Dupatta ..

I am wondering if I am the only one doing this ..

Desi dresses come with very stylish dupatta’s .. sometimes when the dress is ready to be discarded ,the dupatta still seems fresh and as good as new … Plus I just cant throw those colorful things away !

So I save my dupatta and stitch my next dress keeping the dupatta combination in mind :lifey:
smart eh? … or not? :hinna:

Re: Dupatta ..

well yaaaaaaaaasssss.my dupattas stay new too. i wear them like lungis.

I wanna do that everytime but then i think its wrong cuz if i am giving away my dress to someone then i might as well give the duppata along with it cuz most wear duppatas with shalwar kameez. But if i reallllly wanna keep it then i make sure i replace it with some other duppatta that can go with the outfit so that i am not ruining the outfit for someone.

well i some what do the same

i wear my dress and when its time to discard i save the duputta for other new dresses

I’m guilty ofdoing that with one of my mum’s dopata once. She still doesn’t know :blush: Now I wish i’d given it away lol

yup i save dupattas too!

dopatta tu ab khattam hee hu ghia----------------duppata bananay wali mills dewalia hu ghain
kiyoun keh dupatta fresh hee rahta hai kha suit leeraan leeran hee hu jaiy

ya..outfits are being sold without dupattas now... i found it really odd when mom came back from pakistan recently with no dupattas to my ready made clothing! we had to go and buy some seperately.

kher

cb.. . i do the same... if its an expensive dupatta ... or even if its still new cuz dupattas dont get the same wear as clothing gets, i save... but i dont wear it again as a dupatta... aisay tho khatum hi nahi hoga kabhi! what i do is make a kameez out of it... in one way or another.. sometimes i will make flared sleeves out of it.. or a bodice with some other material for the frock.... etc etc.

Yes it happens with me too ! BUT my mom is quite small & thin so she always get those duppattas stitched into shirts (kameezay) whose shalwar & kameez are no longer wearable & use white shalwar with them :D and she designs them pretty well !,,,,oh I am talking about the cotton/lawn dupattas not the Georgette one.

I have a beautiful dupatta from my mehendi and I am planning to get matching shalwar kameez material to make a full dress .

I always give my suits away when I no longer want to use them, I have to say most of my suits have beautiful dupattas, I love those elaborate masssive shawl type dupattas, but I always give away the whole suit. It is tempting to re-use it but i don't see the point of giving an incomplete suit away. :)
Pluse the thought of buying new suits makes it that little bit easier to depart from "dupatta dearest"...LOL

Hmmm...honestly I try to get simple duputtas. I don't like large/heavy ones at all.

But for my semi casual outfits, I do use shawls...it looks nice!

if u r not tall u can make maxi style put CHUNATS on its width (ask yr mom she can put with sue dhaga)with in 5 mnts these chunats will cover yr chest because its without shoulder so u can use any t shirt or desi shamez or very small sweaters wth full arm like net under maxi .my one dupatta is under proceding,but u have no need of any pic just go on any english shop or visit NEXT .esign will b clear in yr mind

Duppaatas always tend to accumulate while the outfits wear out, iv gotten a-line shirts made on some with lovely borders, everyone asks me where i bought em from and can usually not believe that im using a dupatta