EARS!!!

Hi Everyone :slight_smile:

So my shadi is right around the corner and well I had some issues with my ears. The holes in my ears are verrrrrry small so my mother basically forced cloves (shredded into thinner stalks of course) into the holes. It hurt like nobody’s business, but it’s supposed to widen the holes so that when the time comes for the shadi earings to be put in, it’s a lot easier. Does anyone have any experience with this?? Should I be worried about an infection? I’m kind of freaked out that the clove will break in half inside the hole!! Plus, my ears are pretty sore… :smack:

Re: EARS!!!

hmmmm m not a doc but ur ears being sore dusnt sound good r the ear holes too small to put any earing r they like closed??or u r just making them bigger?

y dont u consult a doc or just apply vaseline on it every day ...ive got small ear hole also but i apply some cream or vaseline n wear the earings

Nahi yaar.........why are you worried...i know they hurt cause mine are the same.....
dont worry, i have put everything from cloves to the garlic's inner stich to newspaper rolled....no infection nothing...:D...
keep cool and DONT touch your ears....:p..they hurt like..........:)

newspaper rolled :O

omg ive never heard of cloves n newspaper in ears :s anyway ive got small ears and small holes in my ear i suggest vaseline. but if ur worried bout infection i dnt think garlic will but if ur still worried just apply antiseptic with cotton wool twive a day..

Yes, or paper rolled and rolled to fit your earring hole, then when water falls on it...it expands which serves the purpose.........
Hey lady...no worry about infection...you guys are soooooo nazuuk.....:(,
it is a gharelu nuzka...garlic doesnt harm neither does clove...:)

I wud take the cloves out of u're piercing, and let them be. Wedding jewellery these days come in super-thin pins and are supported by a lock at the back to hold them up. I had a few of my Indian jhumka's pins changed cuz they had ripples and were too thick.

:hayaa:

eeeeeww

Hey Everyone,

My ears are pierced, I just need the holes to get bigger. And, what I did was massage olive oil around the hole and cloves and that brought ALOT of relief. They look weird though :o

I tried to ask my in laws to have the earings be super thin sticks but I don't know if they will do that. Plus, alot of the earings my parents are giving me have the rippled sticks and those hurt alot!

Ah wellllll beauty is pain isn't it....all goes with being a dulhan! Thank God I didn't get my nose pierced though!

OMG. do you want a serious ear infection?

the simplest thing to do is get some pure gold or pure silver studs with thicker pins and wear those 24-7.
wedding jewelry is not as bad as it was before.
and even if it is, what the heck, its only for a few hrs that u have to wear it.

if you absolutely must insert something, use NEEM only. neem is a natural antiseptic.

Wow that sounds very strange and not very clean! If you really are so determined, I would rather take out the cloves and just wear some big jhoomkas to try to stretch your hole a bit! Or at least disinfectant the cloves often, it just sounds so weird to me!!

use neem 24/7 it will make ur hole slighter bigger and u will not feel any pain.......

:(

omg i had the same problem for my wedding like 3 months ago!! What I did was, all the jewelry I got made I told the jewelers to make the stems as thin as they could. After making them as thin as they could, the earring would still not go in but they had gotten in much thinner from how they were initially. They said if they make them any thinner the earring would probably break off because they are heavier in the front.

The other problem I was having was, I was about 2 weeks away from the wedding day and I didn't want another piercing because I was afraid of any ear infections so close to the wedding.

So after getting the stems as thin as possible (I also told my husband to make sure their jewelry also has thin stems in the earrings) my mom made we wear heavy earrings for about ten days to make the pierced holed in my ear bigger and they worked like magic!!

hmm strange hmm

Hey Everyone,

So after four days of having the cloves in my ears I realized that my ears were getting very red and sore. So I took them out and well...it wasn't pretty...I'd rather not get into the gory details. I basically have an infection in my ear lobes. Not anything serious though. The doctor said regular application of polysporin will do the trick in about three days. What I learned from this whole experience: NEVER trust these gharelu nuzka's...they can land you in a great deal of trouble! Can you imagine I was going to keep them in till the SHADI!!!! (which is in like three weeks)....wow...my poor ears...they still hurt...

Well anyways, thanks for all your responses!! Hope you all have great shadi's! Please remember me in your prayers :) Thanks :)

LOL Gharelu nuska's work..it's just this one i've never heard of. =) stick to what u're doc prescribed.. hope u're ear lobes get better! Inshallah

well don't start poking things in there straight after 3 days again, wait at least a week.

lobe stretching is so common now, there is loads of info about it on the net. your basic holes are probably about 20 gauge (0.8mm), so can either do what sumo said and just wear big earrings for a while (try and find two pairs, one really big backed ones and ones a bit smaller), use the smaller ones to stretch for about a week (until they are comfortable and go in easy) and then move onto the really big ones.

but if you can't walk around with those kinda earrings on all day, just buy some 18 gauge (1mm) backed stud earrings and start wearing them, after about a week the holes should be bigger. see if your wedding earrings fit comfortably now. if not, you may need to go to further to 16 gauge (1.2mm).

don't wear anything at night!