Earthquake help in Toronto Area

I’m very interested in helping the victims of the earthquake. I am in the Toronto area and was wondering if any of you guppies would like to help me. The problem is I dont know what exactly to do. There is a mela going on this Friday Oct 14 at the International Centre. I was thinking of putting up a stall there to collect donations and other stuff. Also, I heard that PIA was allowing free cargo of suppliers to Pakistan. If any of you guppies in the toronto area would like to start something with me please PM me. Also, if you already started something, I would gladly love to help..and my cousins also.
If anyone could get me in touch with whoever is hosting the mela on Friday, it will be help me greatly. God Bless you and the victims.

on a side note…my inlaws live in isb, and they in a flat as well. they were telling me the building behind them (which was still in the process of being constructed) got all damaged. Very scary thought. I coudl never imagine the fear of living through that.

Re: Earthquake help in Toronto Area

great idea, please think about collecting money issue. you need a charity to sponser you. why not click on the link above and find out who is in toronto Area and ask them if you may use there name or take donation's on there behalf.

Have you contact ISNA / Eidhi and other major foundations? I am sure they will be setting up a stall. You can help them, if they haven't gotted to this, you can help create one for this. It will be easier for people to give to a known charitable foundation than to personals.

btw, I can help financially and maybe volunteer. Let me know wats required.

thanks for advice...I was PM'ed the number of the lady that organizing the mela...i am goign to contact her and first discuss with her....then get in touch with EDHI foundation....

mods...can we make this a sticky???

Yes I can but it won't do you any good. The best place to gather info on mela would be for you to make some local calls in your city. There must be some phone numbers on flyers or call a desi store and ask for info. Too many stickies can have a negative effect.

I hope you will understand. Again, the best and quickest way would be to contact the local organizers of the mela in your city.

I saw one Muslim charity say on a TV interview that it's not supplies they need, but money, because almost everything they need for the survivors can be bought in Pakistan.

I dont see how a sticky can have a negative effect…there are many other stickys that are useless…
and anyways, i’m not just talking about the mela…im talking about getting young pakistanis together and organize something…in lieu of the older people..its time pple like me (born and raised in canada, but paki by heart) do something to help our fellow brothers and sisters in our homeland…a mela is a start, since many young people attend these functions…i’m just asking the pple in the toronto area if u want to do something, if u alrealdy started something, please let me know…

again, i’m requesting this topic to be a sticky…

I see ur from North York…care to help me? PIA is willing to caryy SUPPLIES

thank you mods....

I just spoke to Anjum Qureshi..I asked her if a person (not belonging to any charitable organziation) can help or organize a booth or something...she said that I have to be part of some organization and they would have to fax her the license saying they are real..blah blah blah..... She said that the Red Cross will also have a stall there. I then asked her, that instead of people paying a $6 addmission fee for the mela, if they could donate supplies instead of paying the admission fee. She was NOT keen on this idea (in fact, she was pretty rude if u asked me)...she just kept on saying that Red Cross will be there, u can donate to them if u want...actually my urdu isnt all that great, and her english wasn't top notch either...so I guess my mela idea is out....
any other ideas?

Contact other guppies in the area and your non-GS friends and hold a garage sale in your masjid's parking lot. People can bring in stuff, all you have to do is provide them with tables and a few chairs and let all the proceeds in cash go to the earthquake victims.

Anjum Qureshi … please, don’t get me started on her. It is Ramzaan after all. :slight_smile:

I think your best bet is to collect funds and perhaps organize a fund raising dinner. I was thinking of the T.O. melas last night. They charge $10 for parking and $10 admission most of the time. That alone could raise so much money considering the amount of people who go to the melas. Believe me though, leave Anjum Qureshi out of it.

Contact your local masjids and organize a fundraising dinner. Contact the ISNA masjid in Oakville, see if they have any plans to do anything or the Islamic centre in Scarborough. If anybody could also call Cooper Masjid in Mississauga, that would be great! Also, you can try that maulana … oh I forget his name … he is very popular, Pakistani dude, always does Eid namaz at Payal Banquet Hal … doh, I forget. Ask him if he is interested in doing any fundraising for this.

seriouslyl mehnaaz..that lady is something....
well the masjid the men in our family go to is sort of their own...my cousin started one in rexdale...called iqra Spiritual Centre..i could ask him for advice....there's alwasy a peer sahib there at his functions...
ive never been to coopers or any other masjid in scar..im from woodbridge..so scar is kind of far....but if ur willing to help me, that will be great!

