charity recognized by the government).
Smooth Guy, I’m sure they are matching Unicef’s funds too. If you are unsure, just CALL them and ask. A lot of time, they just don’t have it up on their website, but the government has made it clear that they are matching any and all RECOGNIZED donations made to any Canadian charity.
Khair, I guess we shouldn’t waste too much time analysing where to donate … just donate wherever you can!
I just got back from the NAMF location at Scarborough (midland/finch). Last night i contacted the people, that mfs555 mentioned in his/her post, if they needed any help. Today i got a call in the morning and we worked out a plan for me to pick up money and stuff from various locations in mississauga and toronto.
This church in toronto on dufferin/finch somewhere had tons of medical supplies they were giving out so good thing i'd taken the seats out of my van. By the end of it all the whole van was packed. They still have a basement full of supplies that we'll go collect tomorrow morning and this time rent a truck probably.
So i showed up at the NAMF location and everyone helped unload the van. There were plenty of other people showing up with supplies. This one aunti donated about 40-50 tents/sleeping bags that she got from a sportchek location in downtown somewhere. Inside everyone was busy packing/unpacking and labelling boxes etc. They also had some people from Global TV there (Rogers channel 3) who were recording to put this on the 11 o clock news. I just watched the news there wasnt anything there but there was some other breaking news so i guess they got preference.
By the way the stuff that they collected today will be flown tuesday, not tomorrow (friday). So people who think its too late, its never too late. I was told theres flights leaving tuesday and friday every week for a few weeks atleast.
So yeah if anybodys still interested in helping out at the center give them a call at 416 299 1969 and tell them you want to volunteer.
It has been confirmed by our local masjid that PIA will be taking another round of donations for the victims of the earthquake on Tuesday, October 18, 2005. They want everything no later than Monday, late afternoon/early evening. Like Lota sir has said, they will be doing this every Tuesday/Friday for the next few weeks.
Pretty much all masjids will be accepting further donations to send out. However, not all of them will be sorting through the donations or organizing them into boxes like NAMF and Jamia Islamia did last night, and will just hand them over to PIA as they are received from you and me. That being said, they said it would be very helpful if whoever wants to donate items, please put their donations into seperate, organized boxes. Don't put them in to big garbage bags. If you must put them in bags, organize the bags and don't put food items with clothes. MAKE A LIST of whatever you are giving and staple it to the box! Again, this applies to whoever is donating to a masjid that will not spend the night organizing the donations.
Once the items are received in Pakistan, it is difficult to organize there (very time consuming) and will just be handed out as they have been received. In some cases, people are wrapping baby food and medicines in between a blanket and clothing. Aid officials in Pakistan have no idea there is baby food/medicines inside the blanket and just hand out the blanket ... as a result, in a lot of cases, the baby food/medicines is going to people who do not necessarily need it. That is why our local masjid has requested that we organize it from our end before delivering the donations to the masjid. It will make it a lot easier for the people at the masjid as well as the people in Pakistan handing out the donations.
Again:
whatever you give, please organize it into individual boxes (baby food together, medicines together, women's clothing together, etc.)
make a list of everything you are giving and staple it to the front of the box and put an additional list inside the box
they desperately need medicines. it's wonderful that people are donating clothes, but please give medicines if you can ... every box of bandages, bottles of asprins and packets of pedialyte will be used!
request has also been made for white kaffins, which they also desperately need. :(
jazakAllah for the information. I will be going today to NAMF to volunteer inshaAllah. A friend of mine was there yesterday and told me that they'll be renting a truck today.
Most places are no longer taking clothing anymore. However, there are still many places taking clean blankets. jackets, sweaters medicine (and of course money is most recommended) . Places that qualify to be matched are Canadian Relief (now), CARE Canada, Red Cross.ca and IDRF (idrf.ca)
To donate clothes: Please call the following places in advance of dropping your items off and they'll let you know exactly what they're accepting now.
is that sale at Sportmart over? my company would like to purchase and donate a couple of tents...anyone know where i could get a good deal on tents in the GTA?
Not sure if we can get it here in canada.. but if someone wants to look for these.. bbc reports that this is tent is great for long term...
'WINTERISED' TENT
Heavy duty tent designed for long-term use by a single family
PVC groundsheet sown onto the sides for wind proofing and to retain warmth
Some types are designed to accommodate cooking stoves
ICRC estimates that 30,000 such tents are required in Pakistan