Talk to your cousin, see what you can come up with. PM me and we will put our heads together. :)

You will still need more heads to come up with anything useful.

j/k

I think you are both on the right track. Get people involved but you have to have some direction first.

I am not sure how successfull the mela would be. How many people will fast and goto a mela?
MFS wats ur real name? kinda strange calling you MFS.

Once you have a project and know exactly how you are going to proceed, I can provide you contact information for PSA and MSA contact for most big universities in Ontario.

Contact Edhi, or any reliable organization, or collect /accept all sorts of donations in a Mosque near to you. People gather at Iftar and Traveeh daily, I hope lots of Volunteers are up there to help our country at this time. I hope people will DONATE as much as they can specially in Ramadhan.

im afshan by the way
I talked to someone in ways to help...i got this email:

OPERATION RAHMA: URGENT APPEAL!!!

NAMF (www.namf.ca) is currently collecting supplies to send a shipment through PIA THIS Friday, Oct 14th'2005. Pakistan International Airlines has offered to take these supplies free of cost Alhumdulilah for all schedule flights to Pakistan.

Though the best form of donation is monetary, we STRONGLY urge to donate in away way that is possible. The supplies that are urgently needed are medical supplies and infant supplies inshAllah. For safety/hygiene concerns, we are only collecting NEW/UNUSED items please! Here's the list:

1. MEDICAL SUPPLIES:

- Masks

- Antibiotics – for malaria, dysentery, diarrhea, and other water diseases

- Pain relief – aspirin, syrups, tablets

- Band aids/bandages

2. INFANT SUPPLIES:

- Baby formula (powder and liquid)

- Baby food

- Milk Bottles/feeders/pacifiers

- Other baby products

3. DAILY ESSENTIALS:

- Tents

- Blankets – clean and in good condition

- Non-perishable food items (canned/dry)

- Bottled water

- Cooking Utensils

Emphasis on Medical Supplies and Money

Again, monetary donations are deemed better since the cost of these items will be much cheaper there than when it is bought here. Your monetary donations are tax deductible inshAllah and can be made via paypal or over the phone at 416.299.1969.

DEADLINE:

All supplies/items NEED to reach the NAMF centre no later than THURSDAY, OCT 13th before Maghrib.

DROP-OFF LOCATIONS:

Mississauga: For drop off locations in Mississauga, please contact myself at [email protected] or 416.722.7884 OR Sister Nadia at [email protected] or 647.893.8550 OR Brother Omair at [email protected]. Please ensure that these are dropped off well before the deadline as we will be taking the supplies to the NAMF centre in Scarborough.

Scarborough: InshAllah you can drop off the supplies to the NAMF centre itself at

D6-63 Silver Star Blvd. Scarborough, M1V 5E5
Tel: 416.299.1969
email: [email protected]

Toronto/Etobicoke/North York: If you would like to be a representative, please contact myself or sister Nadia inshAllah.

We are currently looking for volunteers who are willing to drive to the centre with the supplies. We're also need volunteers to pack boxes on Thursday night at the NAMF centre before the supplies are flown out the next day. Please contact us if you can help out inshAllah.

Lastly, please make special dua for the victims. SubhanAllah, an entire generation of people have been wiped out in certain areas of Pakistan. Make dua that Allah SWT alleviate the suffereing of these people. May Allah SWT grant them patience to endure the hardships that they are going through. May Allah SWT increase them in their faith and provide them with strength and courage in these trying times. May ALlah SWT grant the deceased His Mercy and Forgiveness and make Janatul Firdaus as their final abode. Ameen.

JazakAllah Khairn
Wasalamu ALaikum Wa Rahmatullah

about the mela..actuallly they are pretty successfull..which is why we have them every year..it just pisses me off to see anjum not doing anythign herself..but only relying on the red cross (and in my opinion...im not even sure red cross sends all the relief to pakistan...but that a whole other issue).the thing is that most of these places are either in scarborough or mississauga...i dont mind travelling to mississauga, but all these organizations are based in scarborough....if anyone is out in the area..maybe they can help collect the stuff....

I was just about to post that, you beat me to it mfs555. I think this is the best thing to do right now. Everybody donate whatever you can to NAMF and they will deliver it to Pakistan .... but please be sure to do it before Maghrib on Thursday.